We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we wanted”
Review of Ammos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ammos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Second stay at Ammos and had a great time again. It is simple, but it gives you exactly what you need for a great relaxing stay with your young family. Our last visit was before we had a family and we had a great stay then too.

Rooms are smallish but clean and comfortable. Service is great. Menu is simple and fairly short, but the food is really good. Pool is perfect for little ones - if you don't have little ones you'd be better off on the beach just 5m away. There is a great playroom which is perfect for escaping the heat in the middle of the day and free childcare from 5-7 there, although we didn't take advantage of this.

Our 16 mont old was super happy while we we're there and it is the most relaxed we have both been in, well, 16 months.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    64
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
258
273
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I have been traveling to lovely Chania for ten years, visiting friends and staying at their house, experiencing the world-famous Cretan hospitality. Therefore I could say that I am well familiar with what the region has to offer: amazing beaches (even hidden jewels apart from the well known ones), delicious local cuisine, warm, open-hearted (bit of eccentric) people, wild natural beauty when it comes to the mountains, the valleys, the gorges (hiking is a life-changing experience over there) and the lively Chania old town, a monument of mixing past with present. But would you think that one could find there a boutique resort with emphasis on design? I wouldn’t…
So it was a surprise for me the first time I stayed at Ammos Hotel last spring (my friends’ house was full at the moment). I have read some of other travelers’ comments in Trip Advisor and I couldn’t agree more with them on the extremely friendly stuff (including the always helpful owner, Nikos, usually found at the reception, who shares with clients the most well-kept insider’s tips about where to eat, swim and go to), the nice beach just in front of the hotel where you can relax when you are not in the mood to travel far, the spacious rooms, the beautifully designed bathrooms together with smart amenities by Korres Natural Products, or the simple but immaculate cuisine of the restaurant, offering a variety of well cooked Greek dishes (including the smart breakfast that is way more interesting than the usual “continental” or “American” I am bored to death with).
But there is a surprising added value in Ammos –at least for me who I always care about aesthetics, architecture and design when I book a hotel, whether in Milan, NY, Copenhagen, Berlin or in Mykonos, Bali, the Maldives. In a hotel where one would expect to meet at the best with the usual “Greek islands” interior design and objects, I was thrilled to sit on chairs by Cassina (the whole restaurant is designed with a rather sophisticated selection of iconic chairs by various prestigious design companies), to read by the light of a Snoopy lamp (FLOS) by Achille & Pier Giagomo Castiglioni, or to find a Blow Up mirror (Alessi) by the beloved Campana brothers on my way to the toilet, where by the way a nice piece of art is hung on the minimalistic yellow-tile wall.
And all this without being pretentious or snob as it usually happens in hotels who bear this kind of design, but all wrapped up in a friendly, unpretentious, welcoming package as described above. It was more like “we like to live a carefree life and spend our time among beautiful things” than “we worship design –please don’t touch” kind of thing. I also loved the small “par terre” little gardens, the mosaics and a touch of eccentricity: a cabinet of curiosities, something that says a lot about the personality of the person in charge of this little treasure hotel on the busy north coast of Chania. And boutique hotels are all about the personality!
Since my first stay there, I have returned for 2 long weekends, as well as on various other occasions to eat at the restaurant which I find serving comfy food with the best ingredients available on a fair price.
I have read many comments about how children-friendly the hotel is, but I have nothing to say on that (since myself I don’t have kids), except that I was not bothered at all by them. Cute little guys and girls playing quietly at the swimming pool or at the beach was more refreshing than annoying –for a change…

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dtsakoumis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ammos Hotel. We agree with all the praises from other guests and want to note the particular passion of Nikos and the staff in making all guests make the most of their stay at this hotel and the area of Chania. Each day Nikos provided us with touring ideas: Manousis Chaldiadakis' home and ceramic studio, Dounias slow food taverna whilst driving in the mountains, a small Byzantine chapel with famous frescos and a great lunch next door at Kostis' kafenion and touring a local winery, Manousakis, a short drive away. Nikos took the time from his busy day to make sure that the people at the studio, reataurant, kafenion and winery were expecting us and greeted us warmly. this made our stay much more than a wonderful relaxing seaside holiday.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank prlwhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just spent a more or less perfect week at Ammos with our 2 kids (3 and 6). It's one of those rare places that manages to perfectly balance both adults' and childrens' sensibilities and needs. The rooms are clean, bright and spacious (we had a family suite), the restaurant (mostly outdoors) is small and chic, the food is good (although service is a bit slow in the evenings when they are busy), the pool is lovely and overlooks the good-sized, clean beach. The hotel is very well run by an amazingly friendly team. Chania old town was also surprisingly lovely - lots of cool cafes and restaurants in old buildings. A great place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Ammos hotel definitely stands out among the other hotels in the area and although it is a small hotel it can fulfill all your needs. The area where it is situated is very touristic and not very attractive, but the hotel has a special character and provides a relaxing environment. Both common areas and rooms have a modern design and are full of artistic elements (maybe too artistic for people with classic taste). Attention is given to details and ultimately makes the difference. Chocolate treats on the pillows and fruits in the room upon arrival, new branded toiletries every day, detailed maps of the area are only some extra little things that you will enjoy in this hotel. Rooms are spacious but balconies are small. However, if you get a sea front room you will literally sleep with the sound of the sea since the distance from the beach is around ten meters. The pool is quite small and it easily gets full of sand and toys as a result of many families with young children staying in this hotel.
One of the hotel’s stronger points is the definitely the food. Breakfast includes only fresh and mostly homemade products. However, it may get a bit repetitive if you stay long. The food offered in the hotel’s restaurant is beyond any expectation. Very well cooked traditional recipes as well as typical choices (e.g. club sandwiches and burgers) are offered for lunch or dinner at very reasonable prices. Based on our experience, people that were not staying in the hotel also visited the restaurant. Special events such as wine tasting nights are also organized in the hotel and some spa services can be provided upon arrangement. The staff is very polite and Nikos (the owner) has plenty of suggestions to make for your staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thada18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful 10 days with Nikos and his team at the Ammos. The room was tastefully simple with a lovely bathroom and air conditionning great to come back to! The food in the hotel was fresh and interesting and changed regularly. Breakfast was a particular pleasure after we had been for a run along the beach, with the fruit and orange cake really hitting the spot. Signs of thoughtful design were everywhere and Nikos was always looking for ways to improve what the Ammos had to offer. The staff were wonderful...all of them...exceptionally (genuinely) friendly and always helpful. Thank you for a wonderfull time Nikos and like it or not....we will be back!!

Room Tip: All rooms were great as far as we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel is a little wonder in Creta. With direct access to the beach in a bay separate from Chania the place is perfect for enjoying the city and the beach/swimming pool.
We came there with 4 kids and it was really excellent:
- food is great (from late excellent breakfast to quiick lunch and nice dinner)
- rooms are large and 'design'
- swimming pool and beach access great
- but the best of this hidden gem is the service Nikos and his team are amazing for whatever you would like to do : visit, eat, solve a problem they are really there to make your stay fabulous
Well done

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico20001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
2.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
33.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Property: Ammos Hotel
Address: Glaros Beach, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is a small stylish hotel located on the best spot of the city of Chania, right on the water front at the bay of Agii Apostoli, 4km away from the Venetian Harbor and the picturesque old city. In an idyllic setting by the water, wake up listening to the sound of the waves and indulge into our vast palette of vivid colors, from light green to the turquoise of the sea water and from beige to the bright fuchsia of bougainvillea. This is your private escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Chania
Ammos Hotel Crete/Chania - Agii Apostoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing