We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heads or tails?”
Review of The Grange Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormesby St. Margaret
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grange Hotel
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“heads or tails?”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Went there for a meal and a drink. The menu seemed very basic and overpriced. Restaurant seems to specialise in steaks and burgers. However, good sized portions. Dessert menu was poor with little choice. A bonus which we were not made aware of at the start of the meal was the 'coin toss'. The waitresses, at the end of the meal, toss a coin for EACH and every dish you have ordered - if you call correctly this dish is FREE!! Of the 8 dishes we ordered (starters and mains) we managed to get 2 mains free which bought the bill down to a much more acceptable figure. Another bonus is the adjoining tap room which serves a good range of real ales at very good prices. There is also a caravan and camping park next door (owned by the same people). Not sure whether we would eat there again though, due to the limited menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    22
    17
    9
    15
See reviews for
34
38
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We visited The Grange and had drinks and a meal, the tap room is a novel idea and works well you get to try beers & ciders in small glasses so you can check whats available without falling over too soon, the meal, I had skate and it was superb, truly superb, my friends were equally impressed, my critisism would be that the garlic bread starer should have been more scorched and the cheese melted and I would have liked to see fried egg on the mixed grill my friend had, but I nit pick, the atmosphere is great, the staff friendly and knowledgeable, pay a visit I loved the place and I'm a fussy so and so,,,,,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Staff were dressed in jeans and t shirts- very casual and relaxed manor.
The tomatoe sauce was served not only in a bottle but from Lidl !!!
Yet the prices were charged as if it was from a normal shop.
Would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNIEWILKS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ormesby St. Margaret hotels

Bedford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have been visiting Scratby for many years but have not tried the Grange as it was for residents only. I understand this changed when the latest Landlord took over in October. We did not try the food so this is a bar review only. We visited on a cold Easter and we were lucky to find a seat at the bar as it was so busy. It is a large place with a separate restaurant. We received a warm welcome from the bar staff and one of the girls took us to the separate tap room. I have never been to a tap room before and could not believe my eyes! A room filled with boxes of real ale and cider. I am a big fan of 'proper cider' so I was glad I did not have my car with me. A pint and a half for me and my husband came to £3.75. After the first round the landlord arrived and people we queueing at the tap room for a chat and a bit of banter. He was very knowledgable and we were able to try the ciders before buying. He was what I would call a 'proper landlord' We will definitely visit the Grange when we return to Scratby

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is a special place these days. It does a variety of real ales and ciders and has a tap room with many different beers and ciders. Real Ale £2.50 a pint and special offers such as buy one get one for a £1. Food is excellent, large portions and special offers as well. Has its own caravan site and excellent children s playground. Jonathon the Landlord is a brilliant mine host can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We happened upon this venue while looking for something to eat after a day out in Norfolk. It felt like walking into someone's house and felt a little uninviting in the main entrance hall. We found the restaurant and were greeted by a pleasant bar lady. After looking at the menu, a young waitress came to our table and my husband asked what ale they served. He was given a reply of 'I don't know' as she stood looking at us!! We asked her to go and find out and she did. We ordered our meal and the food was really tasty, and there was plenty of it. I chose off the 'heads or tails' menu which I later found out meant that at e end of your meal a coin is tossed and you get your meal free if you call out the correct side of the coin! Result! We would recommend this as the food was lovely but redecoration may be beneficial.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This is a Public House with a restaurent, combined.Six of us went for Sunday lunch on February 3RD. Food was good ,nice and hot and plenty of it,waitresses were lovely and helpful,nothing too much trouble for them.Landlord was about talking to customers a real character ,you definitely need that in a pub, it definitely draws you in .fantastic! and to top it all we each had the opportunity of rolling a dice to get a free meal,which was very appealing and even better that one of us got a freebie, will be returning very soon and spreading the word brilliant!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirley186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormesby St. Margaret
3.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
515 reviews
4.7 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Acle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
438 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
485 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: Yarmouth Rd, Ormesby St. Margaret NR29 3QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Ormesby St. Margaret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ormesby St. Margaret
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Grange Hotel Ormesby St. Margaret, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing