We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst breakfast EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Dei Mai Intees
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Azzate
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst breakfast EVER”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Despite mixed reviews on this site we thought we would take a risk and book a night here en route from Lake Como to Lake Maggiore as the hotel website made it look promising. First impressions of the building were good but unfortunately it all went rapidly downhill from there. We received a very lukewarm welcome from reception which consisted of ushering us to our room as quickly as possible without any attempt at conversation.

We had read about the smelly dog and indeed can confirm that he is still in residence and wandering about freely with the cat.

The hotel is reasonably clean but dark and dingy. With all this in mind we decided not to risk dinner at the hotel and instead chose to venture into Azzate where we found the only jewel of our stay - Hosteria da Bruno - delicious authentic food at a reasonable price with excellent service - highly recommended!

The worst however awaited us in the morning - breakfast. No choice at all. The waitress simply arrived with a small plate of cold toasted slices of the previous night`s stale, hard leftover baguette with jam and butter. Ten minutes later a few small biscuits (also stale) arrived. Clearly the hotel`s strategy is to spend next to no money on breakfast for their guests. We were not impressed!

All things considered, our overall advice would be to give this hotel a miss.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AJCJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    20
    5
    4
    11
See reviews for
9
49
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2011

discovered this hotel by chance. Wanted to be near the lake Maggiore. Discovered a charming and cozy hotel with excellent cuisine, frescoes, and extremely comfortable rooms. Even free wifi. Just a short distance from Lake Como

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vvalevassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We chose this hotel for its relative proximity to Malpensa Airport, as it is under 30 minutes drive if you don't get lost. The hotel is built into the shell of a very old building, the original home in the town of Azzate. Nobody knows the year it was built, but the present family has lived there for five generations. Modern windows fill the old arches and keep out the heat or chill depending on the season. There is a large gravel area inside the old walls around the property for parking (free), and a patio out back for use in the summer. The village outside these walls is inviting for strolling around the Medieval town. Or you can walk down toward the lake past fields and farms.
The original rooms had very high ceilings, and the current owners have made split level rooms to use this height to good advantage. You get a living room below, a very clean and modern bathroom at the mezzanine, and the bedroom is the loft. The mattresses are firm and bed very comfortable. The stairs connecting the levels have handrails but an unsteady walker might have to take it slow and hold on. There is an elevator between floors.
The cooking is excellent, you will love the dinner offerings, served by the gracious host, and the breakfast is served by a cheerful waitress as well. To address an unjust gripe in another posting, yes the family has two sweet dogs ( I wouldn't call them a pack) that you might encounter. Americans are often surprised to find dogs in places in Europe where they might not be seen at home, so this is hardly unusual. I think it adds to the feeling that you are guests of the owner.
The hotel is listed in several guidebooks as charming, unique, all of which are quite true. Some of those books have mostly five star type properties. Locanda Dei Mai Intees is a four star hotel, not five star. With that expectation in mind, you will be entirely satisfied, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Our experience with La Locanda dei Mai Intees on two different occasions was very positive and filled with the graciousness we have come to expect on our annual visits to Italy, and we want to offer a counter balance to some negative reviews here. (We always discount the worst reviews, since some people travel expecting others to always accommodate their needs, no matter how unreasonable.) On our first visit we checked in, then drove over to Lago Maggiore, expecting in vain to find outdoor dining on the lake. The September evening was simply too cool. We arrived back quite late and very hungry at Mai Intees. A few guests were still lingering in the lovely frescoed dining room, enjoying wine or coffee after their meals. Yet even though unexpected and late, we were seated near the roaring fire, and the kitchen staff , in the process of shutting down the dinner service, gave us a warm welcome. We are ovo-lacto vegetarians, and they prepared delicious spinach crespelle for us. And no one tried to hurry our meal. On both occasions our rooms were charming, clean, and most enjoyable. We prefer smaller inns where the rooms are romantic and cozy, with a true sense of history, rather than expansive but lacking in warmth, and these are the perfect fit. The inn exudes character and history, the food is delicious, and the manager and staff offer graciousness. (We enjoyed the inn's pets, as well.) We hope many will give this fine inn a try. You won't be disappointed; we shall certainly return for another visit when we can.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalophileCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2008

We wanted to be near the airport as we arrived late and it looked lovely on the website. I was concerned that I had received no email confirmation or replies to my mails so I called and confirmed that we were driving up from airport and would be there at approx 9.30pm and would like to have a snack when we arrived - no problem. When we got there (at 9.30) we were told we could not eat anything and nothing else was open, depsite the fact that the only other guests - 3 of them were still eating in the dining room. The place is very run down, dated and rather tatty, breakfast was a dismal piece of cake and coffee - everything else chargeable as extra. The resident animals have priority over guests for the chairs (and table for the cat!) Dinner was OK on the saturday evening but the whole place is hugely overpriced. Having now visited the area - which is stunning we would next time stay in Ranco (il sole) not much different on price but a million miles on quality and welcome, Angera or Arone, all just as quick from airport and right on the water for the ferries etc. Dont be fooled by the price - it does not denote quality or value just an extraordinary rip off.

  • Liked — Pretty Village and historic building and only having booked 2 nights
  • Disliked — Lack of hospitality and being ripped off big time
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkCookieQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mai-intees, Owner at Locanda Dei Mai Intees, responded to this review, 23 May 2008
Dear Sirs, we are truly sorry to hear how upset these guests were at their arrival. But, please, note that:
-they made their reservation through the "Internet On-Line Booking Engine" on our Internet site, that automatically send a reported confirmation to the guest -they arrived at 22.00 o'clock and the kitchen works from 19.30 to 21.30 -we gave them culatello ham, salami, different types of cheese, bread, focaccia, bread sticks, water, white wine and wiskey, as shown on their bill -as specified on our documents, we normally serve Continental Breakfast with the possibility to have everything else by ordering as extra -nothing better than pics can show how really our rooms and the hotel are -in every country hotel it is normal to find a dog or a cat (not on the table........) -just looking on a map it is evident that neither the hotel neither the village of Azzate are right on the water for the ferries, etc.
-regarding the comparison with prices at other hotels in the area, we are very happy to have been compared with a "Relais & Chateaux" ...... rates are on-line.......
We hope that we have clarified our position.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2007

We organised there a big party to celebrate an important event in the family and we were not disappointed! The place was stunning and the food glorious. Italy at its best. We were given a full room for us ("Sala degli affreschi") which was elegantly decorated for the occasion. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive. We all greatly enjoyed it and I would certainly consider it again for similar occasions. Strongly recommended.

  • Liked — location, food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2007

Don't go near this place! It looks great online, so we booked 4 rooms. When we got there, the place was completely run down The rooms have stairs which are difficult to maneuver. They have a pack of dogs right in the hotel, so if you have allergies, this is not the place for you. It was dark, depressing and dingy.

It was so unacceptable, we could not stay even one night, so he charged us $1,000 cancellation fee. NOBODY else was there, so I guess it was the only way they could make money.

I go to Italy every year and this was the worst experience ever!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TCarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mai-intees, Owner at Locanda Dei Mai Intees, responded to this review, 23 May 2008
We have read the comments about our cancellation policy by this guest. We wish to inform that, owing to their late cancellation, it was impossible for us to let the rooms they booked four months before (four double rooms for four days) to other guests. Consequently, we have applied the rules laid down by international convention governing hotel contracts. Whatsmore, when a service requested in the commercial and services sectors is cancelled, a fine must always be paid, usually quite a high one.
Thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azzate
0.9 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#4 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.9 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#7 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
4.4 mi away
Relais Ca dei Santi
Relais Ca dei Santi
#15 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hotel D120
Hotel D120
#1 of 2 in Olgiate Olona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
3.3 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#9 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Dei Mai Intees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Dei Mai Intees

Property: Locanda Dei Mai Intees
Address: Via Monte Grappa 22, 21022 Azzate, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Azzate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Azzate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Dei Mai Intees 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Lake Maggiore, in the Medieval town of Azzate , the Hotel Locanda dei Mai Intees, formerly a 15th century private villa, is an exquisite and charming hideaway hotel. Beautifully restored with its combination of frescoes, antiques yet modern technology the Locanda boast 12 individually designed rooms and suites. A member of chef Alain Ducasse’s "Chateaux and Hotels Collection" , the hotel has a fine culture of cuisine in the Mai Intees Restaurant which serves regional dishes accompanied with a selection of super wines. Locanda dei Mai Intees is ideally situated with easy access to Lake Como, Milan, Lugano and nearby Milano Malpensa International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Locanda Dei Mai Intees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Dei Mai Intees Varese

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing