We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
324
164
24
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
164
24
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recommend this hotel great hotel front desk breakfast room juice sausage job gulf marina catanzaro gym sea
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

The hotel is located on the one hand of the Catanzaro 2-km sea-promenade, in front of the harbor. We booked a junior suite, from which you can enjoy the view of the sea and the Squillace gulf . The room can be booked on-line but I did it on the phone and the process was very smooth.
The hotel meets all international standards and all the staff is very polite and helpful.
On the arrival, check-in was quick and the front-desk personnel always available for any trouble/questions. Both clerks (Giuseppe and Fabio, if I remember correctly) speak fluent English, so non-Italian guests should not worry about this point.
They were also very helpful after check-out. After getting home, I realized that I forgot in the room my phone battery charger. I found it at the front desk the day after.
Breakfast is also very nice, with a choice of salty/sweet food. Salty food: they have scrambled eggs and wieners, but I would recommend the Calabrese selection of cheeses and sausages ('nduja included). Great selection of cakes, croissants, yoghurt, jam,nutella and juices. Good bread too. A big thank you to the ladies in charge of the breakfast room who retrieved my wife's glasses too.
I will recommend this hotel to anybody and I will visit it again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giovanni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Perla del Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Giovanni G,
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay thanks to our services.
We are most especially pleased to read the our entire staffs have managed to respect your expectations.
This is very important to us and such a positive feedback always encourages us in keeping our efforts to all our visitors.
Please, be assured of our very best attention at all the time.
Best Regards
Staff
Best Western Plus Hotel Perla del Porto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Staff were friendly and trying to help but apart from this we had very bad experience.
We were given the wrong room, no balcony despite requesting this in advance.
Very poor communication during booking and check in. Nothing was explained.
We booked for couple but the room was equipped for single occupancy!
The breakfast and the food is average at best.
Even the check out was problematic! It took 1 week afterwards to sort out invoices and payments etc.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bishooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Perla del Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Bishoo,
first of all, I would like to thank you for staying at Best Western Plus Hotel Perla del Porto during your last stay in Catanzaro Lido and thank you so much for your feedback regarding your experience with us.
I am really sorry to read your experience didn’t satisfy you completely and you considered the experience you had with us as a bad one.
I am really sorry the room didn’t meet your expectations. Please, let me inform you we are always glad to change the assigned room in case of this one doesn’t meet our guests’ taste and when our guests told us their disappointment.
Our hotel has different rooms categories and there are a lot of rooms.
We are always happy to receive personal preferences during the reservation or when the room has been showed after the check in. We every time make our best to guarantee our best services and negative feedback too are a very important source to let us improve our services.
I really hope to have given you all the pieces of information you need and hoping to welcome you again to the Best Western Plus Hotel Perla del Porto in order to let you show are real value made of passion for our work and most of all, integrity.
Your sincerely.
Staff Best Western Plus Hotel Perla del Porto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Small but comfortable room, nice bed, room with balcony and sea view. Good bathroom but shower only no bath.

Breakfast was somewhat spoilt by a few small points like keeping the bacon and egg in the same warmer and putting cold meat above cheeses on the display

A few small changes may really help make it a much better breakfast experience for every dietary need.

Gym basic but has a multi machine which does the job two treadmills and a bike but you'd be better off running along the sea front early morning or late evening.

Most staff generally very nice, polite and willing to help, one of the (female) receptionist seem perpetually annoyed.

Spa very good.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Beautiful hotel, marble tiles throughout and quality, comfortable rooms. The staff were extremely friendly and helped us enjoy our (too brief) stay. The hotel was very busy and it was near the end of the summer holiday season, however staff made time for our needs and the service was superb. Breakfast was amazing and the views of the marina were stunning. We will stay there again whenever possible!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio R, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Perla del Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear David P,
we really thank You for the special words You use for our Staff and location in Your feedback!! We are really proud that You enjoy the interior design of the hotel and the quality of the furniture, the willingness of our team and the landscape of Catanzaro Lido.
We will wait for You to enjoy our hospitality once again. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Very nice hotel, staff are very helpful and friendly, parking on site, wifi, Sky tv.
Our room was very nice and so too was the bathroom with hairdryer.
Breakfast is good and staff nice too.
The hotel is tastefully decorated with tasteful accessories throughout the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in Catanzara.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonNigel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio R, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Perla del Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017


Dear SharonNigel2014

Thank you for the enthusiasm of Your feedback :)
We do our best for the comfort and satisfaction of our customers, and we can only be happy when this was noticed both for the reception staff and for the breakfast staff. We are also really glad that You enjoy the appearance and the style of the hotel in general. Hoping to hve You again as pleasant guest we pay best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews