We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo B&B Gallo Nero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo B&B Gallo Nero
Ranked #1 of 5 Mestrino B&B and Inns
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We were referred to this wonderful B & B located between Padova and Vicenza, Italy, by some good friends. We were not disappointed. Our room was very large and very clean, just like home. The owners, Ruth and Girolamo, were the perfect hosts. They were both interested in our travels and we had many enjoyable conversations during our stay. They treated us like family, even driving us to the local train station so that we could visit Venice with ease. Our breakfast was the best we had in Italy, fresh and tasty! They have an outdoor pool, but it was too early in the season to use. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Italy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Staying at the Gallo Nero agritourismo, outside Venice, was ideal for beginning our trip to Venice.

The property is located about 15 minutes drive from the local train station, and our hosts—Giralamo and Ruth Mario—were totally helpful, providing directions to the station, ticket information, and printing schedules for us. Ruth and Giro both speak perfect English. Their B &B is lovely, the rooms are comfortable, and their breakfasts are just fabulous! Giro and Ruth also gladly provided us with Internet connections during our stay.

Gallo Nero was the first stop during our recent 13-day trip to Italy. We could not have had more accommodating hosts. Kudos to Ruth and Giro.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Friends11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Our stay at the Gallo Nero was one of the most pleasant experiences of our recent trip to Italy. Ruth and Girolamo could not have been warmer or more welcoming hosts. They both speak English perfectly and were very helpful in offering suggestions and answering questions about the area. They clearly have a love for their farm, their family, and their home and welcome you into the fold immediately. The agriturismo itself is situated about mid-way between Padova and Vicenza and is a lovely oasis to come back to after a long day of touring. We used the pool daily during the recent heat. Our room was large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. It was also air conditioned, although there were several windows where we could get fresh air if we wanted. The room was also very quiet and perfect for sleeping. Breakfasts included local parma hams, cheeses, homemade breads/cakes made with eggs from their chickens, yogurts, juices, cereals and coffee with multiple refills. The whole family gets into the process with their friendly, young adult children helping to serve as well. Thank you so much, Girolamo and Ruth for a wonderful stay at the Gallo Nero.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WethersfieldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
340 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Gallo Nero agriturismo, unlike so many establishments of that genre, is a true working farm. We were met by Ruth and Girolamo, fresh from the vineyards where they were gathering grapes to take to the local cooperative. This was the first of many pleasant encounters with this remarkable couple, in their beautiful restructured barn.
We were given the small apartment, and it was perfect for us. There is a small kitchen corner with a fridge, sink and cooking surface, lots of lovely dishes and ample cooking utensils. While we didn't cook during our stay it was great to have the facility for keeping our cheese, fruit and other nibbles fresh and cool. This apartment would be great for a family of four, with a big, double bed (absolutely the most comfortable bed of any hotel stay anywhere!), and then another room with two twin beds.
Everything was spotlessly clean! I never feel comfortable walking barefoot in hotels....here, I never needed to put on my slippers. The bathroom looked as if it had never been used. The floors were washed and the pretty Oriental rugs were vacuumed every day.
Breakfast was lovely, with choices of cereal, fruit, yogurt and freshly baked croissants and cakes. One day, Ruth had made homemade bread....what a treat with a bit of Nutella.
The pool was a very welcome addition. Our touring of Padua and Vicenza and smaller towns in between made us quite hot and sweaty, and knowing that the cool, clean waters of Grillo Nero awaited us made us very happy!
The location of this inn is perfect for those who want to explore the Veneto region. Not more than 15 minutes from Padova, 15 minutes from Vicenza, 40 minutes from Venice, 30 minutes to Bassano del Grappa....and many other lovely little towns. Free ample parking made it easy for drivers, but they are also very close to the train station for those who don't want to drive.
But the best part of Grillo Nero is Girolamo and Ruth. They are truly caring, energetic and welcoming hosts. They explained patiently about their farm, crops, children, the history of the building...everything that we wanted to know they were more than happy to tell us. They provided brochures and maps for our excursions and added advice to help enrich our time with them.
I will never forget our stay at Grillo Nero and hope to return someday soon. Many thanks for all your hospitality!

Room Tip: The apartment is a very comfortable set up for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfreak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

This was a truly lovely place. My wife and 12 year old son and I stayed here for four nights and I would have to say we were absolutely charmed by the Gallo Nero. The location is ideal for visiting Padua, Vecenzia and Venice. The hosts are helpful and very knowledgeable about the area and really made us feel as though we were truly welcome guests. The farm house is beautiful and well appointed for a visit, my son loved the farm fields and countryside. He has made us promise to take him back to the Gallo Nero and we will be happy to do so!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deb1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

My wife and our two toddler-aged children (2 and 4) stayed at this restored farmhouse bed and breakfast for three nights while we visited Venice for sightseeing, only 40-minutes by car, and Nove for furniture and ceramic shopping, also only 40-minutes away by car. There’s a nearby train station that goes into each city, but if you’re okay with driving it’s much easier to simply drive into Venice (the owner will tell you where to go). Although the building is a restored farmhouse, and retains its antique charm, it’s appears nearly new throughout, and especially the finishing and features in the rooms are all certainly new, yet accented to fit within the antique feel. They have four single rooms of various sizes, but we stayed in a two-room apartment for 270 Euro for three nights, with breakfast, bottled water, parking and taxes included. The apartment had a refrigerator, sink, plates and utensils, a hotplate and a refrigerator; a four-seat dining table; two televisions; air conditioner (very good); two twin beds (for the kids, or for adults); and in the master bedroom a large double bed (very firm mattress) with a view of a beautiful cornfield and mountains in the distance; a bathroom with a stand-up shower; and plenty of space for luggage, etc. There was a foyer area for reading and the kids enjoyed playing in the yard while I sat and enjoyed a book at the picnic table. This is a country-side setting, but only a 20-minute walk to a very nice seafood restaurant and a 10-minute drive to a great pizzeria that was recommended by the owners. The owners speak English, by the way (one is from New Jersey). The breakfast is Italian style, with café, juice, milk, cereal, meats, cheeses, warm pastries (very good); fruit and breads. I would certainly visit this B&B again. The owners were very, very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbryars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mestrino
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Loggia
Hotel La Loggia
#1 of 1 in Mestrino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Colombara
La Colombara
#1 of 1 in Mestrino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Fattoria Grimana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Relais Villa Giulia
Relais Villa Giulia
#2 of 5 in Mestrino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
7.4 mi away
B&B Casa Camilla
B&B Casa Camilla
#1 of 79 in Padua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
11.0 mi away
Agriturismo Villa Selvatico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo B&B Gallo Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo B&B Gallo Nero

Property: Agriturismo B&B Gallo Nero
Address: Via Monte Cengio 2 | Arlesega di Mestrino, 35035 Mestrino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Mestrino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mestrino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AGRITURISMO GALLO NERO, B&B is a farmhouse immersed in the tranquil, fascinating and lush Veneto countryside of northeast Italy. Our central location is the starting point to exploring the area, from Padua to Venice, from Verona to Vicenza to Dolomiti Bellunesi. The Agriturismo offers six rooms, all with TV, air conditioning and private bath. There is an inviting common room where guests may gather, converse with the owner, sample our wine and plan day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo B&B Gallo Nero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing