We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet location near chania”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea View Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kato Daratso
Certificate of Excellence
warsaw
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“quiet location near chania”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

It is very hard to rate this establishment as it has some major pluses but also some major minuses. Its a nice and clean building which would look much nicer if it wasn't for a huge metal garbage container right at the front entrance (see picture). Also the area just outside of the freezing swimming pool looks like deserted ruins hit by a bomb. Our room was nicely prepared for our arrival with a customary bottle of wine in the fridge. The hotel is located west of Chania within a walking distance to the city center. Furher west along the coast there are some nice beaches with umbrellas and beach chairs. But the area before that looks like it was hit by an earthquake as there are some ugly ruins along the coast with broken remains of some structures there. To the east you have to walk to town through a dirt road and bushes. A bit scary. to walk back at night.. The hotel is run by a nice receptionist- Zambia. However beware of the house cleaning . The banging starts at 7AM. The DO NOT DISTURB sign written in four languages means nothing. They knock on your door, enter without permission regardless if you are in or out.
To stay there for more than few days without a car would be a challenge. The shower was hardly delivering any water. To add misery to our stay the taxi back to the airport requested by Zambia did not arrive. Lucky there was sufficient time to call another taxi as otherwise we would have to stay in Sea View Hotel for another week ( sleapy hotel owner did not even wanted to hear about possibly driving us to the airport)

Room Tip: Ocean rooms have nice view but are dark all day as they are facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richardg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
74
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We arrived by Taxi from the airport , 25 euros, as we arrived late evening. Also there is a bus every hour from the airoport to Chania, and i think the ticket was about 2 euros, give or take.

The lady running the apartments (Zambia) was waiting for us, she kindly offer if we would like some food. This was lovely attetion to detail and very nicely cooked and priced.

The see views from the rooms are really nice! Also, there are rooms without a sea view.
The Hotel is in a very nice quiet area to sleep and relax, is clean and general basic requirements are well met. The beach is only 3 minutes walk. The swimming pool is good for a swim after a busy day out and about. Very good value.

There is bus ride into Chania 8 minutes approx). The bus stop is very close by , note that the bus ticket is slightly more expensive on the bus than bought at the kiosk (Chania). There are always taxis, or it is possible a 20-25 minutes walk.

Tip: Samaria Gorge was a great thing to do, Zambia organised this for us, we were picked up from the main road. It is an early start and make sure you like walking and to have a good pair of walking shoes!

Room Tip: There is not a lift so if you have problems with stairs, make sure you ask for a room in the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaoMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Really worthy of recommendation, a small building with friendly service, close to the center of Chania, near the big stores - recommended for people who are looking for relaxation.
Zambia please remember to visit me in Lodz in Poland! best regards for you! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed in Sea View Aparthotel (by the way, my real name is Jan Snauwaert) and was completely satisfied. The location is near to the beach and is quiet at the same time. Yet, it is also close to the center of Chania and its magnificent center. The room service is impeccable. The managing lady, Zambia, is very kind an full of good advice. There is really nothing one would demand more from a holiday hotel. I will "be back".

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We booked day before we got there. Nothing too much trouble for the lovely Zambia who looked after us very well. We arrived before room was ready, we were early. She arranged for us to have iced coffees and snacks. We also got bottle of wine, bottle of water and some fresh roses in a vase. Lovely large room, very clean, comfy bed, amazing location. Walk into Chania was an easy 30 minutes in the early evening. Pool very quiet so we had it nearly always to ourselves. Didn't visit beach but it looked sandy with sunbeds and a small taverna. We will very definitely revisit this gem of an apartotel.

Room Tip: End room sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaVSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We arrived in Crete on the shoulder of the high season. We decided to spend our 7 days in the more quiet village of Chania. We were looking for beach time and relaxation. When we arrived we got a bit lost but after a quick phone call to our hotel we got on the right bus and we were picked up at the bus stop. My wife had requested a balcony room and that is exactly what we got complete with a complimentary bottle of wine and a few snacks. I can't stress enough that you should ask and book early enough to ensure you get one of the 4 balcony rooms facing the sea.
The Sea View Apartments are about a 5 mins walk to the beach and about a 10 mins walk to not one but two grocery stores. If you follow the dirt road next to the sea you'll be in the picturesque town in about 30 mins. So for us the location was incredible.
The pool area was nice but because it was still the off season so it hadn't been cleaned but they had all the equipment there so after a quick skim of the water we spent quite a few hours lounging around it.
Our room was very open with tons of natural light. It had a fully stocked kitchenette for cooking your own sunset dinners. We had some small issues with the wifi and hot water but they were quickly fixed as soon as we let them know. All in all I would highly recommend the Sea View Apartments for either a intermediate or long stay on Crete....I promise you'll not get tired of the view.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing the sea.....you can have a nightly sunset dinners....just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Daratso
1.8 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forum Suites
Forum Suites
#1 of 4 in Chrissi Akti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elma's Dream Apartments & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Domes Noruz Chania
Domes Noruz Chania
#3 of 11 in Kato Daratso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel and Apartments

Property: Sea View Hotel and Apartments
Address: Germaniko Pouli Apteron Street | Germaniko Pouli, Kato Daratso, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kato Daratso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Daratso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea View Hotel and Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Sea View Apartment Hotel" has the best location in Chania, Crete. 150 M from the beautiful Aptera beach and nearly all the rooms have a panoramic view of the Cretan sea. 26 Large comfortable studios for 2 or 4 persons. Every room has a big balcony, private bathroom, kitchener, refrigerator and a ceiling fun. Also a large swimming pool and a children space around for sunbathing, large sitting room, TV room, beautiful flower garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea View Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel And Apartments Chania, Crete - Kato Daratso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing