We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great views, amazing hospitality”
Review of Skala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Chora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Skala has everything we could want from a hotel and more. The view from this hotel is simply breath-taking and watching the sunset over the village from the roof-top swimming pool is highly recommended. Rooms are clean, bright and spacious and come with TV, aircon, fridge, hairdryer, etc. There are also a variety of spa treatments on offer for very reasonable prices. But over and above all of this, Kyriakos and his family are so friendly and kind that you cannot fail to love this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoBoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at Skala for 2 nights in June 2012 during our 17 days Greek Island Hopping.
The owner met us at the port and drove us up to see the hotel. He was very friendly; happy to help us out with anything and even offered us a free transfer back down to the port when we left and called his friend on Santorini to find a room for us!
The other main benefit of staying at Skala is the FANTASTIC view! From our patio we could see the entire chora. Although this benefit is at a cost - the hotel is at the top of a very steep view so it is not recommendable to stay here if you will struggle with this walk.
Overall we found our room to be very spacious, clean and comfortable. The kitchenette has all that is required for a self-catering holiday, although there is no oven, and the selection of pans and knives is a little lacking! Other facilities include a pool, pool table, breakfast and internet.
Skala is well placed for exploring the chora in an evening, and is only a walk along the coastal path from the beautiful Mylopotas beach. We really enjoyed our time here, and would recommend staying to any holidayers on a budget - it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Great location! All the nightlife and restaurants are in town, and Skala Hotel is a short stroll away. Plus it's only a 10-15 minute walk from Mylopotas Beach. The rooms and clean, and the service is fantastic. The owner is wonderful and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nim8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stayed at Skala during May 2011. I stayed there without making plans for accommodation in advance, and was picked up from the port by the owners of the hotel, Kuriakos and his wife. They were SO friendly, and so accommodating, I felt right at home, and extremely comfortable which is something I didn't anticipate. The staff of the hotel were amazing, and I was just so impressed! For example, I forgot to bring a power adapter, and they let me borrow one!
The hotel room was great, with everything I needed--shower, blow dryer, comfy bed, mini-fridge. I am planning to go back this summer, and if I don't end up renting a place of my own (as I intend to stay for a few months), I will be staying at Skala.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haidagwaiigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very obliging owner, clean rooms, great pool, nice cafe/restaurant. 15-20 minute walk from the bars and restaurants - safer to get a taxi home at night because of narrow roads.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

a group of seven of us travled to Ios during our summer break. The hotel owner was wonderful, accomadating all of us on short notice and helping us to find another place after the first few days as regretably he didnt have space for so many of us all week. He was so obliging that he even let us come up and use the Skala pool when we had moved and we spent many happy evenings at the Skala even after we had moved on.

Regretably, as a few people have mentioned, there is quite a hill to climb to get from the main village to the appartments. it was dubbed by the residents as 'death hill' infact. although it wasnt great to begin with we soon got used to this, and once wwe had a few drinks down us it was barely noticable :) - not a good place to stay if you have any sort of mobility issue though.

The pool was also very nice, clean and tranquil with a beautiful view, and food was served all day which was both affordable and tasty :) speaking of views the view from the appartments was OUTSTANDING. you can see the whole village buzzing below you (even if you did have to walk up a hill to get there) by moonlight, nothing beats it.

The rooms were comfortable and clean and considering the price we paid of 13 euros per night damn good value. bit low on cooking equipment though, we were expecting bowls ect to eat cereal but no. oh well.

I loved the Skala and would reccomend it highly. our experience here was second to none, and we shall be returning next year :)

Room Tip: we were in the appartment right at the end which has (in my opinion) the best view- although slightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I chose this from the internet where the pics, like the glossy brochure of this establishment, paint a very different picture.
The room was dirty - I had to get a broom and sweep out previous occupant's pubic hair from the floor. The toilet didn't flush properly so we had to ask him for a bucket. There were cigarette burns in the shower curtain and the bedspread. The bed was horribly uncomfortable.The furniture was broken and the towel rail had been pulled off the wall. We had to ask for crockery for the kitchen. The decor was tired and outdated.The pool hadn't been cleaned for weeks (see pic) and he wasn't going to bother just for us. Admittedly it was nearly the end of the season, so the owner, a pleasant enough chap, was out to make his last few Euros and didn't care about much else.
This is a shame - if he just put a bit of money into repairs and some new furniture then the place could be a real find. He's let it degenerate into a really shoddy doss house.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank curlydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chora
0.4 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chora
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#13 of 42 in Ios
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ios Resort Hotel
Ios Resort Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chora
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Hotel
Golden Sun Hotel
#19 of 42 in Ios
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skala Hotel

Address: Village Ios, Chora 840 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Chora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chora
Price Range: £20 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Skala Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skala hotel in Ios Village combines both reasonable prices and an excellent location.The hotel is 3 minutes walk from the centre of ios village and night life. Accomodation types include studios-apartments and rooms for 2-3-4 ... Persons.The skala hotel offers for clients of all ages ,friends,couples and families.The view of the town-the port and the sunset is lasting.The friendly atmosphere and the service are fomous and give us compliments in most guide books. We offer to all our clients free transfer from and to the ferry-swimming pool -jacuzzi and pool bar-free wifi-free parking and many other facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Skala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skala Hotel Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing