We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value for money”
Review of Escape Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escape Beach Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Karimun Jawa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Even Escape Beach Hotel is quite new it's already rundown. Many things are broken, the color of the furniture comes off. I could not close the door of the bathroom. Unmotivated stuff. Sometimes they forget to clean the room. Breakfast is very basic and always cold because they can get from outside in the early morning. For the same price you can stay in a nice 4 star hotel in many Indonesian cities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor enjoy a nice breeze from the sea. The budget rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

I was there on June 28th,2012. I have booked one month before and the manager said I only could stay for one night because it was fully booked. And then when I arrived there the manager said I could stay there for 3 nights, which it was really nice for us so we wouldn't find another place to stay again. The manager was helpful, his name Pak Wono. We paid for 220,000 rupiah per night which was a really great deal for us. The room was nice and clean with AC and also they gave us breakfast. I think its really great deal for that price. When we wanted to go snorkling and exploring the islands, the manager helped us to arrange the deal with the tour and we only pay like 125,000 rupiah per each person. To get to this hotel it was really easy,you don't have to use car but u can only walk circle it, just ask people there and don't take car, because it will get long to go there and you have to pay like 35,000 rupiah. The bonus from this hotel is you can see the sea view from the hotel. So helpful and nice manager and staff. For sure we will go there again if we visit Karimun Jawa again.

Room Tip: Choose the room in the second floor. Nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank puzzlepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The hotel is only 2 stories high, no elevator, with a restaurant on separate building. Hotel ground is surrounded with trees and a small private beach. You can't swim in it, but still a very nice place to relax and enjoy the morning air or afternoon breeze. Went with some friends and booked 2 rooms, too bad one of the room has leaky AC, and they failed to fix it. Hotel staffs are very helpful nevertheless. Room is small, but has full-size window glass on front wall, so it looks bigger. Electricity is available throughout the day, not a common feature on other hotels in Karimunjawa. Breakfast is so-so, but we did a have tasty feast on our last day of staying.

The only downside that I can think of is it is too secluded and quite far from Alun-alun. Good if you want to enjoy the quietness, not good if you're bored (they also didn't have any TV inside the room). I also didn't see any warung/street vendor nearby, so it's probably difficult if, let's say, you want to buy paper towel, toiletries, or cigarettes. Fortunately my tour package includes daily pickup & drop to Alun-alun and other places nearby

Room Tip: beware of the leaky AC, better check first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cyanides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Important to say they the overall impression of the hotel is relative to Karimunjava, a remote island with little accommodation choice.
This hotel has a good location and friendly and helpful staff. You can organize your boat trips to near by islands and rent a scooter directly from the hotel.
Get what they call 'suite' at the first floor. Don't get ground floor rooms as they are a bit 'sad'
The 'suite' are good value for money (around 25 dollars), have a hot shower ( a privilege in Karimunjava), the are fairly clean and you are not going to be assaulted by moschitos (again a big privilege)
Breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fridak05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

A very good hotel: direct a the sea, very beautiful garden to sit, chill and watch the sea, nice, clean and functional rooms, very friendly staff, a lot of features like scooters, transport and organisation for boattrips.

We had a very good time there. The staff grilled (fresh, cheap and tasty) fish at the beach for a couple of friend and the did a big fire for us as well. A very special evening-event – just ask for it.

Would come back anytime. The best we found on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panama_Jim28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fathendra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Why N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karimun Jawa hotels
0 mi away
Breve Azurine Lagoon Retreat
Breve Azurine Lagoon Retreat
#1 of 2 in Karimun Jawa
65 reviews
0 mi away
CocoHuts Inn
CocoHuts Inn
#5 of 29 in Karimun Jawa
37 reviews
0 mi away
The Coconut House Karimunjawa
The Coconut House Karimunjawa
#2 of 29 in Karimun Jawa
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Asri Karimunjawa
Hotel Asri Karimunjawa
#11 of 29 in Karimun Jawa
3 reviews
0 mi away
The Panorama
The Panorama
#4 of 29 in Karimun Jawa
14 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel The Happinezz
Hostel The Happinezz
#1 of 29 in Karimun Jawa
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escape Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape Beach Hotel

Address: Jl. Danang Joyo No. 2, Karimun Jawa, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Karimun Jawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Karimun Jawa
Price Range: £10 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Escape Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing