We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“College Spring Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Niriis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Niriis Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“College Spring Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel was so close to the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and included a small kitchen, perfect for breakfast or lunch. There are restaurants all around that are great for dinner. Everything is close by, including a bus stop to get into the city for only 1.10 euro. Loved my stay there and would gladly go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soniet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2015
Thank you so much for commenting Niriis Hotel!

Αt Niriis Hotell we are happy when our guests are happy, and we all do our best to make that happen!
Thank you once again and see you perhaps again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    122
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
57
179
108
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

apartment style room with fridge and stove.
immaculately clean. we did have noisy neighbors one night, but that's to be expected. i believe the hotel also offers hostel rooms w/ bunk beds for single travelers willing to have room mates.
hotel is one street over from the 2 beaches, iguana beach and sunset beach.
sunset beach faces west!
in between the beaches is a wooded area on the rocky cliffs w/ wild flowers. very nice area. very nice view. great for pictures, picnic, strolls.
be careful of sea urchins they are all over the rocks (but not in the sand) they are black spiny plant looking things and the spines stick in you and have venom they hurt and are tiny and a pain to get out w/ using a needle like a splinter!!!
There are convenient stores on all corners w/ beach supplies hygiene and foods and restaurants everywhere so no need for a car. even walk to the INKA grocery store a couple blocks over for all your grocery items and hygiene (they even carry the beachy stuff at a cheaper price in the inka or Lidl grocery stores that are across from each other)

Area does not come up in GPS so read the email George, the owner, sends you after you reserve. Also, use google maps from the airport and write down the directions or do screen shots of the map. it is fairy easy to find once you figure it out. from the airport head to chania. we used 'dartsos' in our GPS. it's a straight shot through the downtown chania then the GPS will tell you to turn left. don't turn left, but instead stay on that main street, look for the INKA and Lidl grocery stores across from each other (just past the 2 dealerships, one is BMW) (also note there are lots of INKA grocery stores so look for the one on your right and the Lidl is on the other corner, also on your right) turn right down that street in between the two grocery stores. 2nd to last left and follow the signs.
There's also a 'Coffee Fellows' business on the main road and you can turn right there. There are signs that says NIRISS so keep a sharp eye out for those!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank milfamof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you very much for commenting Niriis Hotel!
At Niriis we provide a friendly service and we do our best to provide a quality stay at a low cost. Niriis Hotel is located at the beutiful are of Agioi Apostoloi, 2min from the beach.
Best Regards and thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

George is the best host I've come across in my travels. The excursion we went to Elafonisi beach was amazing and George made many stops along the way so we could see the views and take pictures. His brother also gave us a ride into town! The best host and nice hotel as well. Extremely close to nice beaches.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morriskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you very much for choosing Niriis and for your review!
It is our pleasure to have happy guests, and at Niriis Hotel we make all the effort to achieve that!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Niriis hotel is great located place, 4 kilometers from Chania. You can do it on foot walking along the pretty sea coast. It's no problem, when you hawe a car, but buses are also often there;) There are beautiful, sandy beaches (3 minutes on foot), places to play volleyball and jog. There are 2 big supermarkets, ATM, a lot of pool restaurants and others very close to the hotel (one has parrots insides, which you can hear in the morning;) The owner is awesome - always helpful. You'll receive all the informations you need - about street markets (You have to be there!!), bus schedule, places worth to see and special map- where are signed places to eat (absolutely delicious!!!), drink and so on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingaLigeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you so much for your review and for recommending Niriis Hotel!
At Niriis Hotel, we want our guests to make the best of their time in Chania and West Crete, and we make sure we provide them all the tips and the help to make it happen!
Best Regards and perhaps see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My mate Claire & I stayed for our first 3 nights in Crete. It was clean, good bus location into Chania (approx 15 mins once the bus comes (every 30mins). Smaller but lovely beaches right around the corner (2-5mins). The highlight of the trip was definitely the Hotel manager George! He is the man! Perfect English (has 2Masters degrees from the UK) and absolutely loves his island and knows SO much about it! There are lots of excursions (hiking, going to farther away beaches that cannot be reached by public transport prior to May1st + relatively tricky even when you can - for €25 he'll drive a small group & be a personal tour guide, worth every penny!! Particularly prior to May 1st when the season starts (very little open before it does!) if you can think it he'll do his best to make it happen. For instance I mentioned liking horse riding and immediately George had 3 suggestions with advise on how best to get there + on to our next destination!
Highly recommended.

Notes:
- small library of books available to borrow/exchange/purchase
- nearby supermarkets (5-10mins walk)
- best possible map of Chania made by George with points of interest, cafés, restraints, buses, etc. free!
- pre-season restaurant that George can call who will collect guests from the hotel & deliver them back

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Talissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2015
Thank you for your kindness and that you appreciate I am trying to do my best for my guests.
It was a pleasure that you were to my hotel and I hope to see you again!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Poor customer service. Nobody there, couldn't get ahold of anyone, the owner himself was confused, couldn't find a key, we couldn't reach him in the morning to check out. Overall it was a disappointing experience, which is too bad. Great place, close to the beach, restaurants and markets close by, the hotel is nice enough, its clean, and reasonably priced. If they say they are open, and they take bookings, then they need to be there for the customer. Otherwise just say you are closed for the season.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Ιδιοκτήτης at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We are sorry you couldn't get hold of us, but at the end of March and early April we don't have many rooms booked as its the beginning of the season and for 20 euro per day (per room) its difficult for us to be at the reception 24/7 in relation to costs and profit. As we always say to our customers, they can reach us for free by calling from the phone in the room, we are very flexible, and most of our guests take advantage of that as we have the fastest check out (one call away). As mentioned, only in early April or end of October as we tend to be full the rest of the season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vojvodina, Serbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very nice place to stay. Not expensive, well equipped room, nice small bathroom, rooms very clean.
Hotel manager and staff are very helpful, will help you with everything, and they are always there to answer your questions, and give you advice about anything! Location of Niiris hotel is great, it is near Chania town. We came by car, and although the hotel does not have a parking lot, there is always plenty of space to park your car near hotel, and it is safe.
Next time, I would like to visit the eastern side of Crete, but if I wish to come back on western part, I will surely come to Niiris again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirka87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Niriis Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Hello and thank you for commenting Niriis Hotel!

We are very happy you enjoyed your time in Chania and West Crete. At Niriis Hotel we care for our guests and we want to provide them a quality stay!

Best Regards and thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agii Apostoli
0.9 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Athina Beach Hotel
Athina Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#26 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
66.3 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niriis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niriis Hotel

Property: Niriis Hotel
Address: Herakleous Street, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Niriis Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niriis is a small family hotel, located 100m away from the sea, in Agii Apostoli area, 4km west of Chania. Within a walking distance, between one to two minutes (100m), there are three beaches, swimming pools, mini markets, restaurants, park, hotel bars, bus stop, taxi rank and a communal car parking. Niriis Hotel has 22 rooms. Every apartment is equipped with a kitchenette (fridge, two cooking hobs and cooking utensils), en-suite shower and toilet, TV, air-conditioning, safety box, phone, and has balcony, a minimum of two single beds, wardrobe, kitchen table and chairs. Most apartments have two beds, but there are 8 three-bed apartments, and two four-bed apartments with two separate rooms. Although Niriis Hotel has no swimming pool, residents can use the swimming pools of nearby hotels (the property has a special agreement). There is also no restaurant or bar in the hotel, but there is plenty of choice within the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Niriis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niriis Hotel Crete/Chania - Agii Apostoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing