We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape this beach hotel”
Review of Escape Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escape Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 24 Karimun Jawa B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Escape this beach hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Although the hotel name suggests otherwise, Escape Beach hotel has no beach. The polluted 3 meter wide sand strip really doesn't count. Swimming is not an option.  

Besides that, the location of the hotel is good. The suite room we booked is average size for an normal hotel room. Bathroom is small and simple. Keep in mind that the hotel standards on Karimunjawa island are lower compared to the average hotel in other Indonesian cities.

The room was downright filthy when we checked in and we had the staff clean it up first. Another problem was that the hotel management was abroad and that the hotel was - literally - run by a couple of kids. No one spoke English and there was no clear host.

Breakfast is a pancake with suger. Period.

We had trouble with our room, because at night we found out that some unwanted inhabitants lived in our room. We never found out wether it were mice or bats, but the scratching and screeching were well, a nightmare.

Of course this is not the standard experience, but the problem was that there was no host or management to adequatly have a discussion about this issue. We wrote a respectful email to the management, but the lousy answer we got suggest that the management isn't any better than its staff.

If you disregard the fancy brochure and website, and downgrade your expectations, than this hotel can be for you. It's pretty cheap, after all. But if really want what this hotel claims to offer, you might want to search for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TreborWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PARIS
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed there 10 days in the small new building. Avoid the west last very hot room unless they have put some outside shutters in front of tbe whole windows. No hot water in our room and low low pressure during peak hours. The room was simple and good taste. Good bed. We had to request for fresh towels when ours got mould smell.
Welcome is good, but few people speak English. It's difficult to arrange all inclusive excursions.
Locations is close to the harbour annd main street by the beach.
Hotel has a garden with many trees and also some piles of building materials.
It's facing a lagoon that you can swim only when hide tide. After 100m there are corals and fishes. Beautiful for snorkeling.
Breakfast is minimum : pancake or nasi goreng. BOWF(ruits)
The place woyld be great if the adjacent (just 10 m) small shipyard did not let their noisy little generator run most of the day spoiling the otherwise tranquility.
There are several close good restaurants on the main street (asri, amore)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Even Escape Beach Hotel is quite new it's already rundown. Many things are broken, the color of the furniture comes off. I could not close the door of the bathroom. Unmotivated stuff. Sometimes they forget to clean the room. Breakfast is very basic and always cold because they can get from outside in the early morning. For the same price you can stay in a nice 4 star hotel in many Indonesian cities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor enjoy a nice breeze from the sea. The budget rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Karimun Jawa hotels

Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I was there on June 28th,2012. I have booked one month before and the manager said I only could stay for one night because it was fully booked. And then when I arrived there the manager said I could stay there for 3 nights, which it was really nice for us so we wouldn't find another place to stay again. The manager was helpful, his name Pak Wono. We paid for 220,000 rupiah per night which was a really great deal for us. The room was nice and clean with AC and also they gave us breakfast. I think its really great deal for that price. When we wanted to go snorkling and exploring the islands, the manager helped us to arrange the deal with the tour and we only pay like 125,000 rupiah per each person. To get to this hotel it was really easy,you don't have to use car but u can only walk circle it, just ask people there and don't take car, because it will get long to go there and you have to pay like 35,000 rupiah. The bonus from this hotel is you can see the sea view from the hotel. So helpful and nice manager and staff. For sure we will go there again if we visit Karimun Jawa again.

Room Tip: Choose the room in the second floor. Nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank puzzlepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The hotel is only 2 stories high, no elevator, with a restaurant on separate building. Hotel ground is surrounded with trees and a small private beach. You can't swim in it, but still a very nice place to relax and enjoy the morning air or afternoon breeze. Went with some friends and booked 2 rooms, too bad one of the room has leaky AC, and they failed to fix it. Hotel staffs are very helpful nevertheless. Room is small, but has full-size window glass on front wall, so it looks bigger. Electricity is available throughout the day, not a common feature on other hotels in Karimunjawa. Breakfast is so-so, but we did a have tasty feast on our last day of staying.

The only downside that I can think of is it is too secluded and quite far from Alun-alun. Good if you want to enjoy the quietness, not good if you're bored (they also didn't have any TV inside the room). I also didn't see any warung/street vendor nearby, so it's probably difficult if, let's say, you want to buy paper towel, toiletries, or cigarettes. Fortunately my tour package includes daily pickup & drop to Alun-alun and other places nearby

Room Tip: beware of the leaky AC, better check first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cyanides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Important to say they the overall impression of the hotel is relative to Karimunjava, a remote island with little accommodation choice.
This hotel has a good location and friendly and helpful staff. You can organize your boat trips to near by islands and rent a scooter directly from the hotel.
Get what they call 'suite' at the first floor. Don't get ground floor rooms as they are a bit 'sad'
The 'suite' are good value for money (around 25 dollars), have a hot shower ( a privilege in Karimunjava), the are fairly clean and you are not going to be assaulted by moschitos (again a big privilege)
Breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fridak05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

A very good hotel: direct a the sea, very beautiful garden to sit, chill and watch the sea, nice, clean and functional rooms, very friendly staff, a lot of features like scooters, transport and organisation for boattrips.

We had a very good time there. The staff grilled (fresh, cheap and tasty) fish at the beach for a couple of friend and the did a big fire for us as well. A very special evening-event – just ask for it.

Would come back anytime. The best we found on the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panama_Jim28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karimun Jawa hotels
0.0 mi away
Breve Azurine Lagoon Retreat
Breve Azurine Lagoon Retreat
#1 of 3 in Karimun Jawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
CocoHuts Inn
CocoHuts Inn
#4 of 24 in Karimun Jawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coconut House Karimunjawa
The Coconut House Karimunjawa
#2 of 24 in Karimun Jawa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Karimun Lumbung
Karimun Lumbung
#7 of 16 in Karimun Jawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waru Guesthouse
Waru Guesthouse
#8 of 24 in Karimun Jawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Omah Alchy Cottages
Omah Alchy Cottages
#4 of 16 in Karimun Jawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escape Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape Beach Hotel

Property: Escape Beach Hotel
Address: Jl. Danang Joyo No. 2, Karimun Jawa, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Karimun Jawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Karimun Jawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Escape Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing