We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service, value, food and atmosphere....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ammos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ammos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing service, value, food and atmosphere....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This gem of a hotel was a total surprise - exceeding our every expectation and we can't recommend it highly enough..
The owner, Nikos, and his similarly proficiet team, are exceedingly well organized and attentive. The taxis were on strike in Crete for our entire stay - you would never know - a private airport transfer was organized too and from the airport (not so easy drawing upon contacts for a 4o room hotel!).
Our room faced the ocean and overlooked the pool - although not large in size, was very stylish and well equipped: top class toiletries, twice-daily towel change, fresh fruit every day ...and a fully equipped kitchenette including coffee-press.
The restaurant food was the best we experienced in our 2 week trip to Greece and easily the best value.
Ammos organized a private island tour for us one day - highlights included the superb guide (Rea), a trip to a well-know Crete ceramic artist, driving through the gorges to the south coast (standing-sands bay with beautiful sea etc) and a tour of Reythmeon - great day.
Even though we were without kids and there were many, many families - we have to say that it never felt unpleasantly out of control in terms of kid-noise!
The beach was very nice (although quite a few locals at the weekends), the water clear and the loungers comfortable (and religiously retained for guest use only).
We were able to use the gym in the Grecotel next door for 10 euros each - it was quite well equipped and generally not very busy.
Above all, it is the resort staff that make this place special - they are knowledgeable, efficient, authentic and genuinely pleased to have you as a guest. Go there!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VIANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    64
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
254
273
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Ammos is a great hotel on the beach on the outskits of Chania. The owner Nikos was very helpful in planning our time in Crete before our trip. The hotel is modern, clean, affordable and right on the beach. I highly recommend Ammos Hotel and the staff is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorgef98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I had read a load of reviews before arriving and felt confident that I had made a great choice. Nasia, Elena, Nikos, Dimitra, Penelope and the wonderful others who make this stylish hotel a special place - Thank You! Even serving us coffee and our favourite 'orange' cake at 2am when we left to catch a very early flight back to Oslo. A very professionaly and efficiently run hotel with an informal, friendly atmosphere ensued that we returned home perfectly relaxed!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OlsenOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Our family found the Ammos Hotel on TripAdvisor and were very fortunate. Nikos and his staff communicated with us before our arrival to ensure an easy transfer, helped us arrange an excursion to the Samaria Gorge, and organized transportation to our next destination eliminating all of the taxi strike inconvenience. The food was great, the room accommodated our family (2 adults and son age 10) very well, and the decor was upbeat and fun. Wish we didn't have to travel so far to return, or we'd be back very soon.

Room Tip: Advise the staff of your needs when reserving and you will be accommodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5329970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I did choose this hotel because our first choice was not available for the first three days of our stay in Crete, and after those three wonderful and peacful days at Ammos we didn't want to move! Everything was just perfect, the room (even though it had no see view you could hear the waves from the balcony), the hotel premises, the restaurant, the beach and, over all, the lovely people who work there and make every effort to make your holiday the best possible. Thank you all for a wonderful stay, you'll see us again!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay and see views, ask for the rooms that are not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmalitaLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We returned from 10 days at Ammos yesterday. Without doubt one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. ItNicos and his team get all the little things right without being formal or starchy. The beach is lovely, the pool is too, always plenty of sunbeds, excellent pool and beach side service, everything is clean and well kept. The staff are without exception professional and go out of their way to help you, the food is lovely- traditional and fresh and prices are reasonable. The rooms are simply furnished, but very comfortable with good quiet easy to use air con, a large fridge to keep your own wine and food in, and smart effective shower rooms. We really needed a relaxing break and couldn't have picked a better place. Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjmarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed at Ammos hotel for 1 week after "island hopping" and staying at posh hotels for the previous 2 weeks. What makes Ammos so good is the atmosphere. It's indeed a home away from home. The staff is very, very friendly and warm. They are always smiling. Helpful and take care of your needs. This is a small hotel (next to Grecotel Kalliston) right on the beach. The location is perfect. Close to Chania (by taxi/ public bus).
The breakfast buffet offers all you can dream/ think of. Good quality and choice. If you want something extra, just ask.
The food served in the restaurant is "basic" but of good taste and quality. The price is very good indeed. Here you can enjoy a good meal for a very good price.
The owner (Nikos) can provide you with all the information you need on local shops, bars, restaurants... places to go in town and on the island. He knows the region (island) well and share this info with his guests.
If you are looking for a good place to stay, without all the fancy stuff of a 5star hotel, this IS your place. We really enjoyed Ammos. It was - for us - indeed back to "simplicity" but in fact back to the essence of a holiday seaside hotel. Don't think about it, book it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goalgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
2.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
33.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Property: Ammos Hotel
Address: Glaros Beach, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is a small stylish hotel located on the best spot of the city of Chania, right on the water front at the bay of Agii Apostoli, 4km away from the Venetian Harbor and the picturesque old city. In an idyllic setting by the water, wake up listening to the sound of the waves and indulge into our vast palette of vivid colors, from light green to the turquoise of the sea water and from beige to the bright fuchsia of bougainvillea. This is your private escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Chania
Ammos Hotel Crete/Chania - Agii Apostoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing