We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to spend the day - or longer...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Kydonia Suites & Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Kolymbari, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to spend the day - or longer...”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I live about a 15 minute drive from this super-friendly hotel run by a charming family and, come summer, I love to escape to spend a day by the "pool with a view" up on the hill. The pool itself is large with an enclosed area for small children, and surrounded by comfortable loungers, and is generally an oasis of peace away from the more crowded beaches and resorts. A comfortable shaded cafe provides drinks and a varied menu of tasty lunchtime snacks and more substantial dishes. And what better way to top off a lovely relaxing day than with a "Happy Hour" cocktail!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nea Kydonia is perched on a small hill near Chania: our room had 2 balconies, one looking towards the sea and the other the spectacular White Mountains. A bit early in the year for the pool, but it looked enticing!
Lisa and her family made us very welcome. We were on one of Lisa's 'Theme Weeks', so had a wide experience of archaeological sites, churches, olive manufacturing, wineries, trekking down a gorge, wildflowers ... with Dimitri, our very knowledgeable guide. And, of course, some wonderful meals, both at Nea Kydonia and elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterJH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Back to New Kydonia after a while away, and still enjoying the wonderful atmosphere. We have been looked after so well every time (including when I got a broken ankle through my own carelessness!). We are not as mobile as we used to be, so are dependant on the on-site tavern, which never disappoints! Particularly recommended is the New Kydonia Salad! Do try it.
Accommodation is always spotless and comfortable, even when it's very hot, and Lisa and family are always on hand to help.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We landed in Chania at midnight with two tired little girls. After a short taxi ride arranged by Lisa, we arrived safely at New Kydonia where Lisa had left us sandwiches and juice - a welcome gesture. In the morning we woke to the glorious Cretan sunshine, a delicious breakfast at the Shack and the glittering pool! Paradise! Our little girls adored the pool and barely left the water the whole time! All the staff were so friendly and welcoming, the apartment was large, clean and comfortable. We frequently ate at The Shack where the food was delicious and great size portions.
We hired a car and zipped around the island - don't miss Elafonsi beach - it is fabulous! A long drive but totally worth it. Leave early and spend the whole day basking in the warm lagoon and admiring the pink sand. Chania harbour beautiful too - at night it is vibrantly alive, but safe and welcoming.

We felt totally relaxed at NK. It is a perfect place to relax with children - they are safe and happy in that wonderful pool! And Lisa and family did all they could to make it a happy family holiday for us. Lisa kindly bought us a birthday cake for one of our daughters who was 7 on our second day there - she was thrilled. Thank you to all at NK - we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosyPosy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our first visit to Crete - what a wonderful place to stay. Our studio accommodation was clean and very comfortable. The family owners are so welcoming and helpful in advising on day trips out and places to see. The on-site pool is fantastic and we had excellent meals in the restaurant. I think it would be restrictive without a hire car as it is situated approximately 20 mins drive from Chania and a car is really needed to see the many other lovely locations and places of interest in this part of Crete. The local village has a shop and taverna but nothing more. We certainly hope to return one day to see more of this beautiful island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1953DaveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We spent two weeks at the start of summer hols here following an amazing family holiday the year before. We had another glorious time, extremely welcoming and all the staff are lovely and can't do enough for you. We have a young family and so this year we hired a car to do a few of the sights and for generally getting around. Whilst the car was handy, we really hardly left the pool as it was so relaxing, quiet yet child friendly. The food at New Kydonia is lovely, would certainly recommend Cretan breakfast and the weekly BBQ night, fab food and great way to meet people. We were relieved to know the taverna in the village (10min walk) is still there and even more popular, the food there is amazing. We had several lovely evenings in Chania itself, working our way through top trip advisor restaurants which were all great, and it's the most beautiful town to spend an afternoon at the harbour and shopping. In short, we came back thoroughly happy and relaxed and planning to go again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

From the moment we arrived in New Kydonia, we were made to feel welcome. Lisa, Dimitri, Terry, Mo, Vanessa, Leo (and Claudio in the Kitchen) have created a gem of a holiday destination in North Western Crete, surrounded by lots of places to visit if you want to venture out. We soon discovered we were one of the few families who had not visited NK before which says it all. The pool and grounds are beautifully maintained, with plenty of places for catching the sun including a few hammocks tucked away in the shady areas - perfect for those afternoon siestas! The onsite bar and restaurant are fab with fantastic home cooked food and BBQ's at very reasonable prices. All the staff are very friendly and enjoy passing the time with the guests over a beer. Any questions - just ask Lisa - who can recommend the best places to go, how to get there and organise any sightseeing trips, including to the famous Samaria Gorge. For those without a car, there is a local supermarket in the nearby village of Daratsos, only 5 minutes walk away. The guy who runs it is very friendly and welcomes the opportunity to teach Greek to the tourists. Daratsos is also where there are regular buses into the centre of Chania from where you can find transport to many places on the Island. Our two teeenage boys also had a great time and felt very welcome on site. There were quite a few kids of all ages and all seemed to be enjoying themselves. All in all, two weeks was just not enough so we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highpeak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Daratso
0.9 mi away
Domes Noruz Chania
Domes Noruz Chania
#3 of 11 in Kato Daratso
126 reviews
2.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zeus Village
Zeus Village
#5 of 11 in Kato Daratso
71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Panorama Hotel - Chania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Kydonia Suites & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Kydonia Suites & Studios

Property: New Kydonia Suites & Studios
Address: Daratsos, Kato Daratso, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kato Daratso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Kato Daratso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Kydonia Suites & Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Kydonia Suites & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Kydonia Suites & Studios Chania, Crete - Kato Daratso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing