We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Masseria Torre Maizza
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Savelletri
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

WE just got back from a 5 night stay and couldn't have been happier with Torre Maizza. It's a wonderfully charming, quiet and beautiful hotel with delightful sea views, gorgeous pool, yoga, Pilates, amazing spa and delicious food! Breakfasts were incredible (and included) but other meals were rather expensive compared to other luxury hotels and restaurants in the area. The concierge was all so helpful and staff got up at 5am to take our luggage from our room on departure and prepare breakfast for us! We were supposed to stay for only 3 nights and extended to 5. They provide fun themed evenings - market night (we went to their sister hotel for this - beautiful outdoor eating), pizza night, and so forth and are not to be missed..can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    59
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
105
319
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is the second time my wife and I stayed in Savelletri (the first time was at sister Masseria Coccaro). We absolutely loved staying here as both Masserias are beautiful and in a stunning location amongst olive groves. The complimentary beach club is great (5 mins away by car, 20 mins by bike) and the sea is comparable to Sardinia. Staff is very helpful and kind, and breakfast is excellent. If you rent a car you can visit one of the lovely towns in the area, mostly only 20-30 mins away (Alberobello, Locorotondo, Ostuni, etc.).

Our only issue was with the prices of food & wine at both the restaurant and beach club, which are approx 30-50% more expensive than any of the excellent restaurants of the area. The same bottle of Calafuria rose' wine was €18 Euro in a Locorotondo restaurant, but €50 at Maizza! Clearly most of the wealthy customers of the masseria don't care about this, and the restaurant and beach club are usually busy. But for me is a matter of principle: why pay so much more? The great setting and service alone don't justify such prices in my opinion. If you have a car I recommend you try and eat outside a few nights.

Nevertheless, I consider Maizza one of the best seaside hotels I've ever been in Italy and we'll go back again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TALENTINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

In June we stayed for the first time in Torre Maizza and already know where we are going to spend our next summer holiday... It's an execellent calm, relaxing place. The rooms are large with a direct acess from the bathroom to the private garden terrasse. The choice for breakfast is fantastic, also the dinner is excellent. The pool is large and perfect for swimming. At the pool area you have a whole day restaurant service - one of the relaxing places at the Maizza. When ever you want they bring you to the beach and back (no schedule which is very pleasant). The beachclub offers you a restaurant with a great choice for lunches or little snacks. There is also a Lounge area and Spa. The sea is clean, a nice sandy beach - just perfect! All the staff is very nice and helpful. The perfect place to spend very relaxed italian holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms on the west you will have the sunset in your own garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielaNenad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Torre Maizza is all in all a very beautyful Masserie close to Fasano.
What we liked most is that children are very welcome. Signore Vito, one of the nicest waiters all of Italy, knows how to make them smile and feel good during breakfast lunch and dinner. The rooms are great, very clean and each has a tiny garden to step out (never seen someone sitting outside). Reception is very helpful and friendly. Some of the local people working at Torre Maizza could smile a bit more often - but probably they are just pretending serious.
The area and the pool are well kept, though it is much nicer to go to the beach and have yourself spoiled there. Waiters there are very pleasant, too.
Breakfast is very good. Almost to be told excellent. We heared that the chef is one of the best cooks around. That might be right concerning some starters (like the raw gambas - jammie and the fresh clams and shells are perfectly done). Looking at the main dishes the picture is different. Even though they have wonderful fresh fish - a smell of fresh salt water up your nose - the cook is preparing it as if he had to kill it again. We had some grilled fish, dry and full of bones after the waiter has filleted it - and it was almost cold on the plate. Unfortunately one of the waiters - the sommelier as well, very proud and who seems not really being happy to work - has put a wrong price on our bill. It was fixed of course. But we were not amused as he was the one who wanted to sell as the most expensive wine asking him for his advise. Anyhow, he was the only one we really found very funy and unpleasant.
So if you want to relax a couple of days, having a great room, a nice surrounding, wonderful breakfast and a great beach club, you should stop by at Torre Maizza.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwood
Level Contributor
416 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had not been to Puglia before and was very disappointed with this hotel. Over priced for the service provided. Long way 7 - 10 minutes by car from the beach club [ which was nice] and then very narrow strip of beach anyway. Sea views were far in the distance from some of the rooms and parts of the hotel.

Room was fine except it flooded when it rained and we had an invasion of ants, wi fi hardly ever worked properly from the room as we were the furthest from the reception area. All these issues were very defensively handled by the staff................denials that this ever happened, always not their fault..........except other guests had the same problems! Very arrogant attitudes and over-stiff service especially in the restaurant. Wanted to shake my hand every morning, kiss my wife's hand as well!

Food is good, dinner great, breakfast nice, the spa looked nice but empty, bars very smart and the pool was tidy and well maintained.

Umbrella in our small garden was broken, didnt matter as it rained a lot.

The trash bin in the car park was full and overflowing for the 5 days we were there, never emptied, the hotel name plates are covered by flowers etc and you cannot see it when you arrive from the north. all small details that clearly no management see................very arrogant attitude generally.

Needs a new pair of eyes from whoever is running this place.

Room Tip: At the end nearer the restaurant and pool facilities, the de luxe larger rooms are best. Sea view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElioZazzera, Direttore at Masseria Torre Maizza, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for the comments on our masseria, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay because our goal it’s the total happiness of all our guests, that evidently from all other reviews, on an large average we are usually able to provide.

In the specific we can understand that your stay has been wasted first of all from the weather condition, unluckily you have experienced our Masseria in the worse week of june ever had in the last years, saying that it rained it’s unfortunately very reductive for what happened, there was a 3 days storm in the region that has been advertised on the national tv news, I think this is enough to explain what it was.

By the way in holiday with this conditions, we can understand, the perspectives change a lot: if a 7 minutes ride to the beach for you it’s a long way again it’s a matter of perspective. We never advertised our Masseria to be directly on the sea, historically this could never be, the Masseria was a defensive citadel from pirates attack, it does not exist an original Masseria form the XVI century directly on the sea, but all of them have a partial sea view in the line of 2 kms roughly.

Thanks for pointing out the problem at the car park, what people use as a trash bin it’s in effect an ashtray, that’s why it was always full(cleaned every day, refilled every day), but since your note we have now added a real trash bin in order to avoid this unpleasant effect, we hope nobody will throw again trash in the ashtray now.

As you may have seen during your stay we are totally surrounded by nature, a wonderful golf course, secular olive trees, kilometer of bougainvillea and jasmine, by the way something this may carry with it.

Our wi-fi service, that is totally complimentary, it’s more than enough to satisfy the basic needs of our guests, we are not in a city center and as you may imagine it’s not easy to have a large internet band available, moreover if you consider the huge amount of devices that today people have at disposal you can consider that daily there are more than 100 people connected on the same wi-fi reducing the speed of the connection, anyway for important matter there is a complimentary business area near the reception, and plese note that the Masseria it’s totally covered with wi-fi spot form the golf to the pool, from the rooms to the bar and restaurant (12 hectares in total that it’s a considerable area!)

About ants: sorry again, we are in the countryside and the world it’s full of several lives despite the human beings, there are fish in the sea, birds in the sky, ants in the grounds, and moreover there are flowers growing a little everywhere for decoration and beauty, this is usually what people usually expect when they book an holiday in a Masseria in the countryside but very close the sea, maybe you have simply chosen the wrong place for your holiday.

The last but not the least: professionalism, warmth and education of the staff.

The highest common point of satisfaction of all our guests it’s the staff, never a complaint about it, we are sorry if the gentle attitude of welcoming people at the restaurant may seem to you inappropriate but we are genuine and welcoming by nature, sorry if the simple explanation of the reason why of the problems you experienced have been exchanged as an arrogant attitude, I personally give you my biggest excuse if someone may had an inappropriate behavior towards you.

Your description of the experience with us it’s very far from what we usually give to our guests and what we really want to provide.

The quality of food, the pleasure of enjoying a relaxing day on the white sandy beach with fresh fish restaurant available, the pleasure of having a warmth swim in our outdoor heated pool secluded by the original protecting walls, surrounded by scent of the blossoming flowers and calming sight of a Romanic colonnade covered with vines, these and even more are the incomparable feelings we want all our guests to experience.

I really hope to have you again as our guests because the greatest pleasure for us would be to make you change your mind about us.

Warmest regards
Elio Zazzera
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place is beyond words or any of these reviews. As one can see, it comes with a couple good reviews. It is because this place is excellent. In every manner of the word. The location, the service, the food, the activities, the rooms, the spa, and so on. If you are looking for a real Italian get away, look no further. If there was only one complaint, it was that dinner on two separate nights was just so-so. Not as world class as everything else here. Breakfast was an epic display of anything you could want at this hour. Make sure to wake up for it.

We stayed for four nights. And loved every minute. Our room was great. The bed was so comfortable, and there was a fireplace in the room. The bathroom is quite large as well. There was a small outside porch with chairs to relax on. Great room, and for our honeymoon they had a bottle of Prosecco ready on ice when we got in.

This place has everything. There is a restaurant, dinner and breakfast. There is a magnificent outside pool with tons of seating, including an "upper deck" above and beyond the pool for sunning. There is also cocktail service. Perfect.
There is a small bar area, with a magnificent award winning bar keep. Cuban cigars, Port, Scotch, Martini's, what else do you need? There is plenty of comfortable seating, and magazines and newspapers.
There is a Spa. Above the main building, which is a historical building, the old army garrison. They somehow got a hot tub up there. Itself is not so hot, which is a bummer, so it's more of a semi-hot tub. There is a steam room, which was nice. Made it nice to go from one to the other. And they have massage services as well. We had some services, and they were quite nice. One day was a little chilly and rainy, so it was perfect spa day.
They also have a beach club! Say What???! Yes, a beach club that is all yours to use as well. We rode some of the hotels bikes there. It was a really nice short bike ride. Maybe 25 minutes. Through old Olive groves and farmland. It was really fun and quaint. The beach club is very nice. A private spot with a restaurant, laying out lounge spots and the beach! Duh. Chairs and tables on the beach. Get a drink, and go relax. There is even passable sushi. Which made out day.
AND there is a nice little 9 hole golf course. It looked very nice, alas, I ran out of time, and couldn't play.

It is also located central to a few other resorts where you can go for dinners. Also, there are some cool towns and day trips within an hour or two of here if you need to get your tourist on.

Overall, I would definitely come back again. And again.
It is a gorgeous.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Eastern side have a terrific evening view. Also the "middle" rooms that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Masseria Torre Maizza is a delight. Impeccable and yet friendly service - nothing was too much trouble. We had a junior suite deluxe and it was great - very large and very comfortable bed; great bathroom. My one concern in the bathroom was the positioning of the grab rail - its not quite in the right position to make it easy for those a little less agile than myself, to get out of the bath - my husband had some difficulties with this! But in every other way, the hotel is perfection - and the 9-hole golf course challenging! Having the hotel shuttle to ferry us to and from the terrific beach club was a boon. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savelletri
1.2 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masseria Torre Coccaro
Masseria Torre Coccaro
#3 of 6 in Savelletri
657 reviews
15.8 mi away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Canne Bianche Lifestyle & Hotel
12.0 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 21 in Ostuni
520 reviews
7.7 mi away
Don Ferrante Dimore di charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Torre Maizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Torre Maizza

Property: Masseria Torre Maizza
Address: C.da Coccaro s/n, 72015 Savelletri, Fasano, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Fasano > Savelletri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savelletri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savelletri
#2 Family Hotel in Savelletri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Masseria Torre Maizza 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torre Maizza is an ancient Masseria set in a vaste estate overlooking the mediterranean sea.A 5 star luxury resort with AVEDA SPA, Gourmet and Traditional restaurant, Priavte Golf Course and Private Sandy Beach Club with restaurant. Torre Maizza offers all the amenities and activities for an exclusive vacation in Puglia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Masseria Torre Maizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Torre Maizza Hotel Savelletri
Masseria Torre Maizza Fasano
Masseria Torre Maizza Hotel Fasano
Masseria Torre Maizza Puglia, Italy - Savelletri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing