We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A DREAM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda San Lorenzo

Locanda San Lorenzo
Reserve with
Locanda San Lorenzo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$43 - US$76
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A DREAM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

It's always a dream to enjoy the traditional flavors from Veneto with the high cuisine and especially the very friendly and warm hearted service. All the dishes are beautifully prepared! Don't miss the desert!! You have to visit this place! You will definitely not regret it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    43
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
620 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Michelin fine dinning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and i had lunch here after reading about it on trip adviser and been also recommended by a bar owner we know were not disappointed
I had the escargot as a starter and my wife had the egg plant ravioli both very good as main we shared the degustation of lamb done in several different ways which was fantastic.
Service was professional and friendly and not expensive for the quality of food and wine.
Just go

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
368 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“A gourmet address on the way to Cortina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

After spending a few days in the Dolomites where we enjoyed the company of family and friends rather than focussing on food, we decided to make a big jump and stop at this wonderful family-owned restaurant and inn, very highly rated in the Espresso Guide in Italy. We received friendly and professional reception including taking our coats and placing them in the cloak room. The bathrooms are reached via a marble staircase, interesting picture framed walls and a waft of floral scent.
While walking to our table we glanced around the beautifully set dining room with cabinets with curios, old cameras, decanters and wine bottles. We also noticed a very large round table covered in a stunning tablecloth with matching runner.
On our table the decoration was fresh flowers and a bunch of fresh chilly peppers with cinnamon sticks. Looking through the menu the Locanda offers two set menus - one is a degustation for 70 Euro and the other is called Territory for 76 Euro; or you can select a la carte. We opted for the a la carte as one of us is not great with shellfish. The amuse bouche offered by the house was cream of leek with anchovy flavours. Followed by snails (out of the shells) with a creamy herb sauce (very tasty), two pastas - ravioli filled with cime di rapa (greens) with anchovy and shizo shoots; and tortelloni filled with piglet garnished with crunchy red cabbage. The chef Renzo Dal Farra came and spoke to us before ordering and totally personalised our order because one of us does not love anchovies, so this was omitted for that person. Main courses: fresh sea bass (although this is not a coastal location) and oven baked veal on mash. The food was perfectly cooked and tasted superb. We have to say while we were waiting for our mains we noticed the nearest table of diners to us had the famous Alpago lamb signature dish, it looked divine. We did not order that because there was a minimum of two. Sheep ricotta cassata with lemon sorbet and crumbed pistachios was our shared dessert. The chef also gave us a taste of one of his gelatos in an orange sauce, hmmm!
We drank a bottle of Petit Arvine from Valle d'Aosta, mineral water and coffee (served with petit four, especially remember the coconut panna cotta). Service was professional and friendly, especially by the attractive lady sommellier. All this for 110 Euro, much less than we expected at this Michelin star restaurant.
Parking in front of the Locanda is limited but there are several free of charges bays about 50 metres away. From the windows of the dining room we could see the Alpago snow capped peaks. Would definitely go again.
Signora Dal Farra kindly took us on a tour of the accommodation and the cellar. Two types of rooms - 80's Italian modern decor of a generous size on the first floor, and traditional wooden lined alpine smaller rooms in the attic. Worth mentioning is the extra large shower in Room number 3.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant with friendly genuine atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Locanda is a a family run restaurant that specialices in local traditional food made with care. The setting is basic, genuine and friendly. It was hard to believe that this was a restaurang with michelin star. But this is what I love with Italy. Warm, friendly atmosphere and the phenomenal food.

The wine list where excellent! Everything from Worldclass wines to local qulity producers.

The meal was fantastic. Go there! It´s worth a detour.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PetterLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locanda San Lorenzo also viewed

Pieve d'Alpago, Province of Belluno
Farra d'Alpago, Province of Belluno
 
Farra d'Alpago, Province of Belluno
Farra d'Alpago, Province of Belluno
 
Pieve d'Alpago, Province of Belluno
Belluno, Province of Belluno
 

Been to Locanda San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing