We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily in our top 5!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easily in our top 5!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Pickled Onion is close to Uxmal (don't miss these ruins, they're are beautiful) and the Ruta Puuc.
The room was comfortable, quiet and clean, the food excellent, the garden well-kept and lovely.
A delicious breakfast with fruit, bread, cereal, coffee and juice was included in the price!
We had a great time around the pool, chatting with the other guests and sipping margaritas.
Valerie is an excellent hostess, she really cares for her guests' comfort. Thank you! It was sad to have to leave.

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all equally great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrootyCrooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your comments they are really welcomed.... You were just great guests to have around and the pool is a nice feature after seeing the lovely Uxmal ruins... cool off,drink a cocktail, a beer or two ,listen to other guests stories ,watch the many tropical birds at play and even connect with internet....!
I too am sorry you did not get the chance to stay another night... sometimes because of the shortness of vacations it is hard to get everything in... there is so much to see in the Yucatan
Maybe you will make it back one day and know that there will always be a welcome for you here
take care
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    67
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
124
262
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here even if it was only for one night. We had a new adventure taking a second class bus out from Merida for one day to visit this beautiful place. Everything you read about it is correct. A great spot from which explore the area. Leaving St Elena we took a collectvio to Ticul and picked up a second class bus back to Merida. Beverly also says that buses pass out front and all you have to do is stand and flag them down.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for your comments they are really appreciated.
Happy that you enjoyed your new experience. Buddha says one should walk a different path everyday to experience all that there is and you certainly did and with success. Congratulations for leaving your fears behind... you did good! This may encourage other travellers not to fear local transport which are quite superior to what I use to know in Canada ! Easy to get around in and comfortable although a little cold at times as they like to have the airconditioner blowing full blast so best to take a sweater with you if you are travelling by bus .
Again thank you for your time and happy that you enjoyed your stay with me
cheers
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We ate in this great little restaurant several times. The food was all delicious, with a couple of vegetarian options and great meatballs cooked in a local sauce and the service was friendly. I was surprised by cake and a candle on my birthday which was lovely.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your comments I really appreciated them.
The meatballs in mint (Albondigas con hierbabuena ) are actually a Yucatan dish which they make in most of the homes.The flavours of the meatballs with the mint and other ingredients make it quite exceptional in its taste.This dish is always well received with the special touches that are added.
I am happy you like your surprise for your birthday!
I hope you have many more happy travels along your way
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCormick, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This lovely B & B in the heart of the jungle was a great choice while visiting the area. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, including a pool and lovely outdoor restaurant. There is a feeling of tranquility there, especially when hearing all the bird sounds. Valerie was an excellent hostess, spending time with each guest. And only 10 minutes from Uxmal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary_Mc638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay here...and for your Trip adviser comments
If you are ever in this area again know that you are welcome anytime...
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntley il
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Valerie ,
just a note to let you know what a great time we had at The Pickled Onion, The rooms are spotless the food delicious ...an all around great experience .thanks for everything Joe and Lynn

p.s. I even enjoyed being woke up by the neighbors rooster

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelynn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
So many thanks for your revue.Sometimes I look back to how it used to be... very dry and arid and I cannot believe how it has evolved ... the lushness of the gardens, the flowering plants etc . Sometimes i have to stop and take a walk around the property at times just to take in all.
i hope to see you again one day
take care
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband,Bob, and I stayed at the Pickled Onion when we visited Uxmal and surroundings. We knew we had chosen well when, as we were bringing our luggage in, Valerie introduced herself and asked if we would like a drink by the pool. Our drinks were waiting for us in short order and we got to watch a lovely sunset and unwind by the pool. I even managed to get into the over the water hammock! If you are looking for something more authentic than "all inclusive" resorts, this is your place. I could see staying a few days here to explore the town and surrounding ruins.The on site restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for the time you took to write a review... it really means a lot to me.
People love the hammock over the pool it is so relaxing .... the sunsets are wonderful to watch and the rising of the moon is at times incredible ,lighting up the abundance of stars in the night. When it is a full moon it is like walking in daylight...swimming in a full moon certainly regenerates your energy.
I hope you can make it back someday and know you will be made welcomed
Again thank you
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

What an exceptional stay! The Pickled Onion is just beautiful. The grounds are stunning and so well attended. The Mayan cabanas are just lovely, spotless and well appointed. The feeling of being in the middle of the jungle is wonderful. The restaurant is also spotless and the food is excellent. I only wished we could have stayed longer but we will be back next year. The best part of the whole experience is the owner Valerie. She is an amazing women and takes the time to get to know her guests and she does treat you like you are one of the family. Her entire staff is very welcoming and helpful. This was one of the best travel experiences we have had.

Room Tip: Cabanas at the end of the property are very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
so happy you enjoyed your stay with me! For me too it was a delight to have you both here!
There will always be a welcome for you here and I am already looking forward to your next visit
take care
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
8.8 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
9.2 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
8.6 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
57 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eco-Hotel Nueva Altia
Eco-Hotel Nueva Altia
#1 of 1 in Santa Elena
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant

Property: The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Address: Carretera 261 Uxmal a Kabah | Uxmal, Santa Elena 98760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Eco-Boutique Bed and Breakfast located close to Uxmal, Kabah, Sayil and Labnah. Quaint Maya style rooms, complete with private entrance, bathrooms, refrigerator ,coffe maker bottled water,toiletries, safety boxes, Wi Fi in all rooms ,clean, comfortable and secure, set in peaceful surroundings. Rooms are adorned with my own paintings. Beautiful gardens with labyrinth. Area for Yoga, Tai chi etc. Mini Spa.Swimming pool Excellent restaurant where you can taste some of the Yucatan cuisine. Located close to the village where you can experience Maya life as it really is.The bar awaits you for the best cocktails/margaritas in the area, as well as wine and beer.You have the luxury of Wi fi in all areas including your rooms .An artisan shop where you can buy items including locally made hammocks and snack shop if you want a small snack in-between meals. All the staff are local people from Santa Elena and all structures were build by local people too, including wood work, iron work etc I maybe a foreign owner but how good that work has been created for the local people who would otherwise not have an income. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Mexico/Santa Elena, Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing