We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Having read all the reviews of this hotel before booking, we were not disappointed with our choice. We booked a swim up room and it was amazing. The room was lovely, biggest bed I've ever slept in and the bathroom with whirlpool bath and separate shower room was just superb. The swim up room came with personal sunbeds opposite the room so there was always a guaranteed bed but having said that, there were always beds free around all the pools and on the beach(and that was peak August holiday time.) All the pools were lovely and there were never many people in them. The beach was just a few steps away and the sea was warm.
We were on half board basis and the food in the main restaurant was always varied, well cooked and presented with a huge amount of choice. I particularly liked the show cooking, always delicious. We ate well at breakfast and didn't eat again until the evening. We did buy the 'all inclusive' drinks upgrade package and this was well worth it and I would recommend doing that as it was cost effective.
The only thing that we could criticise was the evening entertainment. It is very low key which isn't a problem but there were limited places to relax and drink of an evening if you were fed up with the resident singers who appear most nights. However, there is a bowling centre a short walk away which was fun and taxis into Chania (very lively at night) cost about 10 euros.
Staff all amazing and were welcoming with lots remembering your room number and choice of drinks.
If you have the chance, spoil yourself in the spa which again was just fantastic..a treatment to remember in beautiful surroundings in the spa.
All in all, a fantastic holiday resort for couples who want a 5 star experience in luxurious surroundings but who want a quiet and relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: would recommend a swim up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 228Wards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I really appreciate that you took the time to write this inspiring and excellent review which gives us strength to work harder; we are all grateful. It was great to have you here at the Kalliston and we hope to see you soon.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.7% in overall guest satisfaction. We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

It will be great to have you back with us in the near future.

Thank you for your time and support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    132
    28
    1
    2
See reviews for
63
853
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sogndalsfjæra, Sogn og Fjordane, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is amazing!! When we arrived at the hotel, we got service from the first moment.
Thanks for the stay Vivi,Maria, Emma, Vasilis, Antonis THE BEACH BAR!!
Katerina, Nora, Ivan, Alkis, Aristidis and Mr Perakis ! WE WILL BE BACK

Regards

Ørjan&Kristine ( from Norway )

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ørjan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
August, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It is very encouraging and inspiring for all of us. Your positive respond and your warm comments really make our efforts worthwhile and I will share them with the whole Kalliston team.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.7% in overall guest satisfaction.

We all value your views and it is only by listening to you that we can improve our products and services.

Thank you for helping us and hope to see you soon!


Warm regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Superb informal and friendly hotel. Good variety of food especially breakfast, very happy and chatty staff, good location right on the beach which was beautiful. I would recommend it to friends and stay again. You would have to be very fussy to not enjoy yourself here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yamidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I really appreciate that you took the time to write this inspiring and excellent review which gives us strength to work harder; we are all grateful. It was great to have you here at the Kalliston and we hope to see you soon.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.7% in overall guest satisfaction. We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

It will be great to have you back with us in the near future.

Thank you for your time and support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stop reading the reviews and book it. It's simply the best holiday hotel in Europe! Having stayed at the Melanoros in Gran Canaria I did not think it could be bettered...but I was wrong. I note that a previous reviewer complained about the waves in the sea...well, that's how hard you need to look to find fault with this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Sea room on 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris P, Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, 5 July 2015
Dear John,

We are very happy for your positive comments. The whole team and especially I, as a hotel Manager, are here to offer what we feel as sincere Greek hospitality and to ensure your satisfaction.

In 2014 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Award and the TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston, have rated us at 97.5 in overall guest satisfaction. We currently hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.

We are all looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards

Dimitris Perrakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Being a repeat customer of the Kalliston hotel, I was very pleased to see that even with the new Atlantic management the service and atmospheric existence of the resort remained excellent. Going to Chania, I will always stay there... And my family is from Chania so I have the option to stay at friends & family, yet I will never choose another place. Kalliston is perfect!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KarinaFreckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I really appreciate that you took the time to write this inspiring and excellent review which gives us strength to work harder; we are all grateful. It was great to have you here at the Kalliston and we hope to see you soon.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.7% in overall guest satisfaction. We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

It will be great to have you back with us in the near future.

Thank you for your time and support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed end of July/beginning of August in a sea view swim up room with loungers on the other side of the pool. Nice room but a little tired in places. Bed was extremely comfortable and air con was very efficient. The pool outside our room was breaking up on the floor and will need serious attention at the end of the season. Was nice to have but a bit of a luxury as we didn't use it that much. It was usually too hot to sit on the loungers there as the parasols are badly placed but when it got really windy it was nice to get off the beach and the patio was nice and shady.
We didn't use any of the pools but they looked nice as did the grounds in general.
Restaurants - The main buffet restaurant was nice with a lovely view over the sea. and pleasant staff. Breakfast was good. Plenty of options. Orange varied from watered down juice to orange cordial. Not 5 star standard at all. Dinner was mostly good but some things we tried were over seasoned. Plenty of salad and fruit, choice of breads, sauces etc.I just wish they would wait till both of us finished eating before clearing plates. Most hotels publish a menu and display it outside during the day but not here so it was a massive shock on our last night to discover it was "Fish Night". Well I can't stand it and hubby is allergic. We would usually work round this but both soups were fish and nearly all the salad items and the only options we had were turkey burgers which are not very nice and a beef with olive sauce dish. Luckily this tasted ok or we would have had to ask for something else. Had we been aware of this we would have paid to go to the Italian a la carte.
The Italian was fabulous and not to be missed. Make sure you are hungry! We did not try the Greek but it is the same area where you have lunch. The Greek Taverna overlooking the beach was lovely for lunch. Plenty of choice. Lots of salad and fruit and nice staff. Food mainly good but we had some very chewy beef.
Bars - we used the Lobby bar outside area every night although sometimes there was entertainment at the Beach bar or Aqua bar. The sunsets were beautiful and the lovely staff kept us well supplied with cocktails, beers and g and t. Yammas!
The beach bar is right next to the beach but there is virtually no waiter service on the beach.
We didn't use the Aqua bar but it looked ok.
Entertainment was very low key. The Players (duo) were very good with a wide range of songs.
Greek night was great fun too.
We spent most of our days on the beach which is fabulous. Loungers always available there.
It stayed quiet and relaxing even though it was high season. The sea was warm and clear but did get rough at times when it was very windy. Good fun jumping through the waves though.
We got the bus to Chania early one morning which is advisable as it gets busy and hot. Well worth the trip as the harbour is stunning and there are a lot of nice shops and tavernas.
We also did 2 "Little Fun Train" tours which were good value and fun and got us off the beaten track. Reception have brochures and will book the tours for you.
Talking of reception, we have never before had a problem changing notes to coins for tips at any hotel we have stayed in but they were not always able to do this. One man on there was really quite condescending.
Jo was the Thomson rep and although we did not have much contact with her she is a lovely friendly lady and around a lot to help if needed.
Overall we had a fabulous relaxing fortnight and will come back. Next time it will be in a standard sea view room.
Please feel free to pm me if you have any questions. I will help if I can.

Room Tip: Swim up nice but would not book it again
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris P, Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, 4 July 2015
Dear Merhalb

Thank you for choosing Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share with all of us your thoughts through Trip Advisor. We were very glad to read that your experience at our hotel was positive and do hope to have the pleasure of serving you once again in the future.

In 2014 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Award and the TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston, have rated us at 97.5 in overall guest satisfaction. We currently hold five TripAdvisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world.


Kind regards

Dimitris Perrakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is absolutely wonderful in providing a totally relaxed atmosphere while providing a luxurious 5+star holiday. We have visited several adult only Atlantica hotels but this is by far the best. From the all- inclusive package to the swim-up bars, excellent pools, fantastic staff and international cuisine this hotel has it all.
There is no pressure to take part in any activity. You can just relax and enjoy yourself.
Our room was one with a pool view and was lovely with modern décor, a wonderfully comfortable bed, and good air-conditioning. The evening entertainment was relaxing and not so loud that conversation was impossible. The Greek music evening was really entertainment and full of fun. We are going again next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ann4music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I really appreciate that you took the time to write this inspiring and excellent review which gives us strength to work harder; we are all grateful. It was great to have you here at the Kalliston and we hope to see you soon.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.7% in overall guest satisfaction. We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

It will be great to have you back with us in the near future.

Thank you for your time and support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
33.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 109 in Chania Town
833 reviews
2.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 109 in Chania Town
231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 109 in Chania Town
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA

Property: SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA
Address: Glaros - Nea Kydonia, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa)
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kalliston Hotel Agia Galini
Kalliston Nea Kydonia
Kalliston Hotel Nea Kydonia
SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa By ATLANTICA Crete/Chania - Agii Apostoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing