We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth It!”
Review of Niriis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Niriis Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Worth It!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Niriis is a great place for anyone to stay, great value for your money. Location is close to some good restaurants and supermarkets, rooms are simple and clean, wifi is free, beach is practically around the corner... Just an awesome stay. I didn't really know what to do during my stay in Crete and George sat my group down and gave us some great ideas, he helped coordinate rides and had tons of great advice. It's worth staying here just because George (the owner) goes above and beyond for everyone

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuckkss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Ιδιοκτήτης at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2015
We would like to thank you for your positive review and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    122
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
58
179
110
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel from 29th April to 3rd May and from 8th May to 10th May. The place is great: quite and near three beautiful beaches. There is also few places where You can eat for a fair place.

The rooms are great: they have everything they need: shower, small equipped kitchen and air-condition.

And George is a great person: at the first day of our stay he gave us map op Crete and Chania and told about places that are worth seeing. He also recommend some restaurants where we could eat and some shops where we could taste raki and wine.

Definetely the place I would like come back.

Room Tip: I think that the rooms from the left side of the hotel (if You look at the front of it) are much co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert_Matusewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Ιδιοκτήτης at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2015
we would like to thank you for your positive review and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I was worried about finding this hostel without GPS, but this was no problem. A lot of signs showed me the way. The owner Georg is a really nice person. He told me what to do and what to see on Crete.

The hotel is a little bit outside of the city, but there is a bus station directly next to the hotel.

The shops, restaurants and the beautiful sunset is also a plus of this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Niriis Hotel!
It means a lot for us to have happy and satisfied guests, and at Niriis we all try to make that happen!
Perhaps see you again in Agioi Apostoloi!
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pai, Thailand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed in a lovely small apartment/room here for 4 nights in April, just at the beginning of the season. The location is perfect: a five minute walk from beautiful Sunset Beach, on a quiet street with two mini-markets at either end of the street, with restaurants and bigger stores a short walk away. Best of all is the owner George who couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating.

My laptop charger was broken which was no problem since there's a laptop in the reception available that guests can use. The room had everything needed for an extended stay and/or to keep costs down: 2 burner electric stove, sets of dishes and silverware and a few pots and pans.

George, in addition to having lots of excellent information, sold local bus tickets which made getting around the island very easy.

If you go early or late in the season the costs are incredibly low. Don't miss this lovely place that is a great value.

Room Tip: To save money, visit in April or October. If you arrive in low season please note that the website b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulacorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Ιδιοκτήτης at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2015
we would like to thank you for your positive review and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

George (= the owner of the hotel) is a very friendly guy and had very good advice on what we could visit, how to get there, where to rent a car etc.

Rooms and bathroom were clean and big enough.

barring that, our room had a cooking device, pots and pans, but it's really unconvenient to cook there and make the dishes, mainly for lack of room and towels for the dishes.

Barring that, really great place to stay and nice rooms.

Room Tip: Our room had a cooking device, pots and pans, but it's really unconvenient to cook there and mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thibaud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Owner at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2015
We thank you for your kind words and your very good description. We strive to offer the best we can and that you can contact the Reception Desk at any time. We are happy when our customers are satisfied and we hope to accommodate you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

From our first steps into the hotel George welcomed us with open arms. Before even asking for us to pay for our stay, he sat us down and asked us the details of our trip in order to give us the best advice possible for our stay- which he did! We are 2 students in our early 20s that came for a weekend getaway to escape the cold weather of Poland and he gave us the recommendations we needed. He studied in England for a while so his English is fluent so communication was no problem. He also gave us some sunscreen, that we did not use enough of, and some after-sun when we turned red. If George offers you sunscreen, take it and use it because the sun in Crete is very strong! George is also very helpful and approachable. We had a very early flight in the morning and when asking George about taxis, he offered to take us for the same price which was amazing! He also offered to drop off our postcards in the mailbox which was very nice of him. The rooms were also very clean and offered a kitchen which was perfect for our student budget since we picked up groceries by the local Inka and Lidl (10 minute walk) to have something for breakfast. Oh, also George sells various excursions around Crete and we bought the one to Knossos and Ireklion which we enjoyed very much. They are offered by travel agencies but we just told George we were interested and he arranged everything even pick up from the taxi parking 2 minutes away from the hotel. By far the best hotel and hotel host I have ever met!

The hotel is also very conveniently located to many beaches that are clean and good to swim in. George is also a swimmer so he was helpful with questions about which beach is the best (there are 4 within a 5 minute walking distance) and which areas to avoid. The only thing that some people would find as a con is that Niriis does not have a pool and you can use the neighboring hotels' pools if you buy a drink. But if you're in such a beautiful place like Agi Apostoli you should be swimming in the sea not in a chlorine-filled pool. The hotel is located 4km away from Chania town but commuting is cheap (1.10 euros one way, tickets can be bought off of George too) and only a 15 minute ride. The bus stop is also very close and the buses run at good times, last one at 10:30pm. We came before tourist season officially started so it may be different but we really enjoyed that the beaches and streets in the area were full of locals and we really got to integrate with the Greeks. There is also a very good restaurant beside Niriis (Family Farm I think) that gives you free Raki and desert after your meal but George said many of the places do that but remember to ask him since the rest of the dinners we ate came with no free desert or alcohol!

This is definitely a first choice for anyone visiting Chania and Crete. It is in the perfect location and has a great host that will make you feel at home. George we will be back, we still didn't hike up the Gorge or see the blue lagoon or goats!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top right are right beside the pool from the neighboring hotel which did not bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedziPaulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Owner at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2015
We thank you for your kind words and your very good description. We strive to offer the best we can and that you can contact the Reception Desk at any time. We are happy when our customers are satisfied and we hope to accommodate you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

George was always very helpful. He provided us with several very good recommendations - car rental, restaurants and places to visit. The restaurant ELIA in particular was excellent. We forgot to bring a wire to charge our iPhone, and George was generous enough to lend us his. He also helped us send a postcard. We are very grateful for everything.

The room is quite spacious. It can be a little bit noisy at night because walls are quite thin, but that depends on what kind of neighbour you get. There is a sink in the room and you can find all the cooking utensils you need in the cupboard. The bathroom is new and clean, but the shower could be a bit stronger. We had a TV (BBC is included, yay) and wifi was quite good. Beds were comfortable, which is very important for good sleep ;-)

The hotel is not located in the city center, so you have to take a bus for 20 minutes from the center of Chania. It can be an advantage for people who enjoy a bit of quietness.

Strongly recommended to visitors to Chania :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pavlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Owner at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2015
We thank you for your kind words and your very good description. We strive to offer the best we can and that you can contact the Reception Desk at any time. We are happy when our customers are satisfied and we hope to accommodate you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
0.9 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Athina Beach Hotel
Athina Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#28 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
66.3 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niriis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niriis Hotel

Property: Niriis Hotel
Address: Herakleous Street, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Niriis Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niriis is a small family hotel, located 100m away from the sea, in Agii Apostoli area, 4km west of Chania. Within a walking distance, between one to two minutes (100m), there are three beaches, swimming pools, mini markets, restaurants, park, hotel bars, bus stop, taxi rank and a communal car parking. Niriis Hotel has 22 rooms. Every apartment is equipped with a kitchenette (fridge, two cooking hobs and cooking utensils), en-suite shower and toilet, TV, air-conditioning, safety box, phone, and has balcony, a minimum of two single beds, wardrobe, kitchen table and chairs. Most apartments have two beds, but there are 8 three-bed apartments, and two four-bed apartments with two separate rooms. Although Niriis Hotel has no swimming pool, residents can use the swimming pools of nearby hotels (the property has a special agreement). There is also no restaurant or bar in the hotel, but there is plenty of choice within the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Niriis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niriis Hotel Crete/Chania - Agii Apostoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing