We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Cosy”
Review of Holly Lane Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holly Lane Mews
Ranked #26 of 55 Yarra Valley B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I recently stayed at the Holly Lane Mews with a group of friends to attend a local wedding. We were pleasantly surprised by the lovely spacious rooms. The surrounding gardens meant our little cottage felt very private and quiet. There was ample yummy food provided for breakfast which just topped off our stay. Well Done!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShepK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at Holly Mews with our two Bichon Friese dogs for four nights and had a fantastic time. Joanne and Brian are very warm and friendly people. Brian drove us to and from a restaurant the first night we stayed, whilst our dogs stayed on their little beds in the bathroom. Joanne recommended 4 restaurants to eat at and all were superb. The dogs had heaps of space to walk down the dirt road and also on a walking track near the main road and were made very welcome. This encouraged us to all get some exercise and enjoy the country views. It is a great quiet location. The gardens look fantastic and are designed to keep it secluded between the rooms. Really nice pet friendly place to stay in a lovely valley.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We recently attended a wedding in the Yarra Valley of dear friends whom we consider family. We stayed at the cosy Holly Mews bed and breakfast called the Silo suite. A tastefully decorated apartment that accommodated our family comfortably. The owners Joanne and Brian also offer a transport service to and from the wedding which meant we didn't have to worry about drinking and driving. All was set for a perfect afternoon when near disaster struck. Just prior to leaving for the wedding my partner realised he left his suit trousers at home. OMG what are we to do now! Thank goodness Joanne and Brian came to the rescue. Brian handed me five pairs of next to new suit trousers to choose from. Studio Italia quality may I add, that fitted perfectly and were a great match. Thanks so much for saving the day. Your generosity will not be forgotten. The Wedding was an enjoyable and memorable event. I have no hesitation in recommending Holly Mews.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend in March as we had a wedding close by. The room was great and the gardens around the rooms were lovely and peaceful. The accomodation is close to town and many great wineries. The owner was fantastic, she even drove us to and from the wedding - amazing service. Will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My partner and I stayed there and booked out the whole site for our wedding. She was rude to us and some of our guests. She moved my dogs from one room to another without telling us, we thought that they had escaped - when I expressed my displeasure, she yelled at me, and continued to follow me when I left. There were holes in the sheets, the white Aldi bread wasn't quite what you expect at a bed and breakfast for this price. They had a coffee plunger but no coffee - only instant!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tania703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FloJo2, Owner at Holly Lane Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you Tania for your feedback. Our sheets do not have holes they are provided by a reputable laundry. We are pet friendly but do not expect to be abused by owners who have no respect for our conditions pertaining to pets or our property. We did not charge her for her pets as a gesture of good will.
This lady booked the whole property for her wedding and during the last year she consulted with us over a year at least dozens of times, she was extremely high maintenance and she asked if she could bring 2 small dogs. She was advised that the dogs were welcome but not to be left unattended. As a favour to her during the wedding we asked her to leave the dogs in the bathroom. Whilst cleaning the suite on the first morning we were horrified to find her dogs sitting on the new lounge room sofas in our luxury suite totally unattended.. We put them in the bathroom and realized there was a respect issue.
The day of the clients departure she accused us of causing her anxiety by putting the dogs in the bathroom. Her by then husband agreed with us as to our explanation.. . I advised her that they had been safe at all times and was quite worried that the morning after the wedding she was so upset (great wedding night) We were more shocked on having to clean the apartment after they left it was filthy, dishes not done and the dogs had shredded cardboard all over the apartment. My cleaner said it was the worst she had seen.( we could have charged her for the mess she left but decided to be kind as after all it was her wedding day. The ladies guests were respectful and extremely clean. I would suggest this is a client to be avoided at all costs if you are a property owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Wow what a fantastic trip we just had to the superb Yarra Valley and are so grateful of stumbling onto Holly Lane Mews. We found the room comfortable and beautifully presented. The bathroom although small very adequate and functional. We met Jo on check in who gave us a brief tour and some history of the local ara. We will be back it was fantastic!

Room Tip: We had the Pool View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I first came across Holly Lane Mews on Groupon, they had a deal for a two-night stay. We had a trip planned to Melbourne, Australia for his best friends wedding and decided to make a 'get-away' to the Yarra Valley while we were there, and boy am I glad we did. The drive was shorter than expected with beautiful views.

Upon arrival, we were set-up in a pool view room (the pool wasn't much to look at, but everything else was). The location of the bed and breakfast is ideal, just a short cruise into town where they have little shops and a delicious pub. It is also a short drive up the road to the De Bortoli winery, where we went for a wine and cheese tasting. It is surrounding by beautiful landscapes and picturesque farmland, made perfect by the clay path lining the road (perfect for an evening stroll). The Healesville Sanctuary is in close range as well as many other beautiful winery and activities.

The bed and breakfast itself was quaint and classic, with anything you need. The room stayed warm with the cool outside temperature, it was kept very clean and restocked with fresh towels and breakfast goodies, made perfect with the wombat in the back field.

It was the perfect romantic getaway. We had no complaints about Holly Mews.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kchaseuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yarra Valley hotels
18.9 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
282 reviews
8.6 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
564 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yarra Glen Bed & Breakfast
Yarra Glen Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 7 in Yarra Glen
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
341 reviews
10 mi away
Golden Chain Lilydale Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Lane Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Lane Mews

Address: 28 Willow Bend Dr, Victoria 3775, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Yarra Valley
Price Range: £90 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly Lane Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a private thoroughbred farm with a garden and lake, Holly Lane Mews offers B&B accommodation in the heart of the Yarra Valley. There are at least 10 wineries within a 5-minute drive.In a unique farm setting with beautifully landscaped gardens, Holly Lane Mews is home to many native animals, including a resident wombat.Yarra Glen town centre is a 5-minute drive away. Facilities include a BBQ area and "farm-style" plunge pool.Each of the suites and apartments at Holly Lane Mews Yarra Valley features air conditioning, heating, flat-screen TV with free in-house movies, and a patio with outdoor seating.All of the luxury apartments include a spa bath. Breakfast provisions are supplied for guests in the apartments, while continental breakfast is provided for those staying in the suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holly Lane Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing