We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, best host ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Windmills Rooms
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Chora
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, best host ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed 4 nights in July, double bed room. Room was clean and comfortable, bathroom was OK, housekeeping went everyday, air conditioning and TV worked fine, no complains at all about the infrastructure. It is simple though, no fancy furniture or anything.

Pavlos, the owner, was and amazing host, very funny and welcoming. Best host we've ever encountered on our vacations.

Location was very good, in Chora, which is sort of the center of Ios, with markets and restaurants nearby. Nightlife also happened there, with little alleys with lots of different little bars and clubs at walking distance, and the hotel is in a quiet street to have a good sleep. Mylopotas beach, the closest beach and where FarOut party is located, is 15 min walk down the road. Bear in mind that to return from Mylopotas it is a steep hill. So doing it everyday would be very tiring in my opinion. We rented ATVs for about 30 euro a day, and it was the best thing to go not only to Mylopotas but to many other beautiful beaches along the island. Would most definitely recommend renting ATV in Ios, it was lots of fun.

So I think it is good to stay in Chora and not Mylopotas, because at night you have many options for bars and clubs at walking distance. Stay at Mylopotas only if you're really into FarOut, which happens basically at the late afternoon till 10pm.

About Ios, it is a great place but was frustrating to us. We were a group of guys aged 28-30 years old, looking forward to party. However there was just too many young people, from 17 to 21 the majority of them, we didn't like that at all. It is the perfect location if this suits you, many beautiful young women and party all night long, every day during the summer. We still managed to have fun, but I wouldn't go back to Ios.

Windmills is the perfect location if you're looking to a budget hotel in Ios, next to nightlife but calm enough to rest when you wish to.

Pavlos, if you're ever reading this: Brazil loves you! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandzroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Myself and my mate stayed here at the windmills in August 2012. This was an amazing place to stay perfect for what we were looking for. The rooms have what u need. 2 twin beds, clean, room service and ensuite. U get sheets and a pillow. The wifi and a/c very good. The hotel manager Pavlos is a champ, so easy going, honest and gave us great pointers about the island.
The location is only 2 min walk to the main strip of clubs and restaurants which is where u want to be if looking to party. At night the hotel is quiet, far away enough from the noisey clubs. We walked down to the beach every day or u can bus it for 1.60€. Bit of a steep walk but didn't bother us. Definitely stay there again. Cheers. CC/TH

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the windmill rooms for a week in ios. We don't have a bad word to say about it! There's air con, a tv (for those days you're too hungover to even get out of bed) and its right where all the action is in the village. All the bars are a five minute walk away, but no noise travels so you always get a great nights sleep! ButThe best thing about the place is Pavlos. He is always there to help and just to have a chat with. Will be back next summer for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolabuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

The staff was amazing,very friendly and very helpful.
Our room was very clean and enough space for the both of us, we thought it was closer the the beach but it didn't matter because we hired a motorbike anyway so we could see the whole island.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We loved the windmill rooms.. Great location on top of the hill.. Amongst all the locals.. Close walking distance to all bars, ATMs, restaurants... Pavlos is a very helpfull, kind and welcoming man... Have a chat and get to know him and he will let you know about all the best restaurants to visit. 10 out of 10 I defiantly reccomend this place!! : )

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amylindsay226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Windmill rooms; I can honestly say that staying here made our trip in Ios.

Firstly I'll deal with the basics: The rooms and bathrooms are very clean, they are cleaned daily. You are provided with towels, a fridge and air conditioning. The location is picturesque and only a short walk to the beach and the town centre where all the night clubs are. There is also a corner store and fruit shop close by. There is a nice view of the windmills from the windows and the main entrance. The restaurant called "The Mills" is just amazing; one of the best meals i have ever had and very reasonably priced too.

The best thing about staying in this Hotel was it's lovely and charming owner Pavlos. He made our stay there entertaining and something to remember. He was very kind, full of helpful information and a good laugh. He was always around which made us feel very safe about our belongings and always was willing to have a chat, or share a drink. He treated us like old friends and gave us a sense of the lovely community that reside on the island. Thanks for an amazing experience Pavlos, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Basic hotel in the upper part of ios. Rooms are 2 person and are cool, comfortable and well serviced. short walk into town, where the shops/restaurants/bars are. About 15-20 min to the main beach. The walk there and back was fine for us, but it is a step up/down hill.

Prices are very reasonable and the rooms are cleaned everyday. The owner, Pavlos is a great guy, made the stay for us. He will go out of his way to help you out, take you to the restaurants or even just sit and have tea with you.

The hotel worked well for a group of friends, families may want larger rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSHstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chora
1.0 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 44 in Ios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Helena
Hotel Helena
#21 of 44 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#15 of 44 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Liostasi Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windmills Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmills Rooms

Property: The Windmills Rooms
Address: Chora, Chora 840 01, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Chora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Chora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Windmills Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the windmills holiday accommodation with open arms. We run a traditionally Greek guesthouse which gives you the best of both worlds, a great nights sleep and a stones throw from all the local bars, clubs and restaurants. A 15 min walk to the beach and a 5 mins walk from the most spectacular sun set view on the island Located among the islands windmills themselves, not only are we a short walk to the main village 'chora', we are also situated in a quiet and unique location surrounded by the islands historic traditional mills that were once used to grind grains into powder. After having being re-developed in 2006 we now have added a modern twist to our Island themed rooms. Our rooms are also now fully air-conditioned to keep you cool and comfortable during your stay with us. We have also installed new flat screen tv's for your leisure and fridges for keeping your drinks cool and to make things as easy for you as possible we have an electronic key card to activate and deactivate all electrical appliances in your room. We do our best to offer you quality rooms for great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Windmills Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windmills Rooms Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing