We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great pool, taxi ride from ios”
Review of Skala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Skala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Chora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very obliging owner, clean rooms, great pool, nice cafe/restaurant. 15-20 minute walk from the bars and restaurants - safer to get a taxi home at night because of narrow roads.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Skala Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

a group of seven of us travled to Ios during our summer break. The hotel owner was wonderful, accomadating all of us on short notice and helping us to find another place after the first few days as regretably he didnt have space for so many of us all week. He was so obliging that he even let us come up and use the Skala pool when we had moved and we spent many happy evenings at the Skala even after we had moved on.

Regretably, as a few people have mentioned, there is quite a hill to climb to get from the main village to the appartments. it was dubbed by the residents as 'death hill' infact. although it wasnt great to begin with we soon got used to this, and once wwe had a few drinks down us it was barely noticable :) - not a good place to stay if you have any sort of mobility issue though.

The pool was also very nice, clean and tranquil with a beautiful view, and food was served all day which was both affordable and tasty :) speaking of views the view from the appartments was OUTSTANDING. you can see the whole village buzzing below you (even if you did have to walk up a hill to get there) by moonlight, nothing beats it.

The rooms were comfortable and clean and considering the price we paid of 13 euros per night damn good value. bit low on cooking equipment though, we were expecting bowls ect to eat cereal but no. oh well.

I loved the Skala and would reccomend it highly. our experience here was second to none, and we shall be returning next year :)

Room Tip: we were in the appartment right at the end which has (in my opinion) the best view- although slightl...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I chose this from the internet where the pics, like the glossy brochure of this establishment, paint a very different picture.
The room was dirty - I had to get a broom and sweep out previous occupant's pubic hair from the floor. The toilet didn't flush properly so we had to ask him for a bucket. There were cigarette burns in the shower curtain and the bedspread. The bed was horribly uncomfortable.The furniture was broken and the towel rail had been pulled off the wall. We had to ask for crockery for the kitchen. The decor was tired and outdated.The pool hadn't been cleaned for weeks (see pic) and he wasn't going to bother just for us. Admittedly it was nearly the end of the season, so the owner, a pleasant enough chap, was out to make his last few Euros and didn't care about much else.
This is a shame - if he just put a bit of money into repairs and some new furniture then the place could be a real find. He's let it degenerate into a really shoddy doss house.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank curlydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Run by very friendly & hospitable people Skala is a great place to stay for singles, couples & familes, with clean comfortable rooms, a good pool & a great view especially at sunset. Kiriakos & Ourania also own a restaurant serving good Greek food which like the hotel is good value. i've been coming to Ios for 14 years & haven't stayed anywhere else. No need to!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norfolkngood52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Absolutely wonderful hotel, staff can't do enough for you and are always there with a big smile. Really clean with a great pool. Best views of village and on clear days can see Santorini and Naxos. Love this hotel and wouldn't stay anywhere else

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomio12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The pictures of the hotel that I had seen before were taken by the swimming pool which is actually very nice, with amazing views of the sunset.
The rest is just a place to stay a night and not even. The decoration is awful and the beds are uncomfortable. We asked for a double room and they put us in a 4people room. Very ample but we didnt need the 2 extra beds...
Bathroom ok but with an old curtain shower..

Overall I would just recommend the place for young people with a tight budget.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrisVGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We arrived at Ios without a booking and picked out Hotel Skala from the several touts waiting for the boat. There was no heavy pressure like there used to be there years ago. We were looking for something in the Chora with good views and a swimming pool. The brochure for the hotel was very glossy but it did represent the hotel very well. The owner, Kyriakos, took us up to the hotel with no pressure to take a room if we didn't like it. When we saw the views over the Chora, down to the port and across to the islands of Sikinos and Santorini we were just blown away. The room had everything we needed and felt more homely than the usual white boxes of modern rooms in Greece. The swimming pool area was lovely too and the views from the poolside were amazing. Kyriakos was just the most friendliest and helpful person you could ever hope to meet. He also owns and runs a restaurant called The Mills in the town which did excellent Greek food so we ate there every night (not something we usually do). The only possible downside I would say is that although it is not far from the town the road up to it is extremely steep but it doesn't take long and the hotel and Kyriakos make it well worth the effort. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on our next trip to Ios.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chora
0.4 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chora
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Hotel
Golden Sun Hotel
#20 of 42 in Ios
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ios Resort Hotel
Ios Resort Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chora
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#13 of 42 in Ios
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Liostasi Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skala Hotel

Address: Village Ios, Chora 840 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Chora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chora
Price Range: £20 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Skala Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skala hotel in Ios Village combines both reasonable prices and an excellent location.The hotel is 3 minutes walk from the centre of ios village and night life. Accomodation types include studios-apartments and rooms for 2-3-4 ... Persons.The skala hotel offers for clients of all ages ,friends,couples and families.The view of the town-the port and the sunset is lasting.The friendly atmosphere and the service are fomous and give us compliments in most guide books. We offer to all our clients free transfer from and to the ferry-swimming pool -jacuzzi and pool bar-free wifi-free parking and many other facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Skala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skala Hotel Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing