We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eating and Drinking”
Review of The Grange Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormesby St. Margaret
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grange Hotel
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is a special place these days. It does a variety of real ales and ciders and has a tap room with many different beers and ciders. Real Ale £2.50 a pint and special offers such as buy one get one for a £1. Food is excellent, large portions and special offers as well. Has its own caravan site and excellent children s playground. Jonathon the Landlord is a brilliant mine host can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

We happened upon this venue while looking for something to eat after a day out in Norfolk. It felt like walking into someone's house and felt a little uninviting in the main entrance hall. We found the restaurant and were greeted by a pleasant bar lady. After looking at the menu, a young waitress came to our table and my husband asked what ale they served. He was given a reply of 'I don't know' as she stood looking at us!! We asked her to go and find out and she did. We ordered our meal and the food was really tasty, and there was plenty of it. I chose off the 'heads or tails' menu which I later found out meant that at e end of your meal a coin is tossed and you get your meal free if you call out the correct side of the coin! Result! We would recommend this as the food was lovely but redecoration may be beneficial.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This is a Public House with a restaurent, combined.Six of us went for Sunday lunch on February 3RD. Food was good ,nice and hot and plenty of it,waitresses were lovely and helpful,nothing too much trouble for them.Landlord was about talking to customers a real character ,you definitely need that in a pub, it definitely draws you in .fantastic! and to top it all we each had the opportunity of rolling a dice to get a free meal,which was very appealing and even better that one of us got a freebie, will be returning very soon and spreading the word brilliant!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirley186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The food here, very much for the meat eater. Or the large portion seeker! Great value considered the huge portions and the steak and fish, great quality. It is what it is, a restaurant to a family hotel with attached capmsite.....but in this area provided by far the best meal options. My son never had dessert! In heard of!

Room Tip: I imagine u get what u pay for, the staff were helpful and I can only presumed u had a problem, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

If you are in the area of Ormesby make sure you visit the Grange Hotel the food is excellent especially the seafood and steaks and at brilliant prices. They even serve a 56oz steak havnt tried it ourselves but know others that have. There is a challenge if you eat the 56oz steak and all the trimmings in 30 minutes you get it free. The accomodation of the hotel has all been refurbished to high standard if you are looking to stay in the area. Very friendly staff and reasonably priced. We are a local taxi company and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel Cali Cabs

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We arrived for lunch in this recently renovated hotel/resturant/public house/camp site. The menu was predictable , no vegetarian option was on the menu but a "ask staff for options " was on the bottom of the menu. On asking what the options were , the barmaid looked startled and immediately said "lasagana", the Manager who was extremely helpful asked if I ate fish and gave me six different options of fish choices, then the old favourites came in to play mushroom strogonoff, omelletes etc, jacket potatoes. He did also offer Quorn dishes of differing types which he did admit were bought in as meals. To his credit he did offer me a card saying if we would like to ring before we book , he would be happy to have what we requested available. I am not a vegetarian as such, but, sometimes just need a break from meat. My partner who is a carnivore to a fault , ordered the gammon steak , which was very thin indeed, served with skinny fries, two eggs and the trimmings, your average "pub grub" on a mediocre day. I appreciate this place is very much "work in progress " but, menu now , should be their top priority, that and getting facilities for accepting debit and credit cards. They are totally reliant on cash sales only. Their offer of a 54 ounce steak with all the trimmings asking for it to be eaten in 30 minutes for free, can only do their business harm and do no good whatsoever. Perhaps we will pop in in around a year , to see if they have got their act together.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Caistergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Handily placed 5 miles north of Great Yarmouth, with quiet beaches that are about 15 minutes walk. Much of The Broads are just a few minutes drive away too.
We stayed in the hotel part of this multi-purpose set up. There are also chalets, cottages & camping/caravan pitches. There is free parking, bar and restaurant.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Room was large with a 4 poster bed, walk in wardrobe and good sized bathroom. The general feel was that it needed a bit of an update, but to be fair at the price - half price special at the time we stayed - it was a bargain.
There's a pub just around the corner, literally 2 minutes walk. A small selection of shops & takeaways can be found in nearby Scratby, Caister and Ormesby St Margaret. The big superstores are represented around Great Yarmouth, Tesco is the nearest just a couple of miles away.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pujro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: Yarmouth Rd, Ormesby St. Margaret NR29 3QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Ormesby St. Margaret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ormesby St. Margaret
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Grange Hotel Ormesby St. Margaret, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing