We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
271
167
50
13
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
167
50
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk in shower animation team suneo club the bus the main hotel aqua fit plenty of choice olive trees restaurant staff minute walk air con each meal quieter pool relaxing holiday salad great laugh well maintained gardens
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

We are here now. Rooms are really clean (cleaning lady comes every day), they are modern. Food is good. Everybody will find something for themselves. Not so many people so this is good for me and we have here three swimming pools so there is enough room for everyone. Great choice and no regrets! :)

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Candys1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We had a fabulous relaxing time at Althea. The service was excellent. The restaurant and bar staff were extremely efficient, so too was the daily (not Sunday) maid service. The food was tasty and there is a very good variety of different foods available. Hats off to the chefs!! The room was attractive, clean and modern with efficient air conditioning. The entertainment from the Suneo team was just right for us. We took part in aqua aerobics and darts and enjoyed the evening entertainment. (We are still laughing over the sketch 'dinner for one' now we are home!) The location of the hotel is ok. There is not lots on your doorstep but it is an easy bus/taxi ride into Chania.

We went with Thomson and they are also super. Our rep Rob was so easy to talk to and he had a wealth of information. We booked two trips which were quite long days but very enjoyable. Our tour guide to Knossos Palace was a wonder, she was so very knowledgeable.

We had an extremely memorable holiday and staying at Althea as an all-inclusive guest gave us the freedom to enjoy and relax.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuzanneQJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

Was originally booked to go to Tunisia but all flights got cancelled a week before we were due to fly out which meant looking for an alternative booking or getting a refund.
Looked on the Thomson website on the Friday morning and saw that there was one room left for this hotel...called them straight up and managed to transfer it over...we had struck gold on this hotel!! We flew out on Friday 17th July for one week

HOTEL:-
Clean, modern, spacious, 3 pools with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas

ROOM:-
We was in room 143 - quite near to the pool/restaurant etc
Comfy beds, spacious, air con which was a complete god send!
Modern bathroom with a massive walk in shower

RESTAURANT:-
Food was always hot with plenty to chose from - freshly made omelettes in the morning, fruit, salads, pizza, pasta, chicken dishes, pork dishes. Can't comment on the desserts as I never tried them but they did look nice

DRINKS:-
Plenty of spirits, soft drinks and cocktails to choose from in the all inclusive. The piña coladas were my fave!
Strawberry daiquiris, ... on the beach and other cocktails were chargeable at €6.50
After 11pm all drinks were chargeable which was the only downfall as most places are after midnight. It didn't bother us too much as we didn't mind buying them if we wanted to carry on drinking after 11pm

POOLS:-
We stayed by the main pool where the entertainment was and we always got a sun bed in the same spot each day. We did walk to the other pools (one on the same complex) and the smaller one over the road at Althea Suites

ANIMATION TEAM:-
These guys were fantastic...part of the Suneo Club. The team consisted of 4 people...Leonie, Simon, Aga and Raimond.
Activities were going on throughout the day but if you didn't want to take part, a polite 'no' and they will happily leave you alone...no constant pressure from them at all.
I joined in aqua fit most mornings which was a great way to start the day and one day I even did a body program in the gym with Simon...exhausted and hot is only the way to describe it lol!
In the evenings, the guys put on a kids disco/kids time and then did family entertainment...music quiz, guests vs hosts, pool party. A couple of nights a week the guys put on their own shows. While we were there we saw 'dinner for one' and 'at work', these were absolutely hilarious! The choreography and dancing was awesome. Definitely some 'laugh out loud' moments

THOMSON/FIRST CHOICE REP:-
The rep for our hotel was a guy called Rob. We met him on the Saturday morning and he had all knowledge of the local area, beaches, bars etc.
he showed us pictures of when he has visited the beaches and they looked out of this world!
He was such a down to earth guy and I was totally surprised when he said that he had only been doing the job for 11 weeks...a complete natural at it. Keep at it rob and you deserve all the positive comments you receive :))

All in all I will definitely be looking to return in the near future.
Until next time Althea Village....

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
5  Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Our room was renovated to a very high standard, personally I think we had the best room. We were very close to the lobby but also the main pool and the restaurant. We had a good size balcony over looking the main pool. However, we found the room very warm as the A/C took a while to work and it only worked if the card was in the reciever and if all the doors shut (including the balcony door). All of the facilities (Pools/restaurant/bar/tennis court) were very clean and of a very high standard. The hotel was much better than we expected for the money we paid.
The food in the restaurant was of good quality (However, it was quite repetitive for two weeks). The restaurant staff were very pleasant and attentive. The bar staff also much the same. Very kind and try to get to know you. By the end of the first week both knew our drinks orders. I would definitely recommend them.
The activities set out by the Suneo Club Staff were of a good standard (if you had young children) however the entertainment for adults in the evening could be better. Over all, the traditional Cretan night was the best. The activities staff were very welcoming and always on hand to help. We got lucky and got to listen to the international singers; they were incredible.
The majority of the hotel staff were lovely, especially the younger male receptionist (Russian i think) He was very helpful when needed. However, the older male receptionist was the opposite, both my partner and myself found him to be quite rude and didn't pay much attention.
There was also a problem with stray animals (both dogs and cats) which broke our hearts as we wanted to look after them but couldn't bring them home. The hotel seems to allow them to roam around and they are quiet and pleasant animals.
Our hotel rep, Rob was very very good, nothing was too much for him. He also had a lot of knowledge about the area and was always on hand if we needed him. The Thomson trips that we booked (Gorge walk/Elafonisi Island/Pirate boat cruise/water park) were of a really high standard! I would recommend them all if you are an active couple.
Chania Harbour is beautiful and we ate there on our last night. Definitely worth a trip. The bus to the harbour was only 1.10 Euro and the taxi that we took back was 8 Euro. Be careful, the safe in the room cost us 37 Euro for two weeks. The use of the tennis court was also quite expensive 10 Euro for an hour (including use of the rackets) but they do charge if you lose the ball.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and area (Chania) to anybody. Everything well maintained and if you're looking for an adventure do the excursions!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bethan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

This is a well maintained and pretty hotel with gorgeous blossoms and gardens.No loud music blaring and no hyper entertainment team trying to coax you off your sun longer.Friendly staff and enough variety of food...some tasty Greek dishes too.Apartment was large and tastefully decorated with huge balcony on top floor .Since we were there, apparently there have been even more improvements with food and more accommodation so may return to have a look. Clientele mainly Northern European who rise early and enjoy a few quiet drinks after dinner. ..ideal for us. We did a day trip to Knossus through the hotel which was great and ventured into Chania several times which is so pretty with winding streets and an impressive sea wall.Local beach is beautiful too.Would definitely recommend this hotel for families looking for a quiet,relaxing holiday with interesting daytrips.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jaczq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews