We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal
Ranked #2 of 2 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I was studying abroad with a group of students, so I shared the suite with 3 other girls. The room was spacious with plenty of space to put all our luggage. The room was always clean and felt like home. Christine and Santiago were so excited to hear where we visited in Yucatán and what we learned with the people we were working with. Rosa and the nieces were so kind and always made delicious breakfasts, which consisted of fresh fruit and then our choice of eggs, french toast, cereal, and oatmeal. They reception space was great to play cards with some other students we met as eel as watch the World Cup with Santiago. I will definitely revisit the next time I'm in Santa Elena

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    35
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
127
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I loved this B&B! Kristine and Santiago and their nieces are all extremely nice and willing to help you with whatever you need.
The rooms are very nice and comfortable to stay in. They have a good size space in each room for one or more beds. The beds were comfortable to sleep in - not super hard or super soft but in the middle. The bathrooms in the rooms are a good size as well. The showers had good pressure and there was both hot and cold water. The rooms are cool because of the garden that surrounds the hotel. I would highly recommend going on the paths that are on the property to see what the property looks like. It's great walk if you need to get out or just stretch your legs.
Kristine and Santiago will also tell you about different attractions in the area and where you should go if you're looking for different things in the area. They also have lots of books on different topics in the area that you can look at to get an idea of the area.
The breakfasts that they have are wonderful! There is a good variety of options available and the produce that they use is fresh from their garden.
I really enjoyed this hotel and would go back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank narutochick211 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Mexico and Gulf Coast, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

A pearl in the jungle!
Santiago & Kristine are very nice and interesting people who have an interesting Art collection.
Interesting books are available to go through & maps.
Santiago told us about interesting & not known places to visit around.
Very nice tropical garden, beautiful rooms with airo. Love the hammock in the room next to the beds.
Definitively going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

When planning our first trip to the Yucatan during spring break, we had no interest in the beach resorts but instead wanted to focus on the historic areas loaded with World Heritage sites and other amazing wonders. In the heart of the Yucatan is the Puuc, which in mayan language means hill, and is the highest region of the Yucatan Peninsula. This is where the Flycatcher Inn in Santa Elena is conveniently located, near Uxmal. We had a wonderful experience there, and it not only exceeded our expectations, but became the favorite stay of our trip. The rooms are large, clean, and very comfortable, and the entire facility is beautiful and well-cared for. Being "birders" and wildlife enthusiasts, we took opportunity to walk their well-planned trails spread throughout their 15 acres. We saw over 40 species of birds, most of them previously unseen by us elsewhere, just in the fairly short walks we took.The owners are very knowledgeable, gracious and helpful, with suggested itineraries, and the other staff are sweet, pleasant and extremely willing to please. The breakfasts, which are included in the lodging price, were excellent, and served on a lovely terrace. We hope we can visit there again in the near future. If you go, you will NOT be disappointed in this jewel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoingGoingGoneByeBye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at The Flycatcher in April 2014, myself, my husband and two boys. We really enjoyed our 3 nights. We were upgraded to their largest room which was gorgeous, well decorated, comfortable beds and HUGE (as was the bathroom). As others have mentioned, this is a great place to stay for the PUUC route (and Chocolate Museum which we nearly passed but were glad we visited) and Uxmal plus cenote exploring. We visited Sotuta de Peon on the way down from Merida and I really recommend that. The breakfasts were great and Rosa's margaritas knocked my socks off - ooh they were good! We ate at the Pickled Onion (a short walk away) on two of the nights which was good and the Lodge at Uxmal which was very good.
I had worried that there was no pool for the kids but we were fine. The cenotes are great to swim in (we visited two, one being at Sotuta) and we were allowed to use the pools at the Lodge because we were eating there - so all were happy!
The Flycatcher is a very relaxing place to stay with lovely people. We enjoyed the peace and exploring their grounds looking at the birds and plants (thanks Rosa). I highly recommend this as somewhere to experience more of a 'real' yucatan than the big hotels might provide.
Thank you to you all at the Flycatcher.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Christina, a lady from Minnesota, runs an extremely successful little B&B, set in a lush and large garden, just off the Uxmal Hwy. The garden has palm trees, bubbling fountains and lots of flowers. the main house and the side bungalows offer well proportioned rooms, all with fans and AC. There is no TV. The rooms are brightly decorated with imaginative taste, using local Mayan art objects. Definitely a woman's touch there! The bathrooms are spacious and the water is comfortably hot with lots of pressure. Each room also has comfortable seating just outside, with a small table for drinks and munchies.The main room of the lodge is very inviting with lots of comfortable armchairs, books and magazines. Wifi is available throughout the property, but the connection is stronger in the lodge. To the side of the main room, there is a lovely veranda where breakfast is served every morning: juice, a great dish of fresh fruit, toast, coffee and a choice of omelets...all of them delicious! The owner makes it her duty (pleasure?) to visit with each table, engaging into pleasant conversations and offering useful advice. During my stay, I was invited by other Canadian guests for a delicious sit down dinner prepared by the manager and his wife. Great conversation, great food....Very pleasurable evening indeed!The proximity to Uxmal (a 20-minute drive) and the quality of the service makes this THE place to stay when visiting the Ruta Puuc! Thanks Christina for the very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewanee, TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I've recently returned from a month in Yucatan, and had the opportunity to stay (for the 6th straight year) for 4 nights at the Flycatcher Inn in Santa Elena. This lovely B and B is ideally located for anyone interested in Mayan ruins, being quite close to Uxmal, Kabah, Sayil and others.Santa Elena itself is not a lovely town, but is friendly and welcoming, with some places to dine and provision.
But Flycatcher is a true gem in this part of Yucatan! The rooms are large and very comfortable, and the facility is immaculate and well tended. I took dinner several nights at the inn and was very well pleased each time. Breakfasts are complimentary and wonderful: fresh squeezed orange juice, fruit, omelettes or eggs cooked to order, butter toast and jam and very good coffee. The owners are very knowledgeable and helpful, with suggested itineraries, and the other staff are sweet and pleasant and extremely willing to please. And the cost is very affordable. If you are in the area, this a place not to be missed. I can hardly wait til next year!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
8.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
9.0 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
8.6 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#2 of 2 in Ticul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal

Property: The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal
Address: Corner of Hwy 261 and Calle 20, Santa Elena 97890, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated bed and breakfast boutique hotel, 10 minutes southeast of magnificent Uxmal, a perfect base for exploring central Yucatan. Family/owner operated, guests treated with personal attention, situated on 3 acres of gardens and orchards, walled secure parking. 5 separate rooms and 1 large suite and 2 private cottages, all with their own private entrances and private bathrooms complete this lovely boutique hotel. Immaculately clean and modern rooms decorated with authentic Mexican and Mayan arts and hand made wrought iron furnishings. Pillow-top beds and fine bedding. Complimentary full breakfast of tropical fruits, great coffee, and homemade breads start your day. Extensive expert local knowledge tourist information available. Transportation and Merida airport pick up on request. Plan 3 days minimum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal Mexico/Santa Elena, Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing