We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service / Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kalafatis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Retuned from a lovely 5 day stay at La Residence, thanks to trip adviser we booked this hotel and were not disappointed. Initially you have to realise that this won’t be a walk in the evenings into the main resort Mykonos Town type of place. We hired a small jeep for three days organised at a good rate by the owner of the hotel, it was so hassle free and gave us the freedom we wanted to explore the beaches. You can take the buse 4 time a day into Mykonos but their only 30 cabs on the island so you will have to wait for some time if you dont get the last one. The cab is 20 Euros so not too bad given the distance. The good thing about not being in the town is the quietness and tranquil atmosphere which after working in London is what we wanted. This hotel is definitely a boutique hotel and not your mass 5 star you get in the Caribbean. The rooms were lovely and views perfect. Breakfast was good, perhaps a few variations are needed like potatoes or sausage. You can order omelettes which were fresh and nice. I agree with the drinks price comments, cocktails are about right but beer is very cheap so should be priced accordingly. Perhaps a cocktail hour around sunset may encourage some more sales, but this hotel isn’t really about that.

We dived from the water sports centre on the beach to the Anne 2 which was very professional and good if you have not wreck dived. The restaurants in the bay with the fish tavern signs are really rustic and the first one who is run by the only lady fisherman was great value and a great find. In June it was very quiet but she says its busier in July don’t let that put you off as the food is very good. You can walk there from the hotel and don’t let the gravel path put you off either. The other restaurant we had drinks at which were really reasonable and the view is fantastic, we didn’t eat there but got chatting to a couple who were and they said it was very good. Mykonos isn’t cheap but providing you are sensible you can have fun, especially with the car. I’ve attached some notes my Greek friend sent me before we went as he is from here.

1. A very nice beach you can go is 'Kalo Livadi'. Go to the sunbeds of 'Sol y Mar' where you can relax, listen a bit of music, have drinks or a coffee (if you like coffee try 'Fredo Cappuccino') and then you can grab something to eat by the beach or you can go to the restaurant 'Sol y Mar'. If you go to the restaurant make sure to try the griller/fried feta with sesame, grapes and honey.

2. Ask the reception if it will be windy in "Panormos" (the beach is on the northern side of the island and it is better for you to go if it is not too windy). This is a very nice beach without sunbeds but with a nice bar/restaurant.

3. One of the very best (my favourite) beaches is "Psarrou" and precisely a place called "Nammos". Simply amazing. The food in the restaurant is superb.

4. If you wanna party in the morning you can go to "Super Paradise". It is very touristic and the road is not that great but still you can have fun. The crowd is international.

5. Other beaches that you can see are "Lia", "Elia" and "Ai Yiannis".

6. If you wanna see something historical you can take the boat from the port and go to Delos island (it is one of the most important mythological, historical and archaeological sites in Greece).

Night:

Dinner
(Hint: it is more common to share a starter)
- Sea Satin (very very nice). Quality but simple greek food by the sea. A must. My suggestion is to go there on Friday or Saturday. you may see people dancing on the tables!!!
- Kallita restaurant (nice atmosphere, not very expensive)
- Nobu Matsuhisa (if you are feeling like having sushi)
- Interni (superb, posh)
- Nautilos

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
There are newer reviews for La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

On arriving at the hotel we were first struck by the beauty of the location, set back from the picturesque Kalafatis bay, the hotel looks just like it does in the brochures ,stunning. Our room was gorgeous with everything you would expect from a 5 star property. Our welcome by the manager Valia was warm and set the tone of our week there. Breakfast was the yummiest buffet we have experienced plus we had eggs cooked to order. The evening meals were also outstanding in quality and presentation and were served at just the right pace so they were not hurried, but we were never kept waiting. All the staff were lovely and eager to please, nothing was too much trouble. They were also never intrusive. Sunbathing by the scrupulously clean pools were were lulled by the sounds of waves. We had the most perfect romantic week, which is saying something for a couple married for 26 years. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We have stayed at some lovely places over the years but this was the best. We will definitely be back next year if we can.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and have a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have just returned from a week at La Residence: unquestionably the best hotel I have ever found in Greece in over a dozen visits.
I agree with all the positive comments in the current reviews, but none gives credit to Valia's philosophy that "you are not clients, but guests". Nothing was too much trouble for her people. If we wanted a different menu, the chef discussed with us and provided one to our satisfaction. When our room fridge was noisy, they changed it for another one. Drinks expensive......well, yes, but we didn't find them much cheaper anywhere else. And what about the endless free drinks provided with meals and round the pool? Has nobody read what the Euro did to the Greek economy? When we wanted a car, Valia had one delivered: a seriously nice one at what I thought was a very low price. When I couldn't work out how to start it, she came out and showed me..... So you wanted a full length mirror and a teamaker in the room. Did you try asking for them?
Perfect location. Perfect hospitality ethos.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the facilities you want, as rooms range from the standard double room layout t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We have just returned from a week at La Residence-the hotel was excellent in so many ways-and even better than we anticipated from the web site. We hadn't visited Greece for many years-despite the then very basic "authentic" accommodation, not very good food and terrible wine-we still loved the country and looked forward to returning. It was well worth it!
La Residence was, undoubtedly, the cleanest ,most friendly hotel we have ever stayed in, not just the rooms but the pool ,lounge etc were all perfect. The staff,led by Valia were all extremely helpful and polite -we could not have asked for more!The beach,right in front of the hotel was excellent-on our last day we were the only ones on the sand-and in the sea which was relatively(!) warm. What more could you ask for!
We were surprised at some of the comments from other guests about food. Half board was included in our package. On our first night it was "Greek night"-so much food and beautifully prepared. we agree that the chef worked on a 3-4 day rota of meals but he did tell us we could ask for any other option. He told us other dishes available and he prepared them personally-no problem. They were all delicious-especially the sea bass.
We do agree about the cost of drinks-and this possibly is something the hotel has to address. Beer in Greece is cheap and should not be over priced in hotels.We confined ourselves to one glass of wine each at night-sometimes quite difficult!-but I think this cost prevented more guests from eating in.
Finally-solve all travel problems by hiring a car. We did this, with help from booking company,from the airport. They then removed cost of transfer to and from hotel. Hire is very inexpensive. The roads are not perfect(!)-more potholes than England-but parking is free in Mykonos and you can travel the island.
A big thank you to all the staff for a lovel holiday-we loved the hotel, and the island-and will certainly come again!
Travel tip!-visit Delos on ferry-even if you're not keen on ruins-it's a good boat trip and very interesting.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandparentsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

having stayed at this hotel in May for 4 days (second hotel on this trip and second time on the island) its in a lovely position and the sea views rooms were excellent we were greeted with a glass of bubbly and canapés by the manager and were made to feel very welcome once we were shown our room as part of the the normal welcome we were told that the safe is in the wardrobe we opened the door of the wardrobe to discover no safe! the manager arranged for one to be delivered to us under the arm of the maintenance guy to be put in the wardrobe a bit pointless having a safe in the room that's not fixed to something and you can walk away with!!

we were on half board (offered this as part of a deal) something we never do and this hotel reminded us why we don't do it......... the food is not very adventurous certainly NOT as the photos give the impression on the web site menu only changes every 3/4 days with only a choice of 4 mains we gave up after two all the staff were nice but clearly had not been tranied in how to serve ceirtantly not to the 5* rate the hotel would like to be ........luckily the breakfast made up for this disappointment a great range of choice and a cooked breakfast if you want (you have to ask and when we arrived were not told it was available we saw fellow guests having one and asked them... there is no menu for a cooked breakfast) pack your mosquito spray if your eating at night here its a problem everywhere of course but when the hotel are lighting there own anti mosquito smoke devices your going to be on the menu for the local wildlife

Mykonos is a very expensive island but the alcohol prices at the hotel are outrageous 6 euro for a small beer 15 for a cocktail 30+ for a bottle of wine. (Greek wine and not that great)

this is a really nice hotel in a quite position so stay here on a B&B basis and get a car!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micknat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just returned from a two center holiday to Mykonos with my fiance . This hotel was our second stay in the quieter resort of Kalafatis. I chose this hotel to host a special occasion for me and my partner due to its grading and general standing, suitability.
The hotel was superb and certainly fulfilled if not exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the honeymoon suite for 4 nights which was nicely decorated with a spa pool and spacious furnished verandha.
The manager Valia and her team of staff took care of any requirements we had and certainly made our stay something we will always remember . The hotel was very clean, beautifully appointed and resembled nice Mykonian architecture. These postive factors being just a few and with no apparent fuss to keep it this way . Staffing systems appear to be well structured as the hotel always remains a very calm relaxing place to be .
The reception areas are very comfortable and we were welcomed on arrival with champagne and canapes .
The chef was very good and provided a personal service to me and my partner on our first night, were we sat and had a brief meeting with him to discuss our particular meal requirements . A nice touch if you are unsure of some things on the a la carte menu .He explained and gave recommendation. The first night I arranged to have dinner for me and my partner on the suites varandha and requested a table set up with candles e.t.c, as it was a special occasion . All the staff were waiting hand and foot but once again well organised, professional and with no fuss. On subsequent nights we sat by the illumintated pools to have dinner with relaxing music being played .
I am sure we will return one day as we both really enjoyed our stay here . As the hotel is relatively small one can expect a more personal and ambient service here . It was the perfect setting and experience for our engagement .

Room Tip: Highly recommend honeymoon suite or suite next to . Both are situated on the top floor centre of the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have just arrived back from this beautiful hotel, very elegant and stylish in decor, the location is peaceful with a lovely clean beach just across the road. Mykonos town is 20 minutes on the local bus, although there were only 3 per day I understand this increases from 1st week of June which would enable you to spend the evening in town, a taxi costs approx 15 euros. The rooms were spotless with towels changed twice a day and bed linen daily. The breakfast is second to none with home made breads, pastries, and preserves, you can also have a cooked breakfast if required. The standard of dining is very high, would of been nice to have some local dishes and a more frequent change of menu.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sorrento56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalafatis
1.8 mi away
Myconian Villa Collection
4.4 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
4.7 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,291 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#3 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
324 reviews
4.6 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites

Address: Kalafatis Bay, Kalafatis 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Kalafatis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kalafatis
Price Range: £161 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of graceful living, La Residence Suite Hotel captures the glamour and sentiment of Colonial chic in lavish surroundings, 24 elegant suites, spa, five pools and five plus star luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Mykonos Hotel Kalafatis
La Residence Mykonos Hotel Suites Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing