We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ulitimate escape from the hustle and bustle.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill 'n' Dale Farm Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hill 'n' Dale Farm Cottages
Caroline Springs, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The ulitimate escape from the hustle and bustle.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Great stay in Ferny Glade cottage. Staff were very welcoming and the breakfast hamper had that special home-made feel to it with the freshly baked bread and eggs straight from the hen house. Loved the serenity of the place, yet it was perfectly placed to explore the sites around the Yarra Valley.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Hill'n'dale is hidden away in the hills about 15k outside of Healesville. The location is stunning - a very quiet smallholding, surrounded by beautiful forest and farmland. The cottages are simple and quaint - don't expect wifi or ipod docking! The breakfast basket provided was great and enough to last us a couple of days - the best bits were fresh eggs laid by chickens on the smallholding. Highly recommended if you want to get away from it all.

Room Tip: We stayed in mountain lodge which has the best views I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacyturner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We visited Hill 'n' Dale with our two children, 7 and 4 years, and enjoyed every minute of our 2 night stay. The cottage was clean and comfortable, the provisions delicious, and the surroundings so peaceful and pretty. The hosts are delightful and warmly engage with the children. The kids adored the farm animals and appreciated the play area. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buchananmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We got the Ferny Glade cottage as it could accomodate 5 folks. Wish we could try out the mountain glade cottage! Anyway, its a good place to hide away. Definitely need a car to get to.

Positives: serene surroundings, wifi available near the main lodge, nice walk/exercise up the hill to see "in-house" domesticated alpacas, goats and sheep, water heater was good, breakfast basket (enough for 1 breakfast) was nice touch.

Possible improvements: Some sort of sound insulation within Ferny Glade bedrooms. Unless everyone sleeps at the same time, any activity in the living room would have the sound bounced into bedrooms. This will also help block the cooking smells from entering bed rooms.

Summary: Still good! try to mountain glade but the ferny glade cottage is good too!

Room Tip: Depends what you want. I have tried Mountain Glade cottage but Ferny Glade is reviewed above and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellychia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Have just spent the weekend at this fabulous little oasis in the middle of paradise for our 30th wedding anniversary. Fresh eggs, home baked bread, a roaring fire and so well provisioned that we wanted for nothing. The cottages are so spaced out you don't even see the other guests (if there were any!) Perfect way to lock out the world and enjoy each others company. Relaxing spa, rain on the rooftop, a bottle of bubbly, a cosy fire, a couple of CDs (free from reception) = bliss. This place is heaven on earth. Well done Steve and Dave, you should be very proud to provide a perfect place to relax and regenerate. Everyone should sample this fantastic place. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colac
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Generous accomodation and very helpful, friendly staff. We took two children and they had a wonderful time exploring the surrounds and feeding the animals. The extra thought that went into the accomodation such as the breakfast basket, generous amounts of kindling and firewood and the access to DVD's made it so much more special. The location was fabulous and we were blown away when we arrived as it was so much more than we expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmore, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We arrived in the dark and were very pleasantly surprised by our clean, spacious cottage. The heater was on so the room was cozy and inviting. When we woke up in the morning the view from our cottage was STUNNING!!! The cottage has all amenities you could want, and a breaky basket on arrival was an extra special touch. Home made bread, eggs, milk, orange juice, spreads and cereal in a beautiful basket. The rooms are spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed. There is a DVD library at reception with current and older DVDs to borrow, (free!!) The cottages are spaced out nicely we didnt even see any other guests cars let alone the other guests. The acreage is beautiful and easily accessible for a wander.
We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hazelnut cottage, next time we may stay in the Mt. View just for a change. But our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 552193Leahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yarra Valley hotels
13.2 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
7.1 mi away
Valley Farm Vineyard
Valley Farm Vineyard
#6 of 15 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lavender Farm
Lavender Farm
#8 of 15 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sanctuary Park Cottages
Sanctuary Park Cottages
#3 of 15 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
7.6 mi away
Myers Creek Cascades
Myers Creek Cascades
#2 of 21 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.8 mi away
DeVille at Healesville
DeVille at Healesville
#7 of 15 in Healesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill 'n' Dale Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill 'n' Dale Farm Cottages

Property: Hill 'n' Dale Farm Cottages
Address: 1284 Don Road | Don Valley, Victoria 3139, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Yarra Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill 'n' Dale Farm Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill 'n' Dale Cottages are set on 54 acres in the beautiful Yarra Valley featuring 1 & 2 bedroom self contained cottages with double spas and wood fire places.As you drive down the 1 km drive you will feel as though you have left the city a thousand miles away. It is a perfect hideaway for those wanting to escape the stresses of everyday life.There is abundant wild life and birds to watch and enjoy while you sit back and enjoy a glass of Yarra Valley wine.Whether you want to escape the city for the weekend and take in the clean air and laid back lifestyle of the Yarra Valley or let the kids experience the wide open spaces and country life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hill 'n' Dale Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing