We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place .... For families”
Review of Ammos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ammos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place .... For families”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Have to agree somewhat with the last review about the little ones - lovely as they are its not so great if you are a couple or single without kids. Can't fault the hotel otherwise in that it is spotless, has great decor, incredibly relaxing, fab staff and lovely food. We didnt have much of a problem with the surrounding area as some people seem to have and quite enjoyed getting the local bus to Chania which we loved. The hotel seems to have created a niche for itself in being a boutique hotel for families and can see that this works well for them in that they have more of a "captive" audience as those with little ones are more likely to eat in hotel etc. We had 10 days in early October and the weather was superb - we thoroughly enjoyed the beach in front of the hotel (just as well as the pool was otherwise engaged with little ones!). Did the Samarian Gorge which although beautiful was hard work and we consider ourselves reasonably fit - if you want time to enjoy it, stop now again for photos/food allow around 6 hours for the walk itself. All in all a lovely holiday but because of the emphasis on kids we probsbly won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAF63Guildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    64
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
258
273
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

We booked the Ammos for three nights at the end if our 3 week Cretan adventure. We wanted luxury and a little pampering by then and knew that the Ammos has a fantastic reputation for both! As requested, our room was sea view w/balconey. Gorgeous! BUT.. the hotel was filled with toddlers. We are in our 50's, so we're not really into the baby thing, unless it is a grandchild! Both rooms next to ours were filled with screaming babies who were up,in the pool as soon as it opened. One child screamed "Daddy, Daddy" so much, we wanted to ask that he please answer her!! Parents were placing their babies in the pool with diapers on (a big pet peave of mine). The Ammos beach is so fantastic, but again, filled with toddlers. It was so filled with babies, that I actually asked if there was a baby convention going on! They chuckled and said that there were more than usual that week. I have a feeling that it really does cater to young families, which is awesome, BUT that was a huge waste of money for us because we got no rest (naps on the beach or at the pool are out of the question!) and will not be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greek1970, Owner at Ammos Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your positive comments and the high rating.


Ammos welcomes children of all ages. The shallow, sandy bay right in front of the hotel is especially suitable for babies and toddlers (we also have a dedicated children's area in the swimming pool). Ammos is also popular with solo couples for its relaxed ambience, expert concierge service and peaceful seaside restaurant.


Best regards,

Nikos Tsepetis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We had a lovely time here. The staff were great, it was so family friendly (not that we had ours with us!) and the food was very good. A brilliant huge brunch and amazing chocolate milkshakes! The beach is only small so after a few days you might want to go on a day trip but all in all a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoRayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I would really like to keep this hotel a secret, so there will always be a room waiting for my family and I when we go back! However, the team at Ammos Hotel deserve an enormous amount of praise for their excellence. Ammos Hotel is a hotel where there are no compromises; it is a hotel for adults and for toddlers too, but it is not a family hotel in the horrible "charter" kind of way. The food is fantastic, the service is attentive and nothing is too much trouble, the atmosphere is warm, friendly, relaxed, welcoming with a slight air of sophistication, the beach is perfect and then there are all the little details and positive surprises that you keep discovering all the time. I do not have enough words in my vocabulary to praise this hotel and all who work there - we had the best holiday ever, and we will be returning!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDaniel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed in September had a wonderful time! Beautiful arty hotel, colourful breakfast and warm friendly staff. Beach views lovely. Hotel owner Nikos recommended a delightful trip into the mountains to visit a ceramist whose 300yr old home we were shown round and we purchased some divine sea blue ceramics which are now in the bathroom looking amazing! On the same trip visited a traditional Cretan village and were shown around a 500yr old tiny church with frescos as old! Truly special find. Shared bread with the locals who were so very hospitable and friendly! Lovely hotel would recommend for a visit to Chania with its lovely Venetian harbour. Lots of young toddlers and babies, which was delightful (but might not be if you're after a peaceful, romantic break). Would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJC258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Firstly, I must say the service at this modern and well appointed hotel was superb. A very, very helpful and knowledgable team gave us excellent local excursion and restaurant advice.
The breakfast offering was excellent, fresh and certainly not the standard dreadful hotel breakfast we have often experienced throughout Greece. My fussy Greek mother loved it (especially the orange cake), as did Sean and I. Breakfast included many local Cretan delights and fresh OJ every day. The lunch and dinner menu was also excellent. Very good quality food and such an pleasant outdoor terrace and balcony in which to enjoy it.
The beach was also very nice. It is worth getting a sea view room if you can, because it is lovely to sit on the balcony and sip a glass of wine. And the pool and seaside sunbeds were very comfortable.
The rooms were very nice, with a pleasing modern design. A small kitchenette provided hotplates and a kitchen sink.
And even the visiting masseuse was excellent.
However, be warned (or encouraged if, like my mum, you can't get enough babies), this is a child friendly resort, so if very young children are not your thing, this may be the one drawback. We are already thinking of coming back for diving and hiking (sans Greek mother) and, despite the many children, would not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Try a room on the top floor facing the sea to watch the beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We returned yesterday from a week at The Ammos Hotel. Although we arrived late at night there was a very good welcome from the staff and bags were cheerily taken to our upstairs sea view room. All the rooms I subsequently looked in were of the same very high standard of cleanliness, bright and pretty. Even though this was the end of September our room looked new; the whole hotel is repainted during the closed Winter months, but still managed to look immaculate. The staff here work very hard, the hospitality award is well deserved. Nothing seems too much trouble. For example, we prefer fresh semi skimmed milk and lower fat yoghurt, just a mention of this meant it was happily provided every day from then on, though we hadn't meant them to get it for us! Food is very local where possible and made on the premises, healthy and fresh with good regional recipes. It is easy to eat very well here. Wine and food is fairly priced and we felt no need to eat suppers elsewhere. The refreshing attitude of Nikos and his staff is that YOU come first; an excellent breakfast buffet is served till 11:00 and both a beach and main meal menu, with daily specials, is served when you want it. As a result the restaurant was never crowded since we weren't all coming down during a small time slot. All staff we met were lovely, cheerful and very hard working. Nikos rents the stretch of beach in front of the hotel from the government, and every day a staff member kept it immaculate. Using natural timbers and palms for the beach umbrellas gave a pretty, natural look to the Ammos part of the beach. All areas of the hotel and grounds were immaculately clean, and there were thoughtful, stylish plantings around the grounds as well as a charming goldfish pool. Penelope and Eleni were delightful waitresses, skillfully advising and chatting with guests in several languages. When we found ourselves with some store bought Vermouth to use up towards the end of our week, Penelope ensured it was served in martini glasses with a flourish, despite the hotel making no profit from the gesture. The front desk staff gave us super recommendations for memorable beach and mountain lunches; we ate our first ever spear killed fish at a pebble beach restaurant where you chose the fish from the catch in the fridge, not by a menu. Their advice on routes and sight seeing were very helpful. Having checked out of our room midday Saturday, we took an afternoon boat trip in Hania then returned to the hotel for an early supper and relax on the beach. The hotel stored our luggage safely for the day, which is usual, but also provided a spacious spa room, towels and toiletries so we could be showered and refreshed before our late flight back to England. This was a free service to guests and very appreciated by us. In late September the hotel attracts quite a few families with babies, but it was still easy for us to have a lovely couple's break. There was one night when a restless baby ( hello, Ben!) disturbed us a bit in the night so we closed the windows and ran the very modern air conditioning quietly for the rest of the night, so see the babies as a pleasure since they can still be tuned out if necessary! We look forward to returning to The Ammos next Autumn for another lovely time. Thank you to Nikos and all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
2.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
33.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Property: Ammos Hotel
Address: Glaros Beach, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is a small stylish hotel located on the best spot of the city of Chania, right on the water front at the bay of Agii Apostoli, 4km away from the Venetian Harbor and the picturesque old city. In an idyllic setting by the water, wake up listening to the sound of the waves and indulge into our vast palette of vivid colors, from light green to the turquoise of the sea water and from beige to the bright fuchsia of bougainvillea. This is your private escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Chania
Ammos Hotel Crete/Chania - Agii Apostoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing