We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Popesse of taste!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Campania, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Popesse of taste!”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

This owner is a pretty middle aged English woman who welcomed us. She fell in love with Mexico and left her country to sleep on an hammock! Kind educated...simply wonderful! we fell in love with her and her tales. Ah yes the food was good and the recipes offered were original. ;-) hugs from Italy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianluca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and so happy you enjoyed everything here and my stories hope they were not too boring!
Many people think because of the name of the restaurant they will not get traditional Yucatan fare... but far from it . One of our best sellers is the infamous Poc Chuc along with Salbutes and Panuchos .
I wish you well and wherever you journey in your life I hope you enjoy all the experiences
take care
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    67
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
124
262
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I'm one of the lucky few to know the Yucatan from direct experience over 3 decades. The Puuc area is one of my very favorites. And I'm putting my money where my mouth is - we're moving to Merida to live here full time.

My first visit to the Pickled Onion was about 6 months after it opened. At that time it was a restaurant that just started simple overnight cabanas for tourists. We really liked Valerie Pickles, the intrepid owner. And the food was great, even from the very beginning.

My wife and I visit the Yucatan every year and we've stayed at the Pickled Onion every chance we get. Over the years the level of comfort and service has improved. In the past one year alone there have been so many beneficial changes. They added a bar, improved the restaurant seating immeasurably. A few more cabanas have been built and the've all been improved. Now there are in room refrigerators and coffee makers. A new patio area for hotel diners is great!

Now, if you are accustomed to full service Marriotts and expect room service at 3am you may not like the Pickled Onion. But you probably wouldn't like the Yucatan anyway so take that with a grain of salt.

THe very best place to stay to visit the Uxmal ruins bar none!

Room Tip: Book the new Nohoch room - especially if you have a younger traveling companion who would enjoy slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oskeebob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review it so helps other travellers to find a decent place to stay whilst visiting the area.
You both have been so kind and helpful and I would say you will both be a great asset for the Meridanos when you finally settle here
The services I feel are improving poco a poco(little by little). But what gives me more joy is the ability to employ more people from the small village of Santa Elena .
Lets see what the next year produces with the help of people like yourselves I am sure there will be surprises in store
Que Dios bendiga
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
585 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I can only add to what has already been said many times about this place. It is a lovely designed restful place with polite, friendly and helpful staff run by the host and owner Valerie who is similarly charming. Only four rooms set well apart in the gardens. There may be plans for more, and she might need them being a popular place, but there is plenty of space in the large garden area to accomplish this without diminishing the privacy of each room which is a fault that sometimes other hotels have. And the rooms are excellent. Large, airy with room for the bed and a seating area and quite rightly left without tv’s but with added extras such as coffee maker and refrigerator. And with the pool its easily the place to spend more than one or two days, as rather than just visiting to see Uxmal, you can take your time visiting other attractions in the area secure in the knowledge that you can have a peaceful afternoon relaxing in the sun by the pool as we did.
Breakfast is included in the room rate and was a very comprehensive fruit selection with juice, coffee or tea and toast, cooked option available as an extra but the fruit and toast was more than enough. Dinner from under 100pesos per person for main dishes was well prepared and tasty with beers and drinks at very reasonable rates.
It is very easy to find being on the main road on the way from Merida to Uxmal but you’d travel about 10km past Uxmal towards Santa Elena. Don’t turn into Santa Elena, stay on this road which effectively acts as a bypass for the village ( although the village is typically rural Mexico and worth a walk around ) and its just as you exit the village. Although on the road there is little traffic and therefore little noise from vehicles. Although I would add that you may well be woken by roosters at first light, but then this is the delight of rural Mexico and you need to be up early for a full day sightseeing, and being rural you will be in bed early as well. An excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor I am happy that you enjoyed your stay here and it was indeed a delight to have you both stay with me.
Just for information we actually have 6 rooms the other two are hidden a little and I think you did not notice them . But that is a good sign because to me that means that they are all private and away from each other.
Yes we are going to build more and they will be finished(fingers crossed) ready for the July and August busy season.
I wish for you both many more wonderful travels
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Thank you to Valery for our great experience at your Pickled Onion Hotel. We had a wonderful experience staying at your hotel, and really enjoyed your hospitality.The restaurant staff and food was exceptional. The pool was beautiful, and our lil hut was something to write home about.
We had a good experience, and will recommend it to all our friends.
And of course, "we will be back".

Room Tip: Valery knows exactly which room that will service your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRUDERlangely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
I am so happy you enjoyed your experience staying with me as much for me it was a pleasure to have you here . I do hope you return so that you can see how we are continuing to grow.
I appreciate your time to make a lovely comment thank you
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Having enjoyed three nights of very unique and genuine hospitality at the Pickled Onion our family (grown-up daughter, somewhat grown-up parents) agree fully with all the praise of the recent posts. This is a very special place to stay for the lovely and well serviced palapa rooms, the pretty garden and pool, and the outstanding restaurant. What also makes it different is the hospitality of Valerie and all her staff, from the restaurant team to the gardener. Valerie offers a perfect massage service in the cool of a small thatched pavilion.
We recommend the Pickled Onion as a base to stay for several days. Staying four nights would give time to not only relax by the peaceful pool but also visit Uxmal, the Puuc route/Loltun cave, and the hacienda route west of Uxmal. And you need time to explore all of the Pickled Onion restaurant menu too!

Room Tip: Double or triple rooms are available, all very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VamosViajamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
I sincerely would like to thank you so much for your comments
It was truely a pleasure to have you all here and so happy that you mentioned staying more than one night. To do this area justice one really needs at least 2 nights to enjoy, relax and just take in the peace of the countryside and of course get the best out of visiting the sights in this area .
Keep on enjoying your experiences and travel well
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telchac Puerto, Yucatan, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

After hearing nothing but great reviews from all our friends, we were finally able to experience The Pickled Onion for ourselves...we were not disappointed! Valerie is a sweet, feisty, independent & gracious hostess and the business has become a huge success with a devout following...after meeting her we can understand why! We were the first of a full house to arrive so we decided to take advantage of the tranquility and lounge by the pool...it was heaven!

The next morning we awoke to the sound of a multitude of different birds, had a fantastic breakfast of coffee, fresh orange and papaya juice, a lovely fruit platter, fresh baked banana bread and toast with locally produced honey (included in the price of the room!) The staff is friendly, efficient and devoted to her. The Mayan-style bungalows are delightfully decorated, clean and quiet. The grounds are nicely landscaped and the whole place oozes peacefulness! We live in the Yucatan on the Gulf of Mexico, only 2 hours away from Santa Elena so this is the perfect place to come for a little getaway as there are many places nearby to explore. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your great review It was a delight to have you and your friends here with me .
Not only that what a delightful surprise to see you return for a bite to eat on the same day you had checked out!
I know you enjoyed the special wine and chocolate tasting afternoon at the Museo de Chocolate that is only a short distance from here and as you said well worth seeing. Yes there is so much to see and do in this area........... so I look forward to your return with much pleasure
take care and again thank you so much for taking the time to write this review
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamloops, b.c.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Valerie, is a superb hostess and propertier. The setting is lovely and comfortable. The food is truly wonderful, fresh and packed with flavor. To top it off Valerie makes you feel very welcome. In addition the drinks are terrific!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank coupleobikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. They are very much appreciated.
I hope you come and visit again you would be very welcomed
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
8.8 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
9.2 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
8.6 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
57 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eco-Hotel Nueva Altia
Eco-Hotel Nueva Altia
#1 of 1 in Santa Elena
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant

Property: The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Address: Carretera 261 Uxmal a Kabah | Uxmal, Santa Elena 98760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Eco-Boutique Bed and Breakfast located close to Uxmal, Kabah, Sayil and Labnah. Quaint Maya style rooms, complete with private entrance, bathrooms, refrigerator ,coffe maker bottled water,toiletries, safety boxes, Wi Fi in all rooms ,clean, comfortable and secure, set in peaceful surroundings. Rooms are adorned with my own paintings. Beautiful gardens with labyrinth. Area for Yoga, Tai chi etc. Mini Spa.Swimming pool Excellent restaurant where you can taste some of the Yucatan cuisine. Located close to the village where you can experience Maya life as it really is.The bar awaits you for the best cocktails/margaritas in the area, as well as wine and beer.You have the luxury of Wi fi in all areas including your rooms .An artisan shop where you can buy items including locally made hammocks and snack shop if you want a small snack in-between meals. All the staff are local people from Santa Elena and all structures were build by local people too, including wood work, iron work etc I maybe a foreign owner but how good that work has been created for the local people who would otherwise not have an income. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Mexico/Santa Elena, Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing