We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Astoria
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chiesa
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a location!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This beautiful traditional hotel has a wonderful position overlooking Lavarone Lake. The surrounding countryside is good for all forms of outdoor activities in winter and summer.The rooms are large and all face out to the lake. The food, at all meals, was a highlight of the stay and the attention and helpfulness of the staff was excellent. The public areas of the hotel are very comfortable and attractively furnished. Fitness facilities and pool are good and there is even a squash court. Above all, the hotel manager could not be more helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    121
    46
    22
    17
See reviews for
123
104
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arzignano
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I went with my son to spend few days and I had a terrible experience in the facility.
The heather in the room was non working properly and every morning the temperature was extremely low that I caught a cold. On the second day, the hotel had a total black out for the entire afternoon and only at 10 pm the light came back. The SPA was not comfortable due to the smell of humidity in it. On the other hand, the director was very friendly and well coming.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zizzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belluno, Italy
Level Contributor
290 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A wonderful location on the top of a small hill facing an alpine lake. The building is imposing and it is witness to a former glory that still impresses guests. However we found that there were some details to be improved in order to elevate the level of this hotel. I just mention two of them : the SPA and the restaurant. As a matter of fact once you enter the wellness centre you have a feeling of decay and spoilage and it is not really working properly. On the contrary highly enjoyable the outdoor jacuzzi with an enchanting view of the surrounding mountains. Even the restaurant in our opinion is not up to the standard that it should be. The food we were served was I would say "standard" and quite far away from the opportunity that local products do offer. It is a bit like " going on the cheap " and the wine list really disappointed me : it is not possible to have listed a few wines only with just two of the region ( which offers excellent wines instead ). The one we drank ( ... actually we didn't ) was poison !!! A real pity.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This lovely hotel is perched on the hillside of Chiesa, Lavaronne in Italy. It overlooks Lake Lavaronne which is a five minute walk away. All around are the beautiful mountains of the Trentino Highlands. The hotel has 48 rooms of which 38 face the lake. Most rooms have a balcony or terrace. It also has a fitness room ( mostly weight machines,) a swimming pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, squash court and table tennis room. The outdoor jacuzzi had a great view of the mountains and was fantastic for tired walking/ski-ing legs. It has sun terrace overlooking the lake. The bar also has a terrace overlooking the lake. I had a junior suite which had two three foot beds put together to make a large double and a sofa bed. It has had a seating area and a terrace. The room had a power shower. It also had two rings for cooking and a fridge and a TV. The rooms were well cleaned everyday. Breakfast had a full range of breakfast cereals, yoghurt, boiled and scrambled eggs plus the usual continental choices. The evening meal had a brilliant choice of anti pasti - basically a wide choice of vegetables and salad items plus cheese, cold meat and pizza/buschetta etc. There was then a choice of pasta followed by the main course. Desert had a wide range of fresh fruit and a sorbet plus other choices such as strudel, chocolate mousse, tiramisu etc.
This is a great area for walking with lots of signed Nordic walking trails nearby. It also had some ski-ing options. It is quiet and mainly an area for outdoor enthusiasts.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed as part of a walking tour. I found the stuff and especially the manager to be extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble, my room was large and had a lovely balcony. The hotels decor is a little dated but that doesn't worry me, in fact it added to its charm. My tip would be to forget about the lake view and just ask for a room with a Balcony. Room was extremely well equipped, bath and shower, had its on safe and fridge.
Manager was very helpful with local suggestions etc, whole team superb service, waitress and bar staff excellent basically couldn't fault anything. Would stay again.
Only rated the location slightly less as Chisea is quite a small village with not much stuff in!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0tel-Reviewer-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I stayed here with a family (2 kids) for a skiing holiday, February 9-15, 2013. Must be great for a summer holiday too.

pros:
- pleasant and helpful staff
- spacious and well equipped room (ours was a junior suite): LCD TV, safe, small fridge, hair dryer
- beautiful "chateau-like" interiors
- swimming pool, sauna, whirpool, fitness, snooker, table tennis, squash...
- tasty meals with a wide variety of salads and deserts
- good location with a beautiful lake view
- close vicinity of Lavarone ski center in Bertoldi (twice a day there is a skibus or a it's 3 kilometres by car)
- garrage for about 8 cars (if you're lucky and arrive early ;-)
- supermarket (400 m)
- petrol station (100 m)

cons:
- some of the hotel amenities are a bit worn out (squash court has a wrinkled floor due to a ceiling water leak, some of the machines in the fitness room are broken, hand dryers in the swimming pool area do not work, and you'd find some more trifles)
- free wi-fi signal does not reach the bottom floors (-2), we had even troubles with GSM signal for cell phones down there
- to connect to the hotel wi-fi you need to ask at the reception, they'd generate a username and password for each room
NOTE that on iPhones and iPads there is a default setting in Safari that blocks (disables) pop-up windows. You need to enable it in order to connect to the internet. Otherwise you get some error message in Italian and you're stuck. The receptionist was able to help me with this. Apparently, I wasn't the first one ;-)

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. Especially for those with the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view (most of them have it). If you need to connect to the internet often...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Booked here for last night of trip. Arrived at beautiful hotel and were upgraded to junior suite, with breath taking view.
Room lovely and comfortable. Dinner was excellent, and breakfast good too. Staff were charming and I just loved the views, and tranquility of this stunning place. Can not wait to go back. Great value and great staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiesa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bertoldi
Hotel Bertoldi
#1 of 13 in Lavarone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Caminetto
Hotel Caminetto
#2 of 13 in Lavarone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cervo
Hotel Cervo
#5 of 13 in Lavarone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#6 of 13 in Lavarone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blu Hotel Natura & Spa
Blu Hotel Natura & Spa
#3 of 27 in Folgaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Al Lago
Hotel Al Lago
#4 of 13 in Lavarone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Astoria

Property: Grand Hotel Astoria
Address: Piazza Italia, 1 - Lavarone, 38030 Chiesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Chiesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chiesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing