We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a visit to Chania”
Review of Yakinthos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yakinthos Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The rooms were always clean. Every morning I had a nice breakfast, with good-quality food and variety to choose from. It is easily accessible, but not expensive. The keynote was the very helpfull personel. Overall, I was very happy with this hotel. Surely the place to go next time I visit Chania.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spend there 4 nights. The owners and the staff were all very polite and helpful. The rooms were very clean; I was delighted to find shower gel and body lotion. We only ate breakfast there and it was excellent. There was a large variety of food and fresh orange juice when you sat on your table. Everything was great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nefeli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Spent a week at this hotel (the staff were very polite & very helpful, hotel was spotlessly clean, breakfast was excellent with a large choice of food.
The pool was brilliant with enough sun loungers to go around & a 2 minute walk to the lovely sandy beach.
Having read other reviews, they all state that a room with a view of the pool is better, due to noise from the very busy road, well I was fortunate enough to have a room with a balcony overlooking the pool, however, I could still hear noise from the road with just the shutter pulled across the French windows, however, if you shut the shutter & glass door, you will not hear any noise, but you will have to use the air con or melt.
The only improvements that I would recommend is softer beds & better shower heads & some arrangement to have the use of sun beds on the beach.
Hotel was in a good location for lovely beaches & Chania town, tickets on sale from reception.
Tried Piato which is a stones throw from the hotel, reasonable food, also tried Bamboo (turn right as you come out of the hotel) lovely location overlooking the beach, but very disappointed with the food, would not recommend.
I found the tavernas situated along the cobbled streets of the Old Town much better than those situated along the harbour, this includes the food & service, of note was one taverna near the old harbour I cannot recall the name, but the sign stated they were ranked 5th by Trip Advisor, well maybe they meant 55th, as the food was really disappointing along with the service.
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel & liked Chania, would recommend this hotel to couples & families with older children.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool have the nicer view, but you do need to keep the shutter & glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 861Sonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We just arrived back from a 7 night stay at Hotal Yakinthos. Our thanks to the Owner Mrs Olga, Manager Mrs Antonia, Maria, Nikki, Nina, Kita and Nadia for all their hard work and making our holiday so enjoyable.

Very nice Hotel, spotlessly clean everywhere. The reception area has a lounge with large screen TV and bar. Breakfast is served buffet style downstairs looking outwards to the fountain and pool area. Pretty much anything you could want to eat and drink, hot or cold.
Everything in the hotel is spread over 2 floors, but there is a lift if you require it.

Or room (132) overlooked the pool and had a balcony, with a table and 2 chairs. It was quite spacious with more than enough cupboard space, with fridge (very handy) and hair dryer. The beds and pillows on the firm side it has to be said, but we slept very well. We paid the extra €5/night for Air con and €2/night for the safe. Bathroom was 'wet room' in style with a shower.
One thing to mention, the cold tap water is of drinking quality, so no need to keep on buying bottled water, once you have an empty bottle or two, just fill them up from the bathroom tap and put in the fridge for later.

The pool is absolutely lovely, and very picturesque with the Bourganvilia overhanging one side. Again spotlessly clean every day, with a shallow end, deep end, along with a smaller pool area for the children. Free use of several lilo's etc. A row of comfy sun beds along one side, with a bar on the other side, although not manned all of the time, you only have to pop into reception to see Maria or Nikki and they will get you anything you want.

The long, sandy beach is excellent, very safe with lifeguards, just a short walk down the side of the hotel, 2 mins.

Being located on a very busy main road, you have to carefully cross it and go about 100m to the right for the bus stop, opposite Hotel Kalliston. We caught the 21 bus to Chania which takes around 20 mins, €1.50 each way if you buy tickets from reception before you go out, otherwise €2 on the bus. Chania Old town is lovely, so many little narrow cobbled alleyways and streets full of little shops, bars, Tavernas and Restaurants.

We ate out locally at Piato's (just left out of Hotel about 100m), and Scirroccos, the first left turning after Piato's and a short walk down on the left. In Chania we ate at Portes and Ela Taverna.

We travelled with Thomson, very pleased with the service, the hotel rep Sue is absolutely charming. So enthusiastic, attentive and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, thanks Sue!

We did the Imbros Gorge walk with afternoon beach and swim...it's less walking than the more popular Samaria Gorge, and if you only have trainers like us, it's the better option. Walk took us around 2hrs 15 mins.

All in all a great holiday, met some really nice people while we were there, and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms at the front suffer from road noise, suggest pool are garden view room if possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil10127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in August. Friendly staff who couldn't be more helpful. Very clean and pleasant ideally placed for everything. Very close to good sandy beaches and numerous tavernas/restaurants. A short bus trip, tickets available at reception, takes you to Chania where even more Tavernas/restaurants await as well as the shopping areas. Tried numerous eateries (different one each night) and never had a bad meal once, some excellent ones in back lanes of Chania. Breakfast at hotel was excellent and plentiful. Did not use pool, which looked very inviting and not overly busy as more inclined towards beach, but concur with others who have commented on manning of pool bar and reception bar. Seemed a missed opportunity. The latter comment is an observation having stayed in small and friendly hotels on smaller Greek islands with similar numbers of rooms where the bar was a good social area in the evenings.

This hotel is worth a look if you want a relaxing break within easy reach of all amenities and some stunning scenery in the mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fraser087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

First of all, very good value for money. We stayed one week in the hotel. Air condition, safe, TV, swimming pool - everything in perfect order. Breakfast with a variety of Greek and continental food- try Greek yogurt with honey. Beach just one minute away. It is worth to take some trips - Samaria Gorge (for good walkers with proper shoes only), Elafonesi (relaxing). Gramvousa only for tourist crowds (for example 1250 tourists on the ship). Book the tours at the local tour operaters - it is considerably cheaper. Eating during the day - try Stou Pissa at the Municipal Market in Chaina. Avoid the restaraunts with the menues full of pictures - always ask the waiter what he recommends.
The hotel can arrange early morning breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IVAN l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Me, my wife and 11 year old son stayed here in August 2012. Unless things have changed beyond recognition I can only second everything Gary Y has said in his review. It was always a struggle to get a drink at the pool bar, at any time of day. My wife normally resorted to going hunting for a member of staff. On waking around 7am on our first morning and being as there are no kettles in the rooms, we ventured around the hotel to find some tea. We eventually came across the owner and believe it or not we couldn't make her understand that we would like a cup of tea. This was very strange as upon leaving she asked in perfect English if we would post a nice review on trip advisor. It's true the rooms were ok and the beach really is as close as they say which was the only plus for me. I found sunbeds to be of a premium, they need more to go with the amount of rooms. We stayed at another place this year about 1/2 mile nearer the old town on the right hand side, and the difference was incredible. I wouldn't normally bother writing a bad review, but thought it only fair to give another, what I feel, more accurate opinion of the service levels at this hotel.
John Mary & Billy Buckinghamshire

Room Tip: I only saw our room which overlooked the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
0.6 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athina Beach Hotel
Athina Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
565 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
423 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#14 of 111 in Chania Town
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yakinthos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yakinthos Hotel

Address: 1 Irakli Avgoula, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#4 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range: £35 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yakinthos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHANIA HOTEL YAKINTHOS Near city and only 50 m. from the clearest sandy beach of Agii Apostoli. Yakinthos is very good solution for those people who want to enjoy their stay away from the crowds but still very close to all sights of interest and the resort hot spots of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yakinthos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yakinthos Hotel Chania
Yakinthos Hotel Crete/Chania - Agii Apostoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing