We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,298)
Filter reviews
5,298 results
Traveller rating
1,797
1,813
834
481
373
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,797
1,813
834
481
373
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand fleasmain poola la carte restaurantsbahia principe san juananimation teammain buffetjeep safarirecommend this resortseafoodfood was greatsnack barbuffet restaurantmini golfbad reviewschickenparadise islandgreat resort
Filter
Updating list...
3,630 - 3,635 of 5,298 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2006

had a fantastic time at the bahia principe. highly recommend it.

Food was excellent. good variety. restraunts were great, make sure you book early.

weather was beautiful. Staff can't do enough for you.

If you want to get drunk go to the local shops and buy a bottle of their rum its called 151, as the alcohol is so watered down its nearly impossible to get drunk.

rooms were more 3 star that 4, but they were clean and the fridge was stocked up every day.

Highly recommend going to ocean world, swimming with the dolphins was fantastic.

the nightclub was ok, but there were to many canadian kids in there getting drunk, and they were pretty annoying when they were sober.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Jenbo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2006

A large resort, nicely spread out over a large terrain. Beautiful gardens everywhere, the most friendly staff you'll ever find and everything is kept clean the whole day.
The food is abundant and everyone should be able to find something of their taste. It is not haute cuisine but good enough. The wine however doesn't deserve to bear the name.
The beach is beautiful. It's long and full with palm trees to give you shade and sun beds. Everything well maintained.
We had a great beach holiday and I can recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: January 2006
17  Thank FrequentFlier25019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2006

My boyfriend book us to go here and we loved it! Got to the hotel quite late but we managed to get some food in the buffet restaurant before it closed the food we had was delicious. This hotel is massive.. Eventually got to our room about 11pm we were in D9, our room was very clean and mini bar well stocked with water, beer and pop! Our room was cleaned everyday, mini bar was always stocked up.

We spent most of our week down the beach make sure you get up before 9am get towels and get a sunbed because by about 10am you be lucky to see any beds free! Only once we stayed by the pool it was always busy.

The food was really nice we loved the Seafood restaurant! The salmon was delicious.. We also tried the Mexican and the Mediteranean your only allowed 3 visits a week so we didnt get a chance to try the Italian. The drinks were fine we got drunk on the Pina Coloda's and Banana Mama's, the fruit punch is really nice with a shot of vodka!

We were meant to go on a trip to another island it looked like paradise in the brochure its about 2 hours away from San Juan we got picked up at 6.30am we drove for about 35 minutes then they had a call cancelling the trip because of the weather! We were gutted we really wanted to see the little island and go snorkelling! We then booked to go to Ocean World nice day out the sealion show was great!! We went snorkelling in this massive fish tank that they had there free of charge.

Saw the entertainment most nights it was dancers doing different themes! They even had my boyfriend up on the stage dancing one night after the show!! After 11pm we would go up to the strip when you will find bars, casino and a disco well worth a look and to have a few drinks!

We were after a nice relaxing holiday and we got that! We had 4 good days of sun even when it rained for a bit the sun was back out.. We lost 1 day where it rained all day it didnt bother us, as we just chilled out in our room watching films in bed..

I would recommend the Bahia Principe to anyone of all ages.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank JemmaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2006

This place is amazing! My boyfriend and I (both 22)from Essex stayed at this hotel for a week from 9th January until 16th January 2006 and I can honestly say it is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. There is so much to say so I'll break my review down into sections:

Check in: The staff are so helpful and friendly. When you arrive at the hotel and check in they bring you a cocktail drink over to have whilst you are checking in. You do not need to take your luggage inside to check in, there are porters outside who look after your cases until you have checked in. Once checked in, the porters then carry your cases on to a golf cart thing and drive you and your cases to your room. Check in was quick and simple. They give you towel cards as well so you can get a clean beach towel each day.

Rooms: Our room was nice and clean. The air conditioning is very good, and the mini bar is stocked up daily with 1 bottle of coke, i bottle of sprite, 2 beers and a bottle of water. There is also an ice cube tray so that you can make your own ice cubes. In the bathroom there are small bottles of shampoo and bath gel. Our maid was lovely - she fanned the toilet paper out and put flowers over the towels. We tipped her 2 dollars each day and she gave us extra bottles of drink in the mini bar and also left us some boiled sweets. the room was very spacious and there is plenty of room for your things.

Swimming pools: The pools were amazing. The resort has three pools in total. The main pool has a swim up bar and is where most of the action takes place. You need to reserve your sun beds by about 9ish as they get filled up very quickly. The second pool is a small pool and had basketball nets in to play with. It is also where they give the scuba diving lessons. This pool is quite sheltered in the shade as it had palm trees all round it which is good. The third pool is for guests staying in the Diamond section of the resort.

cleanliness: Always a maid in the public toilets cleaning and stocking up. Always people cleaning all over the complex, fantastic.

Bars: There are 9 bars in the resort, all of them with very quick service. They all serve cocktails all day long and also create your own drinks if you ask them. For example, I fancied a drink with coconut, and although there wasn't one on the cocktail menu i asked the barman and he created one for me. It was fab! The main bar by the pool has its own drinks machine on the side with coke, sprite and fanta so you can pour these yourself without having to ask. These soft drinks are proper branded coca cola drinks. There is no limit as to how many drinks you can order unlike some all inclusives i've been to.

Food: where do i start? The food is amazing!. I'll break this down into sections too:

La Brisa: This is the main buffet restaurant. For breakfast it has every type of food you can wish for - sauasage, bacon, scrambled egg, beans, potatoes, plus a show cooking section where you can order omelettes and fried eggs. They have big pankakes, small panackes, toast, chocolate bananas, croissants, french toast (coated in syrup-amazing). They also have every type of fruit possible, plus about 20 types of bread and loads of cakes such as chocolate ring donuts, yum yums, jam donuts, eccles cakes, muffins. There is also a lady who makes you fresh milkshakes. It is fantastic! Lunch and dinner in this restaurant are very similar - there is a 'kids corner' which has hot dogs sausages (taste like savaloys), burger and chips every day. Some days in the kids section there would also be pizza, banana fritters and chicken pieces (like nuggets). For the adults the food as also superb. There was there lots of show cooking every lunch and dinner. One was always a spaghetti/pasta cook (tell him what you want and he will cook for you...you could have pasta with ham and cheese for eg), and the others would vary (sometimes pork chops, steak etc but usually always meat). There was paella, egg fried rice, chicken pieces, potatoes, loads of vegetables etc. so much variety. There is loads of salad and fruit and the deserts are fab - ice cream, cakes, jelly, strawberries coated in white/dark chocolate. There is also show cooking with the deserts, some times pancakes and syrup, other times mousse. My boyfriend is vegetarian so we were worried about the food but even he found things to eat. The only thing i'd say is that sometimes the food was not piping hot but most of it was fine. As for drinks, the waiters constantly come roung offering water and hot drinks. Although there is a drinks machine to get drinks yourself, the staff are happy to get them for you.

Snack bar on the beach: open from 10am-11pm. Has pizza, chips, roast chicken, hot dogs and burgers all day. also has nachos from 11am-3pm. Quick service.

Italian a la carte - Superb. Offers a variety of pastas and pizza. Also has a lovely salad bar. Sevice is amazing - the waiter brought me another coke when mine was running low - i didn't even need to ask. this restaurant is also open for buffet lunch and the pizza is superb.

Mexican a la carte - also a three course meal. again, food was amazing - we had chicken tortillas and they were fab, service also very quick. you don't need to pay anything but we tipped the waiters in the a la carte because they really do go out of their way for you. they even give you a drink as you walk through the door.

We didn't try the med or the fish restaurant but from what we heard they were great too. My boyfriend and I didn't ever get upset stomachs or anything.

Beach: Not pure white sand but is still lovely. There are plently of sunbeds here and you can be sure to get a bed at any time of the day. You have to try the pedaloes-you get an hour for free and they are a lot of fun. Beware of the sand flees. They don't come out til the evenig but i got 48 bites in three days even though i was covered in repellent so avoid the beach at night. however, my boyfriend didn't get any so maybe it was just my skin... Every day a man walks up and down with a parrot one day and a monkey the next and you can have your photo taken with them...good fun.

Evening Entertainment: entertainment seats fill up very quickly. kids disco usually starts about half 8 with a kids game on the stage at half 9. The adults then have a game on stage before the show starts at 10 which we found a little late. Most of the shows focused on dancing but the quality of them was very good and the team worked very hard. During the entertainment the waiters come round and take orders for drinks then bring them to the table. After the show, people move to the strip where there is a nightclub, a bar, karaoke, snack bar and casino. Here you must pay for drinks- they ask for your room number and you have to pay when you check out. if you don't fancy the entertainment there is a nice bar playing live jazz music and plently of comfy sofas near reception if you just want to chill out for a bit.

Day Entertainment: Always music and games and stuff in the pool - ie. canoe races, aerobics, spanish lessons, etc. also board games available, just ask at the bar.

Other facitilies: Massages available for 60USD on the beach. Try the spa - you can use the jacuzzis and sauna for 7USD for half hour and they're lovely. There are also many treatments such as facials etc that you can pay extra for. The shop in the hotel is very expensive - it cost us 9usd for a tube of pringles and a lighter! daylight robbery! Try the huts at the end of the beach but beware you need to be good and bartaring and firm at saying no. As soon as we walked in they shoved loads of jewellery on us and then followed us back along the beach still trying to sell stuff! oh, and the phones in the room are very expensive. we rang home 4 times for about 5 mins each time and it cost 40USD so be careful.

Other points, make sure you have a few dollars in change for the airport. There are lots of men in green shirts and whilst they look like they work for the airport they dont. They carry your cases for you and then demand a tip, it is very difficult to get out of. When we arrived at the airport for departure, two men were pushing each other by our coach trying to get our cases. They are ready waiting for you and they grabbed our cases before we even got off the coach. i told them not to but they don't listen and carried our cases then demanded a tip. so make sure you keep a dollar or so.

Oh and last but not least, the weather. We only had 1 day of rain. Though it partly cloudy a couple of days it was still so hot and you still get a tan even when the sun is in because its so hot!

sorry this has been so long, there is just so much to say! Any questions just email me at sarsearle@aol.com. I would really recommend this hotel so have a great time!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
57  Thank UnitedKingdomSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2006

Visited the resort on Jan 1st for two weeks with my husband and son (4).
We flew Star class premier with First Choice from Gatwick and it was fantastic.

After an hours bus journey (from hell) we arrived at the resort and were pleased with the first appearance of the reception and pool area.
Checked in really quickly and made our way to our room.

I was dissapointed with the standard of the room, really basic and full of bugs in the bathroom and the wardrobes. Our bed was 2 singles pushed together with seperate bed linen so I'm glad there were good films on TV!!

The choice of food is fantastic, I am fussy and still ate loads. We ate breakfast in the Italian and got to know the waiter so he looked after us well.

The pools are very clean and attractive but we got annoyed that people would reserve the sunloungers for the whole day, and not even use them much. In two weeks we never got chance to bathe by the pool, I would love to have the guts to take peoples towels away, not only would they lose their chair, they would also have to pay 15 dollars for the loss of a towel!!

The best part of the holiday was the night time entertainment. Our son Oliver(who was one of the few boys who had manners) joined in the Mini disco at 8.30 every night. The dance routine was repetative but I suppose thats how the children learn the moves!
After the disco there is a competition for the kids to win a prize, then at about 9.30 the main show begins. It usually is a dance show and then the entertainment team join them for some really funny games or sketches. I know people have said they were cheesy but as we were in the front seats every night and got to know all the staff (Robinson-you are the best!)it seemed like we were more a part of the show rather than watching it from a distance whilst chatting to your friends.
Everyone really laughed and joined in.

The staff were excellent, the entertainment team seem to work about 20 hours a day! One minute they were doing Spanish lessons, then aerobics, then games etc etc and finally the show at night on stage then on to the street for another show-phew!
Everyone of them is brilliant - Robinson, Ramon, Chow chow mickey mouse (you'll get to know who he is)and all the rest (didn't get all their names- I was to busy checking out their physiques than their name badges!)

The beach was nice, we preffered the area to the left (opposite of campo tours) it was quieter.
Amazingly we did not get bitten and only saw one person with bites. We used repellent and it obviously worked!

Took a trip with Campo tours to Bacardi island, apart from being hassled by locals to buy jewellery, shells etc it was lovely. Wasn't too sure about the food so didn't eat much.

Would recommend this holiday to all.

More info: justinelouisegill@hotmail.com

23  Thank SpainJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews