We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of Hotel Odissea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Odissea
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I chose this hotel "blind" and on price, it turned out to be a great choice.

The first room was spacious and had all the amenities one expects, and also had a large attached bathroom. The location was about 50 metres from the beach at Canneto.

The staff were friendly and very helpful. After a three days we changed to one of their self catering flats and again were happy.

The only issue we had was with the internet being not available at times in the apartment.

Room Tip: The three self catering apartments are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

Our plans changed last minute, but it was not a problem to arrive and leave a day earlier than planned. We were checked in by an English speaker, and although the older couple who were there the rest of the time spoke no English, they were friendly and we could communicate fine with our (very) basic Italian.

The bus to Canneto leaves from right in front of the port, and takes only ten minutes, although you may wait a while before one comes. It is also easy to hire taxis, scooters and golf carts at the port. The hotel is up a lovely lane off the main strip in Canneto, two minutes from the beach. A quiter beach is a 15 minute walk along a coastal path. There are plenty of cafes and bars nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant (Calandra) at the end of the strip where we had a lovely, excellent value meal.

The room was fine - very clean, air conditioning and ceiling fan, and a terrace to sit out on. There was a bit of noise from the neighbourhood dogs barking, but not too bad. Breakfast is in a big, sunny room. There was brioche, bread, jams and cake, and coffee or tea. The lady serving breakfast also spoke some English, and I'm sure she could answer questions guests have about the area.

We got a taxi on our last day to take us to the port, as our hydrofoil left early. It was the only time in our trip that we didn't agree the price beforehand with the driver and we got ripped off. He didn't restart his meter and overcharged us by €12. Don't assume you won't get ripped off just because the hotel calls the taxi for you!

This is a decent, good value hotel, but nothing makes it stand out as out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junebug073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Hotel Odissea is in the Lipari town of Canetto, which is a 5-10 minute bus ride from Lipari town. The location is great if you want to avoid the steep prices and bustle of Lipari, but the resort is a little faded compared to the glamour of Lipari town. Lots of cheap eats in Canetto, only a couple of good restaurants, but a great pebble beach where you can rent sun beds for EUR 10 a day. It’s very safe, and people are friendly.

The hotel is in the heart of Canetto, and the bus stop to Lipari is practically on its doorstep. Buses are regular – 2-3 an hour, and cost EUR 1.20 each way. Worth going into Lipari for dinner or shopping. The beach is better at Canetto (there is no beach in Lipari). There is no computer at which to check your email in Canetto; there is an internet café in Lipari.

The hotel itself: reception staff cannot speak English, and are grumpy, unhelpful and rude. The hotel rooms are typical European beach fare: white tiled floors, low beds. All very clean and spacious, and the cleaning staff each day were super. There is no English TV, which is a bit of a pain on a beach holiday. Breakfast is ok – tarts, cakes and bread. No fruit.

Note that the hydrofoil to/ from the Aeolians only leaves twice a day, so check the times. Don’t fly on the same day as you take the hydrofoil – seas were turbulent even in 32 degree sunshine and the hydrofoil was almost cancelled. Hydrofoil to Lipari costs about EUR 90 per person return.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank CompulsiveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank GIORGIO F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Catherinez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le camere al secondo piano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giuliana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze al piano superiore hanno vista mare sull'isola di Salina e sono molto silenziose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canneto di Lipari
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amarea
Hotel Amarea
#1 of 2 in Canneto di Lipari
160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Carasco
Hotel Carasco
#26 of 33 in Lipari
361 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Cutimare
Hotel Cutimare
#8 of 33 in Lipari
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rocce Azzurre
Rocce Azzurre
#9 of 33 in Lipari
201 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residence Hotel La Giara
2 mi away
Hotel Giardino sul Mare
Hotel Giardino sul Mare
#18 of 33 in Lipari
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odissea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odissea

Address: Via Nazario Sauro, 12, 98055 Canneto di Lipari, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari > Canneto di Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Canneto di Lipari
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Odissea 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Odissea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing