We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, but disappointing”

Restaurant El Chac-Mool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: This is a nice place to come and eat, fresh and healty, you can get all kinds of yocatecan style food, hand made tortillas, vegetarian food, and a lot of more options. hope to see you around.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Authentic, but disappointing”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The best point of el Chac-Mool is that it is just outside the Uxmal archeological site, so it's a ready alternative to the tourist cafeteria there. Second, it is a quaint, local eatery with true Yucatan character. Sadly, the food is dismal, dry and overcooked. Authentic Mayan favorites, prepared poorly. It's an old place, and is a bit dingy and dusty throughout. Large outdoor dining area, fronting on a highway so the view is not stellar. Maybe worth a brief lunch stop, given it's location, but don't expect much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very friendly sercive, best Yucatecan food and aside of that nice, inexpensive and outmost clean Hotel rooms”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

On my search to go for a while away from civilization I rented in El Chac-Mool a simple cabaña (Pesos $100), but the night in the hammock was too cool to stay in the cabaña a second night. This let me experience the stay in a huge, clean room with best mattresses. I wonder why it is publically not spoken and written about this Hotel Service in St-Elena.
Throughout all Yucatan and rarely in Mexico I found anywhere handmade tortillas like in this restaurant. The owner knows about serving healthy food, adapts herself to the needs and wants of her customers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikaMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“very slow service”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

i walked in to the restaraunt and was not greeted, brought a menu, nothing for 15 min. a large group was outside so guess they got priority. when my food finally came out it was horrible. i decided to go next door to the pickled onion. should have gone there in the 1st place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Upnorthtransplant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly place, decent food”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

In the small town of santa elena, eating options are limited. We tried teh pickled onion as well, but found it lacking in hospitality (teh onle vegetarian option wasn't available any more and no effort at all was made to produce another meal). So we walked down the road to this place which maybe isn't as stylish as the onion, but the folks do make you feel welcome. Food is basic and nice, decor is typical mecxican (bright lights!), but I'd still pick this pace over the onion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming restaurant, excellent food, low prices”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Within walking distance of Sacbe Bungalows, El Chac-Mool became our restaurant of choice for our nightly meals. Very friendly service, mouthwatering dishes, ridiculously low prices, what's not to like!!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MayaDanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant El Chac-Mool also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant El Chac-Mool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing