We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stopover”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Pickled Onion on our way between Merida and Campeche. Great place to stop off - lovely pool for a cooling dip and to have a drink by, pretty cabana with hammock and a massive bed (no bathroom door though, eek - I know, I know, it's the style of the building!), nice restaurant, very friendly and welcoming owner. And within easy reach of Uxmal and other ruins. Would definitely recommend this place!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olivia473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review . Happy that you enjoyed your stay here and felt relaxed . To make it even more relaxing we have now built a casa de las hammacas ... a house of hammocks where you can relax at the back of the property with a choice of 6 hammocks and the breeze that will sway you into an afternoon siesta !
My next project is to put on doors of the bathroom.... but as they are now they are still quite private and really are charming how the decor is done. The construction of the bathrooms was a bit of a challenge as the rooms are not your typical square block housing that you find in other hotels but on the Maya style of an oblong shape . I think the attraction is the charm of the rooms which does have many modern conveniences incorporated for example, small fridges, coffee makers, hairdryers,even umbrellas for the guests to use in the rainy season !
I hope you have many more wonderful adventures and experiences
cheers
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    65
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
115
261
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We simply loved this place!
Kind of "in the middle of nowhere" we stayed for one night to visit Uxmal the next day. Too bad we couldn't stay longer. It´s a lovely place, with beautifully kept gardens, a nice pool and the maya huts are very cute and cosy. Everything is impeccably clean. Definitely the owner´s touch!
We had dinner which was great and the breakfast was definitely the best and most various during our trip on the Yucatan.
Very friendly staff.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review... You made me very happy as I was reading it...and happy it was the best place you found on your travels through the Yucatan Peninsula .
You will always be welcomed here
So take care and have many more wonderful travels
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

the pickled onion is an ideal place from which to visit a variety of ruins, and cenotes. its about 10 minutes from uxmal, and close to a variety of underground water caves (cenotes). fabulous mayan thatched huts, great breakfasts, and excellent dinners....my first choice for the areas south of merida.

Room Tip: no air conditioning, but was not necessary....has a lovely pool, and fans in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
So happy that you enjoyed your stay here and I do appreciate your comments.
It certainly is an experience to stay in a typical Maya house but with some modern conveniences
It was our pleasure to have you both here with me
I hope you have many more wonderful experiences for your future travels
kindest regards
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a place to go when you visit the Yucatan. Location is ideal, not far from Uxmal and the Ruta Puuc. We stayed here for one night. If we come again to the Yucatan, we take certainly 2 nights. The garden with the swimming pool and the maya-houses is very peaceful and cosy. The food is excellent. A great place to take a break and relax. Valerie and her staff are very friendly and run this place with enthusiasm. Ann and Jan

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Ann and Jan
Your review means a lot to me and I wish to thank you for taking the time to write one... For me it was a pleasure to be of service to you both... you were great guests to have around... me too would have enjoyed your company for more than one night... but never mind ... next time.
Happy too that you enjoyed the food that we serve here.... Many people think because I am english ,then the Yucatecan dishes would not be prepared correctly .. but this is far from the truth...I learnt so much in the first three years that I was doing the cooking for the restaurant.. But now I can leave it with confidence to the chefs that I have working for me... ALL from the small village of Santa Elena
I do really hope to see you again one day , until then have many more wonderful journeys
Regards
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

What an idyllic spot! Our Palapa was spacious, comfortable and quiet. The pool area was cool and relaxing. The breakfast was beautifully presented and delicious. Finally, Valerie and her staff were so friendly and helpful. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you Judy for taking the time to write a review...
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here and that you got to see the ruins of Uxmal and the surrounding area. I feel so lucky to be living in such a peaceful place and lucky that I have guests like yourself.... that appreciate the tranquility of it all
Take care and have more wonderful adventures
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My two sons (ages 9 and 12) and I stayed at the lovely, unique Pickled Onion for two nights in the beginnings of a 10-day Yucatan journey. We arrived at the hotel on an early evening, saw Uxmal, Sayil and the Chocolate Museum the next day, then Kabah the morning after that, at which point it was time to move on. All of these sites are within a half hour of the Pickled Onion - it is perfectly located to enjoy these sites.

The hotel's individual bungalows are arranged on a hill about a pool and restaurant on a hill on the way out of the small town of Santa Elena. The bungalows are traditional Mayan construction, and are comfortable and cool. Our room was the largest, I believe - with two double beds and a single, along with the capacity to hang two hammocks inside, and an outdoor hammock. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable.

The onsite restaurant is a good value. One does not feel "trapped" as one sometimes does in choosing to eat at the hotel restaurant. The quality was very good, and it was lovely to be able to just walk a few steps for a meal. The breakfast provided to B & B guests is composed of lovely fruits, yogurt, cheeses, toasts made of good quality bread and, for a small extra cost, some egg dishes

I would offer a caution about the bathroom. It didn't bother us, but do know going in, as other reviewers have noted, that the bathroom "wall" doesn't go all the way up, and sound does travel. This doesn't affect my rating, because it didn't bother us, but other potential guests would probably want to know.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaFlannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor . That was really nice of you to take the time to do this
Just one comment about the bathrooms because of the typical construction of the Maya Casitas it is not possible to build a high wall , as one could with a square block cement building, because there is no support system to sustain such a high wall.
The ceilings are very high with the Palapa roofs to give an air flow which keeps the rooms cool.
In a way it adds to the charm of the typical Maya rooms( although the Maya houses did not have the luxury of a bathroom).
But all in all your comments were very welcomed
Thank you
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We've stayed at the Pickled Onion twice now and in the future will always try to work in a night or two with Valerie at the P.O. It is truly a labor of love on Valerie's part. Beautiful, lush landscaping, mucho privacy, great rooms (actually individual huts), wonderful fresh food, great staff, and convenient to all the Puuc area. Also, each time we've stayed there we've met wonderful people who have become friends long after our trips are done. Oh, I forgot - great pool!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500DandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review
It was a great pleasure for me also to have you here again for a second time...two most delightful people to have here with me .
And you met another lovely couple that you bonded with ... how nice
I hope to see you again in the near future you will always be welcomed
take care
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
8.8 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
9.2 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
8.6 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
56 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant

Property: The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Address: Carretera 261 Uxmal a Kabah | Uxmal, Santa Elena 98760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Eco-Boutique Bed and Breakfast located close to Uxmal, Kabah, Sayil and Labnah. Quaint Maya style rooms, complete with private entrance, bathrooms, refrigerator ,coffe maker bottled water,toiletries, safety boxes, Wi Fi in all rooms ,clean, comfortable and secure, set in peaceful surroundings. Rooms are adorned with my own paintings. Beautiful gardens with labyrinth. Area for Yoga, Tai chi etc. Mini Spa.Swimming pool Excellent restaurant where you can taste some of the Yucatan cuisine. Located close to the village where you can experience Maya life as it really is.The bar awaits you for the best cocktails/margaritas in the area, as well as wine and beer.You have the luxury of Wi fi in all areas including your rooms .An artisan shop where you can buy items including locally made hammocks and snack shop if you want a small snack in-between meals. All the staff are local people from Santa Elena and all structures were build by local people too, including wood work, iron work etc I maybe a foreign owner but how good that work has been created for the local people who would otherwise not have an income. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Mexico/Santa Elena, Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing