We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Ios!!”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chora
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Ios!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Hands down best place to stay in Ios, value for money, great location, amazing pool and views. Rooms are really nice and cleaned every day. The staff make the place especially Niko the owner so helpful and accommodating!! Will def be back!!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    20
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
22
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Amazing, friendly and helpful staff - Nick especially picked us up from the port, showed us around town, gave us our bearings and offered us help. My bag was broken when we arrived and he offered to help, and arranged for another staff member to help us fix it.

PRIME LOCATION! perfect for easy access to town and beach on foot and amazing bar and pool on site which has the most spectacular views!!

My partner and I had the most enjoyable stay here, and truly say it enhanced our holiday experience in Ios - we plan to come back and stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have been to Ios three times and all three times I have stayed at Hermes. The great thing about this hotel is that it has an amazing view of the island. The pool/bar is great to chill if you do not want to head to the beach (you find that during the day the pool has great atmosphere) the rooms are very clean and my experience with the Staff / owner have always been great. They are helpful and will always make sure that you have a pleasant stay. Nick 'the Greek' the owner as he is known is an absolute character, you will either love him or loath him. He is known by some as 'the King of Ios' as it is very rare that no one in the island know's who he is! .. Overall this Is a great hotel. However keep in mind that Ios is the 'poor mans' Mykonos, it's very cheap and if you are on a budget and between the ages of 18-24 who loves hanging around with Aussies, Irish and English then this is the place for you..Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveLuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Myself and 4 other girls stayed at Hermes hotel iOS for 4 nights just recently and they were fantastic! The owner even picked us up from the port and dropped us back there. He gave us heaps of info on the drive about where to go etc. really cool young place, amazing pool, sick bar/food set up next to the pool, good tanning beds, hammocks. Amazing view of the ocean! Have been and would continue to recommend this place to everyone! The vibe was so cool met some amazing people!
Only downer was the wifi wasnt great but really good up at reception. Oh and the waffles up stairs are AMAZING! I asked for mine with banana and it was insanely good!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melwilliams1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Wonderful location. Wonderful staff (Niko the owner has a larger than life personality). Wonderful atmosphere.
There's a great pool bar which does a wonderful espresso martini and many other cocktails, as well as having two beers for two euros fifty after 6pm. The pool is perfect and overlooking the main beach. Its a short walk to both the town, where all the clubs and pubs are, and an equally short walk to the gorgeous beach.
We were lucky in that we arrived on a Thursday, we were able to mingle at the Hermes hotel BBQ before heading out for the night of our lives. We made lots of friends through the hotel which made the overall experience great.
I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to both relax and hangout with a quiet drink and a book by the pool, and who wants to let their hair out and party all night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed in Hermes for 6 nights in total and really enjoyed it. My sister had tipped them off that my boyfriend & I had gotten engaged & when we arrived they had a bottle of bubbly in our room, 2 wine glasses filled with chocolates, a lovely note wishing us well for the future, a heart made out of chocolates on one of the lockers & a bunch of flowers in water on the other locker. It was so sweet, they even apologised that the bubbly was not cold. We were a group of 4 (two couples) and had 2 lovely rooms with fantastic views. The resort itself is brilliant, nice sun loungers, great pool bar, great prices, hammocks - the works! Ruth is a great character and gave us a good few laughs during the day!! Ruths salad is yum! The location is about a 7minute walk in to the town one way, and going the other way you can get down to the beach in about 5-10minutes. Its perfect! Pool is really nice too. Only negative I have to say is that one evening when one of our party sat in to a canvas chair on our balcony the lining on it started to shred away and tear. This was down to wear & tear or maybe previous tenants damaged it and as we used it, it broke. They wanted us to pay the €20 to replace it, but as we knew we did not break this intentionally or by accident (drunkenly) we did not pay the money. We should have notified them immediately when it happened - that was our mistake. The confrontation was not nice, but they did not force us to pay so that was ok. Overall, I would come back & stay in Hermes and would definitely recommend. Be careful what rooms you get as we decided to stay one more night, had to move rooms and it was definitely not as nice. They do a BBQ every Thursday that unfortunately we missed but it sounded like it was going to be a good one!

Room Tip: Rooms 17 & 18 - stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leefent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Had a great time staying here traveling with 3 girlfriends - we all squeezed into one room making it great value for money. It was the perfect distance from town so walking there took no more than 5 minutes, and having its own lovely pool and stunning views meant we didn't even go to the beach during the day. The pool bar had great value drinks and food to so it really was our hideaway for a few days. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chora
0.4 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#7 of 10 in Milopotas
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ios Resort Hotel
Ios Resort Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chora
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Hotel
Golden Sun Hotel
#20 of 42 in Ios
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: Chora, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Chora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hermes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hora, perched on the slope of the hill that overlooks the port, is one of the most beautiful villages in the Cyclades, with its whitewashed houses and steep narrow lanes, its small squares and churches. The famous beach of Mylopotas, the largest in Ios with more than one kilometre is 2 km away from Hermes Hotel. In the evening, if you are in for intense moments, visit Hora, and find out for yourself what nightlife in Ios means... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing