We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and kindly staff”
Review of Yakinthos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yakinthos Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Ferrara, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place and kindly staff”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

A drink welcomes you at the check in done late in the evening, that’s a good start. The clean and in good condition room was wide enough for 2 adult and a boy, a bit smaller the bathroom but well maintained, courtesy kit include body cream and shave cream. Excellent breakfast and for lazy people, the swimming pool is available but Greek sea is really 30 seconds walk. Good rates and good position, just few kilometers east Chania and if you don’t have a car, is well connected by public transport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1960Stefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    109
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
72
194
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuopio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed there for a week with our little child and really liked the place. Staff was very friendly and service was excellent all the time. The hotel is in good condition and cleanliness is on high level. Place is very peaceful with beautiful sandy beach just about 50 meters from the hotel. Breakfast was varied and tasty, fresh orange juice was delicious. Great location, especially if you have a car in use and like to visit Chania, Samaria and Elafonissi for example. Excellent value for money.

- Family from Finland

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyFromFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Very good family hotel. Excellent value for money, great service, polite and hospitable. Good location.
I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nikolaos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have just returned from 6 days in the Yakinthos, and had a fantastic time.

It took quite a bit of research to find a hotel for our trip, because Crete is primarily a “summer season” island, and most hotels and restaurants catering to tourists do not open until May, but after finding Yakinthos on Trip Advisor I emailed to check availability.

My emails were answered quickly and professionally by Antonia, and she was happy to reserve 2 rooms for me. I asked for the rooms to be located near to each other, to allow us to keep track of our kids, and she assured me that this would be no problem.

Although we arrived very early in the morning into Chania on the F/B Lato ferry from Piraeus in Athens (a deeply unpleasant cabin – as soon as there is a site called Ferry Advisor, I will post a review !), Antonia said that we could come straight to the hotel and our rooms would be ready to check-in at no additional charge. So we duly disembarked the Lato, and climbed into a taxi, and arrived at the Yakinthos at 0800hrs.

We were greeted at reception by Nicci, who offered us a glass of juice while we completed the formalities. She then explained that if we wanted to take breakfast, we were welcome to do so --- there was a nominal charge of EURO 5 per person for this, but since most hotels would not accommodate us checking-in 6 or 7 hours before the “normal” check-in time this was an absolute bargain !

Nicci showed us to our rooms, which were side-by-side at the end of the building, and also gave us a key that allowed these 2 rooms be locked behind a separate door in the corridor, which effectively gave us our own little apartment !

The rooms were made up every day, and there were always plenty of towels available if my son decided he would go to the pool – he was one of the braver residents, because the pool was certainly not at the sort of temperature that would encourage me to jump in !

Pool temperature notwithstanding, the weather for our week was very good indeed, and was between 21 – 27 degrees every day (this while our family and friends in Scotland were suffering snow and storms  ).

The breakfast was a buffet, served from 0730 – 1030hrs every day --- there was fresh-squeezed orange juice, along with cooked bacon, sausage, eggs, and the more regular continental selection of croissants, cereal, several cheese and cold meats, muffins, different breads, tea, coffee, local Cretan produce; honestly, more than you could ever need.

We were looked after by everybody so well, particularly Antonia, Nicci and Maria – these ladies were absolute stars, and would do anything at all to make our stay more comfortable (and good luck in August with baby, Maria !!).

I asked about keeping the rooms later, because our return ferry crossing left at 2100hrs (on the F/B Elyros, a much nicer ferry than the Lato !), and was told that this was no problem – for an additional charge of just EURO 15 per room, we were able to keep both rooms until as late as we required, which for us was 1830hrs. This was a fantastic price, and just another example of the service and kindness offered throughout our stay.

There is a free computer in the large lounge, which allowed me to check-in for our return flights from Athens with no difficulty, and although there is free wi-fi available, the signal did not reach as far as our apartments, but it was available in the lounge and all around the pool.

We would very much like to return to Crete, and when we do I have no doubt that we will choose to stay at the Yakinthos !

Room Tip: Email the hotel directly if you have any questions or requests -- they really are willing to go the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RickersScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We booked YAKINTHOS hotel on October 2011 and stayed for 7 days.
Arriving at the hotel about mid night, Antonia was waiting for us with a
welcome drink, that was very nice.
Room was modern style, nice decorated and very clean.
The breakfast buffet was generous, including some genuine Cretan products
and health food.
Every day we start our breakfast with a glass of proper orange juice, that was
very nice.
Location is good and quite, near city 15 minutes by bus.
We do not know the rates for the other months but on October was very cheap.
Many thanks to Antonia and Olga, they help us to find whatever we want and promiss to come back this year also.
Pall & Anna

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhxanologos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We have now stayed at the Yakinthos Hotel three times and been extremely pleased each time. We have stayed as a family with grown up children in July 2010. As a couple in August 2011 and with my daughter (24) and father (85) in October 2011. Each time they have catered to the specific needs of our group. In particular finding a room near the lift for my elderly father. We have stayed in a variety of rooms and would suggest requesting a room with a sea or pool view as the main road can be noisy.

The hotel is attrcative, comfortable and very clean, bedding and towels are changed every two days. Rooms are a good size with plenty of storage, very clean. Comfortable beds, balcony for each room and a small fridge. The only thing that could improve this, for us, would be a kettle in each room. There is a very pleasant pool and pool area and you are only a 2 minute walk from a delightful sandy beach, suitable for all ages. The staff are welcoming and extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Maria has taken excellent care of us on each of our stays and speaks very good English.

The buffet breakfast is delicious and served in an attractive dining room. There is a wide choice of foods suitable for all ages, tastes and vegetarians.

The hotel is situated about 10 minutes drive from the beautiful town of Chania, with it's old Venetian buildings and harbour. It has a fantastic selection of excellent tavernas. Our favourite is Portes. If you are not driving, the bus to Chania stops near the hotel and is very frequent.

The Yakinthos is superbly situated for visiting Western Crete, the Samaria Gorge and day trips out. If you want to eat near to the hotel there is a brilliant selection of tavernas. At the Sirocco you can eat on the sea front...their pizzas are delicious!!

We strongly recommend this hotel and hope you have as pleasant a stay as we always have.

Room Tip: book rooms with sea or pool views for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Yakinthos is one of those hotels where you would return with pleasure to. The special thanks go to Antonia who was very caring throughout our two-week stay. As a most important arrangement, she showed a safe storage location in a dead-end corridor for our bicycles. The hotel is well kept and their breakfast gives you a good kick off for your day programmes. Freshly squeezed juice was served every morning to some tenants. The free wireless Internet connection is a bonus, although in rainy days it stumbles pretty much under the heavy load.

Room Tip: If street noise disturbs you easily, you will prefer a seaside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikk0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
0.6 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 108 in Chania Town
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
547 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 108 in Chania Town
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 108 in Chania Town
522 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 108 in Chania Town
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#29 of 108 in Chania Town
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yakinthos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yakinthos Hotel

Property: Yakinthos Hotel
Address: 1 Irakli Avgoula, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#4 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yakinthos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHANIA HOTEL YAKINTHOS Near city and only 50 m. from the clearest sandy beach of Agii Apostoli. Yakinthos is very good solution for those people who want to enjoy their stay away from the crowds but still very close to all sights of interest and the resort hot spots of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yakinthos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yakinthos Hotel Chania
Yakinthos Hotel Crete/Chania - Agii Apostoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing