We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great value”
Review of Nireas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nireas Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kato Daratso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Nireas Apartments are quite basic but very clean and well worth the low price charged. The gardens and pool area are beautiful and the staff and owners are very helpful and flexible. Safe deposit boxes in the room were only 1 euro per day and the owners allowed us to stay in the apartment until we were due to leave for our evening flight at no extra charge.

The complex is only a 5 minute walk away from the bus stop which takes you into central Chania for 1.50 euros and this is well worth a trip on an evening. There are also a large number of tavernas in the side streets within 5 minutes walking distance towards the beach.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: There is a restaurant 10 minutes walk away towards the beach called Xenios Dias which again is reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GusandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just returned from a week at the Nireas We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the ground floor near the bar it was very quiet . The rooms were cleaned everyday breakfast was served at the bar by the hosts who are really friendly and helpful . Couldn't fault anything would definitely stay there again . Loved the area .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The rooms were a little bit outdated but everything was OK.
The staff of the hotel was very friendly and it's a cosy place to stay. Not too big or too noisy.
Breakfast isn't a buffet but it's made on the moment in the bar by the staff (and that's nice!)
There are a lot of supermarkets nearby and when you go to the seaside it's a walk of 15min.
It's just a nice place to stay !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marijke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We are a young couple and stayed at Nireas for 1 week in August. We had a great time, the hosts are really friendly and always happy to help (for example to tell u some good taverns to eat in or to call a taxi). The room was clean and had everything we needed. We even could see the sea from our balcony. The room was cleaned once a day. We really loved the pool, really clean and deep. Good to have a swim and nice to have a sunbath! There was also a shallow pool for the kids.

The area is nice, supermarket 5-10 min walk, some restaurants and little shops down the street, beach is 10 min walk away, its a long sandy beach with shallow and really clean water!
Chania is easy to reach by bus and a really beautiful cosy city (~10 minutes, 1.10 € each way)

There were only two points that weren't perfect
- there could have been a little more equipment in the kitchen (f.e. i missed a sharp knife..)
- there were dogs that were barking sometimes at night but we got used to it after 1 night

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraJ0anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Nireas Hotel suited our needs very well. One bedroom apartment on the ground floor with space for the children to play and for having our meals outside. The apartments were clean and well kept. We managed to cook quite easily and had no problems with hot water. A shower curtain was greatly missed. A kettle would be ideal for, but the filter coffee machine was very handy! Erika and Christo were always very kind and thoughtful! Margarita and her colleague were always kind and helpful. Muffin and Hector, the only two dogs in the hotel have been a great distraction for my children. We stayed 13 nights in an apartment next to the bar and were never disturbed by noise coming from the bar or nearby roads. The hotel has a laundry room where we can wash and dry clothes for a small charge. This proved to be very good for us!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We arrived in July for a weeks stay on the basis it would be all inclusive. Unfortunately on arrival we were informed there had been a communication breakdown and the hotel only offers light inclusive, breakfast and drinks (No lunch or dinner). Although this was not suitable for us, we cannot praise the staff at Nireas enough for helping us to find alternative accommodation. So be warned if you are booking through LOWCOST HOLIDAYS this hotel is not all inclusive....despite what your paperwork might say!! We were given a very warm welcome and if you are after a self catering holiday, based on our one nights stay I think this hotel would be a very good choice.

Briefly Visited as a Couple July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Came back last week after spending 2 weeks there (June/July) and have found the hotel to be good value for money - there were some points which weren't so good, but for the price you can't complain too much.

Here's a summery of our observations.

POSITIVES
- small unit
- clean
- we had a studio on the ground floor which was in shade most of the day and was reasonably cool so we didnt need to use the air con (there is an extra acharge for this) - and not too hot to sleep at night either
- good location near bus stops, shops, restaurants, cafes, bakeries etc
- beach about 10 mins walk - sandy and very shallow water so should be safe for kids
- big supermarkets like Inka and Lidl 5/10 mins walk
- music at the bar was good
- pool was clean and water nice and warm (only used it twice)
- quiet in the evenings (while we were there - nobody sitting round the pool/bar)
- fridge had a little freezer compartment
- the owners had a cute wee cute wee dog that we liked to pet

COULD BE IMPROVED (but not a problem for us)
- had to put a switch on for hot water - needed about 30-45 mins for 2 showers
- tv didnt really work as there must have been a digital switchover or the likes - got retuned a few days before we left and then we had 6 channels (some Greek, Eurosport, BBC World, 1 Italian Channel)
- no shower screen/curtain - always flooded the bathroom floor but easy to mop up and dries quickly too
- dogs in the neighbourhood barking often - but wasn't constantly

NEGATIVE
- The cooking facilities in our studio were absolutely useless. We tried twice to boil water and it took literally half an hour to even just get it even just luke warm. So gave up and ran water through the coffee machine which at least heats it up. As we booked self-catering on purpose, we would have liked to cook occasionally, but it wasn't possible.

GENERAL TIPS
- Location: Katao Daratso is not a tourist resort as such but it is a suburb of Chania with a mix of residential properties and hotels, which we liked but might not appeal to everyone.
- There are plenty of places around where you can get cheap take-awyays. As we couldnt cook in the apartment, we got take-aways a few times and just made our own salads etc to go with it (pizza ca EUR7-11, mixed-grill EUR16, gyros pit EUR2.50 ....)
- Bring your washing up liquid and sponge as that is not provided. Also a sharp knife and a travel kettle are also good idea.
- There is a microwave in the apartment but we didn't see any microwavable ready meals in any of the larger supermarkets.
- Buy the bus tix to Chania in a shop in advance and it's EUR1.20 one way. You can also walk, about 45 mins right along the straight main road, but there's not much shade.
- Remember that the last bus back from Chania is at abut 23.30hrs!
- Free Wifi and best frappe around for only EUR1.50 in Cafe Angolo round the corner from the hotel on the main road.

Overall we gave the hotel 4/5 as it suited our needs and was clean and good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank osmachar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Daratso
0.1 mi away
Zeus Village Resort
Zeus Village Resort
#5 of 11 in Kato Daratso
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nontas Hotel - Apartments
Nontas Hotel - Apartments
#7 of 11 in Kato Daratso
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domes Noruz Chania
Domes Noruz Chania
#1 of 11 in Kato Daratso
271 reviews
1 mi away
Sea View Hotel and Apartments
Sea View Hotel and Apartments
#4 of 11 in Kato Daratso
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nireas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nireas Hotel

Address: Dromonerou Street, Kato Daratso, Crete 73100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kato Daratso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Daratso
Price Range: £21 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nireas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nireas Hotel consists of 27 fully furnished apartments. The hotel lies in the picturesque region of Kato Daratso, 4 km from Chania and 350 meters from a Blue Flag beach. Very close to restaurants, mini-markets, pharmacies and bus stops. The hotel facilities include: reception, two swimming pools, (one children’s pool), pool - bar restaurant, tennis-court, table tennis, spacious gardens, parking. All rooms have A/C, kitchenette, TV, wireless Internet, safe box, hairdryer and balcony with nice views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nireas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nireas Hotel Chania, Crete - Kato Daratso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing