We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday with your toddler! Some useful facts...”
Review of Ammos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ammos Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Right, let me get the obvious stuff out of the way. This hotel is outstandingly good and the perfect place to go on holiday with your toddler. The design is lovely, it's impeccably neat and clean, the staff are really, really lovely to a person and go the extra mile and the food is great. Believe what other reviewers say and read their reviews for more detailed info. Rather than repeat the glowing expansions on these things that others have written, I'm going to just go through a few bits of info that I'd have found useful to know before we went.

1) KIDS
It is completely and unashamedly targeted towards couples with one or more child between the age of 0 and 5. Of the 33 rooms, I reckon 30 were thus occupied when we were there. They provide loads of stuff for the kids that you therefore don't need to bring including: cot, bedding inc baby pillow, blanket, towels, potty, monitor, kids cutlery & plastic cups, toys for the pool, toys for the beach (bucket & spades etc.). There is a fish pond, well trench, that has goldfish and a terrapin. You can feed the fish in the evening. There's a tortoise that lives in the rock by reception. Our nipper loved all the animals! And there's a playroom open all day with childminder supervision 5pm - 7pm weekdays to give you a break!

2) BEACH
We had a couple of windier days when the waves were up just about enough to catch the odd bodysurf ride. Most days were very calm though and I snorkelled several times. The water is very clean and clear and whilst not exactly warm in Mid-May I was out for up to 45 mins at a time no bother. Swim out to the headland or the patches of rocks you can see underwater. You'll struggle to find more than 20ft in depth. There is little to no coral. There is some but limited fish life but some highlights if you persevere. I saw a turtle, 2 small stingrays and an octopus.

The neighbouring beach to the right as you look out to sea, just beyond the headland is called Iguananas beach and is great. More sheltered and lovely sea for the kids. €7 gets you 2 sunloungers and an umbrella for the day + facilities: kids toys inc inflatables, changing huts, toilets, showers, bar.

3) LOCAL AREA
The brief bit of research I did before our trip lead me to think that Ammos was kind of on its own in a more residential area. This is not exactly the case. The area does feel quiet, chilled and not busy but there are a couple of other hotels along the beach. Set back from the beach are other small hotels and apartments with a communal pool. With the exception of the Thompson spa hotel next door, these mainly seem to target Danish people. Most have a taverna on site and there are other independent tavernas nearby. I'll stress that none have food to match the quality of what Ammos serves but worthy of consideration for a change of scene/menu for lunch for example.

Ammos are happy to recommend restaurants nearby and in Chania town. The bus to Chania town is a doddle. For the stop go left when you hit the main road and it's opposite the Penny Market minimart the other side of the road (5 minute walk). It's a circular route so coming back we got on at the same stop in Chania town that we got off at.

The Penny market minimart has all you need for groceries if you want to prepare anything in your kitchenette.

The headland at the end of the beach to the right, and the one beyond it at the end of Iguanas beach to the right are really lovely for a walk with nice views.

4) DRINKING
I struggled to find out in advance what the crack was re having a drink at the hotel in the evening as there didn't appear to be a bar as such. The restaurant seating is on 2 levels. The downstairs bit is the same level as the pool and mainly covered. This seems more popular at lunchtime. The upstairs bit is half inside, half outside and on the same level as reception. There is a bar / service area with 4 barstools but it's not an obvious place to sit and drink as it's quite small. Next to the inside bit of the dining area is a lounge area with nice seating and books to borrow. If you want a drink after dinner this is the obvious place to sit and they'll bring drinks to you there. Most evening we sat there with the monitor on either talking to each other or other guests we befriended. There's only seating for 8 or 10 people but a lot of folks seemed to head back to their room, or maybe stayed at their table after eating. By virtue of everyone having kids evenings were a chilled affair but just a nice little set up for a nightcap without, as it were, plonking yourself at a bar.

I hope that helps! If you're considering this place then I really wouldn't hesitate. A massive thumbs up from us!

Room Tip: Might be a bit noisy around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank fll7jkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Overall a fantastic stay. Clean rooms, friendly and ever helpful staff and really rather good food (breakfast, lunch and dinner). You will see a lot of reviews raving about the family and child-friendliness of this hotel and although all true they may mask some of the genius of this hotel.This is a small genuinely great hotel for people who enjoy great design, service and food in a casual setting. The fact that it is very child friendly is merely one facet of this little Cretan diamond. We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiingSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Right on the beach, can hear the waves from your room which is spacious, extremely clean and air-conditioned. Breakfast is amazing, although not included in the price of the room, but we though it worth the €9.50 extra. Food is very good and reasonably priced. You can easily get buses into chania which are very cheap and the staff are extremely helpful. It's a very child friendly hotel, and most of the guests are young families, but we were there as a couple and there were other couples too (although it was sometimes hard to find a table that didn't have a high chair at it!). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we felt very welcomed and relaxed, and in the end were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Ammos has been both me and my husbands choice for the last 4 years.
Travelling solo, this is the best place to be. The staff makes you feel at home, it seems like Nikos the host, hand-picked them all , they all have this special attentiveness you only find at very special places, and with a very few and special persons.
Travelling as a couple the place is romantic, beautiful, chic - Nikos has en eye and a taste for design-treasures, every year he finds cool design furniture, that makes this hotel a special little spot, still low-key and personal, but chic at the same time.
A lot of children - yes.
But still a place for grown-ups needing a quiet spot, time to relax, time to do nothing- or time for the famous Cretan walks, in the nature not far from the hotel.
I always come back, my husband too.
Thanks for being exactly what you are Ammos: a hip-hideaway, a personal, charming, welcoming spot, where it is impossible not to feel at home.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea -view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

First of all, I am sorry for my terrible title. How ever - I feel it is only fair to give you romantic couples out there a warning.

This hotel has one of the best ratings I have ever seen in my search of travel destinations. I have traveled a lot, and stayed at many very good hotels. Ammos has an extremely good rating, but compared to what? I am sorry to say, that I do not feel this hotel should have such a high rating. Yes it is good, yes the food is excellent, yes the staff is very kind and helpful, but really; this hotel is not THAT good.

Actually Ammos hotel is perhaps the most luxurious kindergarden you will ever find. If you have kids and would like to stay at a beautiful hotel with a very good beach, a nice pool area, high quality food and a very attentive staff, this is it. If not; stay away! I felt sorry for the few guests without children. Either they did not mind the craziness and sounds from two months old babies and kids in all ages running around, throwing things at each others, screaming, crying, laughing, shouting and so on - not to mention all the parents jumping around as they do their best to calm the storm - or they had made a terrible mistake planning their trip to Chania.

This was our first vacation as parents, and we loved the hotel. How ever; during the years of traveling without a child, we have always done our very best to avoid this kind of hotels because it would definitely have made us really unhappy.

That being said, this is a very nice hotel for the right customer. The staff is kind and helpful and the premises are nice but small. The rooms were a bit disappointing and actually smelt a little bit of moist, and the cleaning was not perfect either, but no major faults. Never the less we had a great week at Ammos, and we do not regret our choice in any way. But in fairness for those who search for a hotel that really deserves a top rating, I end up giving Ammos hotel an average rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Imedvindfranord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

All the reviews we read prior to visiting the Ammos Hotel said it was a great place to go, but that didn't do it enough justice...it was much much better! The warmth of the greeting was exceptional, not over the top, just friendly and welcoming, we relaxed and felt at home immediately.

The hotel is immaculate, beautifully designed with simple style and quirky features. The location is about as good as you can get as it sits on the side of a small beach meaning that you go to sleep at night to the sound of the waves lapping onto the shore.

As for the service, well what can we say...WOW! Nothing was a problem and the team have found the right mix of friendliness, fun with absolute professionalism - they had a lot of patience and a sense of humour as we tried to learn one or two words of Greek...Efharisto (thank you) Poppy & Stavrola.

We stayed in room 19 which was perfect for the week, sitting on the balcony watching the sun set, drinking Gin & Tonic overlooking the sea was special. The food was excellent and we can recommend the Mezze for lunch.

Overall, thank you to Nikos and the amazing team for making our stay so enjoyable, we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view to add that little bit extra to your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

From the minute we arrived until the minute we left, we had the most fantastic service from everyone who works here.
The hotel itself is impeccably decorated with the most tasteful and quirky furnishings and is immaculately clean. The bedroom was gorgeous, comfortable and spacious with beautiful views of the sea. A lovely little balcony with table and chairs to enable us to enjoy the gorgeous views, with fresh fruit and flowers on arrival. Toiletries are lovely, organic and smelling fresh.
The hotel is situated right on the beach with safe bathing which is ideal for children. The pool area is just as the rest of the hotel, safely built with none slip surface of a mosaic made of pebbles.
However all of those positives fade into insignificance in regards to the standard of hospitality shown to us by each and everyone of the staff. The owner Nikos is always available and takes time to get know the guests and helped us celebrate our anniversary by giving us a bottle of wine as a gift. Poppy provides the most amazing presence, she is always bubbly, sociable and friendly but very professional. She really goes the extra mile to make sure we are catered for with our food and drinks (even provided cream to ease mosquito bites). Demetrio who works on reception gave us fantastic advice on where to eat locally, the other reception staff (sorry don't know all their names) gave us advice on where to visit, how to get there etc. etc.
I could not recommend this hotel enough it was the most wonderful experience and we will definitely be back. Thanks to you all. xx

Room Tip: Definitely sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcglashams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
0.1 mi away
Domes Noruz Chania
Domes Noruz Chania
#1 of 11 in Kato Daratso
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
355 reviews
2.3 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
879 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Address: Glaros Beach, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range: £104 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is a small stylish hotel located on the best spot of the city of Chania, right on the water front at the bay of Agii Apostoli, 4km away from the Venetian Harbor and the picturesque old city. In an idyllic setting by the water, wake up listening to the sound of the waves and indulge into our vast palette of vivid colors, from light green to the turquoise of the sea water and from beige to the bright fuchsia of bougainvillea. This is your private escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ammos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Chania
Ammos Hotel Crete/Chania - Agii Apostoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing