We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Tana dell'Istrice
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We absolutely loved this small hotel which is in an old town off the beaten path about an hour and a half from Rome and 20min(?) from Orvieto. The rooms are large and nicely appointed and the grand old building is lovely. But the best part of it all was that we were looked after by such gracious hosts, Sergio and his wife Alessandra, and were lucky enough to have a tour of the old wine cellar (which runs 35m underground and houses 30,000 bottles of champagne) - ask Sergio for a tour before dinner - and on top of this the food was some of the best we'd had in Italy AND the wines are all fantastic (Sergio has Tre Bicchieri for several of his wines). The town is well located about a 15 min drive from the beautiful "dying town" Civita di Bagnoregio, and the surrounding countryside is very pretty. Will return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingKiwi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

Lovely hotel with a warm and inviting staff. Tha food is to die for and the wine is incredible. The owners are always on site and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The location is perfect for day trips and the hotel owners have connections to great guides in the area that will make your trip unforgettable.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajkavanaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Come to this lovely town and be greeted at this villa by Allesandra, your charming hostess. Enjoy wine dinners, as award winning winemaster Sergio pores his own old world crafted wines, cellared on the premises. This is total comfort and serenity. The wines are fantastic. We will surely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobcatMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Good friends have raved about this perfect small hotel that is ideally located an hour north of Rome. Everything we had heard about La Tana exceeded our expectations. Sergio and Alessandra welcomed and treated us like family. The rooms are large and very comfortable. And don't even think about asking for a local restaurant. The food is superb and Sergio is generous and enthusiastic in pairing each course with his award winning wines. There aren't enough "stars" on this review to adequately rate the food and personal service. Alessandra will arrange for personal guides in Rome or other towns throughout the area. Day trips to towns in Tuscany and Umbria are easy to plan and make, with the evening meal a treat to end a wonderful day. We started saving for another visit to this wonderful hotel the moment we returned home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NotRealHoosiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Our stay here was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. This classy B&B hotel is located in the peaceful old central square of the beautiful, tranquil little hilltop town of Civitella d'Agliano near Orvieto. It's perfectly located for visiting sights in Tuscany and Umbria and enjoying many outdoor activities. Our suite was lovely and spacious. We slept and ate like kings and were treated like family. Our hosts, Alexandra and Sergio, were very warm and gracious, making us feel right at home in their elegantly restored sixteenth century manor house of medieval origin. The breakfasts were excellent and the dinner was a gourmet's delight. The magnificent feast included several tastings of Sergio's award wining wines, perfectly paired with each course. We highly recommend this magnificent place to everyone who enjoys friendly people, beautiful surroundings and great food and wine! We didn't want to leave and we're looking forward to going back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelingwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

We first visited La Tana over 6 years ago and fell in love with the place.

We have never stayed anywhere so welcoming and the food and hospitality is unrivalled in our experience.

We cannot recommend La Tana highly enough and Sergio and Alessandra are the best hosts you could possibly wish for !

Unspoilt, ideally placed to visit so many places and the best food and wine you could wish for !

http://www.weekinitaly.com/

www.motturasergio.it

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derbyfamilyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Italy. This was our favorite place and it is because of Sergio and Alessandra (the owners) that you feel like you're staying with family.

We were on a tour with six other people and this was our last stop before our tour of Rome. I was so sad to leave after three days I was thinking of asking for a job so I could remain!

You will experience the best food, wine and accomodations at La Tanna! If you really want to experience Italy this must be a stop you make!

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IdahoKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitella d'Agliano hotels
1.3 mi away
B&B La Filagna Country House
B&B La Filagna Country House
#2 of 7 in Civitella d'Agliano
92 reviews
4.8 mi away
B&B Il Castagneto
B&B Il Castagneto
#1 of 1 in San Michele in Teverina
5 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Terrazza
La Terrazza
#4 of 7 in Civitella d'Agliano
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Torriti
Villa Torriti
#3 of 5 in Civitella d'Agliano
32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Castello Santa Maria
Castello Santa Maria
#4 of 5 in Civitella d'Agliano
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Fringuelletto
Il Fringuelletto
#6 of 7 in Civitella d'Agliano
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tana dell'Istrice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tana dell'Istrice

Address: Piazza Unita' d'Italia 12, 01020, Civitella d'Agliano, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Civitella d'Agliano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Civitella d'Agliano
Price Range: £114 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Tana dell'Istrice 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your La Tana dell'Istrice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tana Dell'Istrice Civitella D'Agliano, Italy - Lazio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing