We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is as excellent as everyne says it is!”
Review of Ammos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ammos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This hotel is as excellent as everyne says it is!”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I had read a load of reviews before arriving and felt confident that I had made a great choice. Nasia, Elena, Nikos, Dimitra, Penelope and the wonderful others who make this stylish hotel a special place - Thank You! Even serving us coffee and our favourite 'orange' cake at 2am when we left to catch a very early flight back to Oslo. A very professionaly and efficiently run hotel with an informal, friendly atmosphere ensued that we returned home perfectly relaxed!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OlsenOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    64
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
260
273
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Our family found the Ammos Hotel on TripAdvisor and were very fortunate. Nikos and his staff communicated with us before our arrival to ensure an easy transfer, helped us arrange an excursion to the Samaria Gorge, and organized transportation to our next destination eliminating all of the taxi strike inconvenience. The food was great, the room accommodated our family (2 adults and son age 10) very well, and the decor was upbeat and fun. Wish we didn't have to travel so far to return, or we'd be back very soon.

Room Tip: Advise the staff of your needs when reserving and you will be accommodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5329970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I did choose this hotel because our first choice was not available for the first three days of our stay in Crete, and after those three wonderful and peacful days at Ammos we didn't want to move! Everything was just perfect, the room (even though it had no see view you could hear the waves from the balcony), the hotel premises, the restaurant, the beach and, over all, the lovely people who work there and make every effort to make your holiday the best possible. Thank you all for a wonderful stay, you'll see us again!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay and see views, ask for the rooms that are not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmalitaLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We returned from 10 days at Ammos yesterday. Without doubt one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. ItNicos and his team get all the little things right without being formal or starchy. The beach is lovely, the pool is too, always plenty of sunbeds, excellent pool and beach side service, everything is clean and well kept. The staff are without exception professional and go out of their way to help you, the food is lovely- traditional and fresh and prices are reasonable. The rooms are simply furnished, but very comfortable with good quiet easy to use air con, a large fridge to keep your own wine and food in, and smart effective shower rooms. We really needed a relaxing break and couldn't have picked a better place. Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjmarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed at Ammos hotel for 1 week after "island hopping" and staying at posh hotels for the previous 2 weeks. What makes Ammos so good is the atmosphere. It's indeed a home away from home. The staff is very, very friendly and warm. They are always smiling. Helpful and take care of your needs. This is a small hotel (next to Grecotel Kalliston) right on the beach. The location is perfect. Close to Chania (by taxi/ public bus).
The breakfast buffet offers all you can dream/ think of. Good quality and choice. If you want something extra, just ask.
The food served in the restaurant is "basic" but of good taste and quality. The price is very good indeed. Here you can enjoy a good meal for a very good price.
The owner (Nikos) can provide you with all the information you need on local shops, bars, restaurants... places to go in town and on the island. He knows the region (island) well and share this info with his guests.
If you are looking for a good place to stay, without all the fancy stuff of a 5star hotel, this IS your place. We really enjoyed Ammos. It was - for us - indeed back to "simplicity" but in fact back to the essence of a holiday seaside hotel. Don't think about it, book it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goalgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My partner and I arrived at the Ammos Hotel in July. We were personally met out front the hotel by the Manager who welcomed us with a smile, guided us smoothly through the checkin in process and personally walked us to our room.

The room was on the second level with a balcony that faced the ocean. We were not near or facing the pool. Unless you have children we would not recommend a pool room. The pool area was used, during our visit, almost exclusively by children and their parents.

Speaking of children, July is a school holiday time for most of Northern Europe. We counted 35 children in the hotel on one day. To put this in perspective, the hotel has 33 rooms in total. Although this is a child friendly hotel we were told that this was a highly unusual if not record breaking number. The children however, were well behaved, and never left unattended. We did experience 3 nights where a screaming child kept us from sleeping, however the family soon moved to the other side of the hotel with the other children. If you are looking for a more adult oriented hotel experience avoid the peak summer monthes and you should be fine.

The food in the restaurant was terrific and we found ourselves eating there often. If you are looking to experience authentic Cretan cuisine speak to Nikos or his staff at Ammos. They will steer you well away from the touristy hangouts. We were directed to a lovely little family run fish restaurants on a secluded beach(where we ate till we were bursting), a traditional Greek restaurant populated by the local and visiting Greek population, and a gourmet restaurant showcasing new Cretan culinary cuisine...to name a few!

The staff were also very knowledgeable and helpful with organizing day trips and giving advice what sights to see.

The Hotel had its own beach area with umbrellas and loungers. There was restaurant service at the beach as well. There were enough umbrellas and loungers for all the guests. We were thankful that that horrible practice of people racing to the beach early in the morning to "reserve" a place did not occur. We did witness some early birds saving seats around the pool.

The beach itself was lovely. Smooth sand, clear blue water, and the perfect temperature.

Our room had clean lines, was a comfortable size for 2 people and had a kitchenette and AC. The bathroom had a rainshower head and hand held spray unit. The hotel also had free wifi.

When it was time to go Nikos offered to pack up some kallitsounia(little fried pastries filled with cheeze) for us to take with us on our flight.

Thank you Nikos, Nasia, Nektaria and all the Ammos staff for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Unless you have children we would recommend asking for a room away from the pool but facing the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miknett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The Ammos hotel is truly one of a kind and definitely worth a stay while in Chania. The hotel itself is very modern in it's design and interiors. We stayed both in a sea view suite as well as a garden suite. Both rooms were excellent and very elegantly done up. The sea view room was overlooking the beach and had a nice spacious balcony, the complimentary bottle of wine was also a nice touch. The rooms as well as the bathrooms were spacious and very clean. The breakfast buffet was good and varied. In terms of what really stood out for us at this hotel - It would have to be Nikos and Dimitra. They're both very friendly and helpful people who go out of their way to meet your requirements. I also have to point out that the response to emails for reservations, car bookings, sight seeing etc were always prompt and very detailed...best way to make a good first impression. Nikos being the owner of the property is omnipresent and always available to have a chat and provide his inputs. Dimitra is the perfect picture of efficiency with her useful inputs on sights to see, restaurants, driving routes etc. A big Thanks to both of them for ensuring we had a great time in Crete! And Nikos - we didn't get a chance to say thanks for the complimentary drinks at dinner - so thanks! Would highly recommend you rent a car as there's lots to see and Crete is a big island. Don't miss Elafonisi beach or the Balos lagoon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RovingWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
316 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 109 in Chania Town
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
541 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 109 in Chania Town
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domes Noruz Chania
Domes Noruz Chania
#1 of 11 in Kato Daratso
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Property: Ammos Hotel
Address: Glaros Beach, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is a small stylish hotel located on the best spot of the city of Chania, right on the water front at the bay of Agii Apostoli, 4km away from the Venetian Harbor and the picturesque old city. In an idyllic setting by the water, wake up listening to the sound of the waves and indulge into our vast palette of vivid colors, from light green to the turquoise of the sea water and from beige to the bright fuchsia of bougainvillea. This is your private escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Chania
Ammos Hotel Crete/Chania - Agii Apostoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing