We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”
Review of Hotel Za Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Za Maria
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Upon staying in this hotel on November 10th, I found the staff to be extremely rude from the beginning. While trying to enjoy our time in the lobby, we were told we had to go to our rooms because the lobby was closing. This was at around 11:45 at night, so I could imagine if we went out to a late dinner and drinks, we would have been locked out of the hotel. We also encountered a lady smoking in the lobby bar area next to a "No Smoking" sign while talking to the hotel employee. The group I was with asked if we could light a cigar and was told there was no smoking in the hotel. The only place the hotel has internet is the lobby, and at around 10:30 p.m. the desk manager proceeded to turn the internet router off and tell us there was a problem with the line. Funny thing was, the router didn't show up on our computer so we knew he had turned it off. By far the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. Such a shame since the town of San Stephano is a beautiful place and the hotel is in a great location. I would never stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 10NOV12 along with friends. While sitting in the lobby using the WIFI internet, because there is none in the rooms, the night desk manager was talking with a male and female friend at the bar. The female was smoking a cigarette the whole time . The bar is connected to the lobby and there is a "No Smoking" sign posted. As they were leaving my friends and I asked if we could smoke a cigar since the female had been smoking. The night manager told us no, there was no smoking and pointed at the sign. We asked why we could not since the female had been smoking and he told us she was not and that we could not smoke. Once again, we said that she was smoking so we should be allowed to and the night manager left the lobby and went into a back room. At this point the WIFI internet went out. When he returned we asked him about it and he said that there was no internet because of a problem. I pointed to his computer behind the desk and said that he had internet but he again informed us that there was a problem with the lines and there was no internet. Approximately fifteen minutes later the night manager told us that the lobby was closed and that we must go to our rooms. We replied that we wanted to sit down there a while and talk but he again informed us that the lobby was closed and that we must go to our rooms. He said that since it was November the lobby closes and we could not stay there. We informed that we paid to stay in the hotel and we would like to sit there in the lobby and talk. He informed us that we only paid for the room and that we must leave the lobby. As we were leaving he went to the couch to lay down, as if going to sleep. The following morning, at breakfast, he only asked if we wanted coffee and left without saying a word. This is the most unprofessional place I have ever stayed and I have stayed in hotels around the world. Never have I been treated so badly at a hotel or been so outraged by a managers complete attitude of treating a customer however he feels because he can. Without a doubt the worst ever and I would sleep on the train tracks before I returned to this hotel! Quite a shame when the town and the rest of the people there are beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel in mid August because the website says that every room has an ocean view, and that the hotel is beach front. All of which is true, except for the train tracks dividing the property from the beach.

We are backpackers, so we took the train to Coronia as stated in the hotel address. This is not correct. The hotel is actually not in any town, it is situated directly between two towns: Coronia and St. Stephano (10km away from each to be exact). Luckily we met a very nice Italian family who advised us not to wait for the bus, telling us that in Sicily busses do not run on a timetable and rarely show up. They offered to drive us the 10km (thank god!). Best to access this place if you have a CAR!

Upon arrival we where excited to find that the family run hotel actually had one member who spoke a bit of English. A fairly nice guy, but he clearly got bored of speaking to us in English because after only a few words he reverted back to Italian. No big deal, we where in it for the experience.

The rooms are a bit dated, despite the recent reno. However, the view out onto the ocean is amazing. Be sure to get a room on the second floor or above. The first floor (which we had) does not have a private balcony, it is more like a big communal one which slightly blocks the ocean view.

The beach in front of the hotel is about a 5min walk (in order to get around the train tracks). You walk right past the most horrible garbage drop point, which is not very pleasant because it smells so bad! The beach is sand, which is a huge surprise for that area. The water is warm and the sun is hot (amazing!). The only unfortunate thing is all the Sicilians who come out with their families and spend the whole day screaming at each other. I know it is a cultural thing, but come on... you don't need to yell every word do you?

As mentioned, the hotel is not in any town and there is only one small convenience store. The owner is kind of rude and opens on Italian time (whenever he feels like it, which is sometimes not at all). Basically, without a car you have no other food options but the hotel. Without a car, it is a very isolating experience.

Dinner is pretty good and the view from the restaurant is amazing. The meal is a bit pricey and the bill comes with a cover charge of $2.50 euro per person. I would recommend the pasta, bruschetta, as well as the prosciutto and melone. Breakfast is included in the room price, but it consists primarily of cakes and sweets. Although having breakfast in the restauarant with the beautiful view is a pretty great way to start the day.

The owners did offer to drive us to the train station whenever we needed, to get away from the resort for a bit, and we appreciated this.

Overall, we had an interesting stay, but this is not a hotel for the faint of heart (it is the real Italian experience). If you do decide to book just remember:

1. You need a car
2. The owners speak almost no English, although I suppose most of the tourists are Italian anyway.
3. It is not in a town
4. 2nd floor or above

Room Tip: 2nd floor or above has all the good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeanandTarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We come back to this family run hotel every year.
The food is consistently delicious. Being in the NY restaurant business, we appreciate the high quality of every dish.
The hotel is clean and decorated in such nice taste- with ceramics from the neighboring town of Santo Stefano.
The owners always do everything they can to accomodate us and have become our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

I got back from Sicily last week, and this was the best hotel on the island!!! Located just outside of Santo Stefano di Camastra (about 1 minute), a town well-known for its ceramics, this hotel is situated just footsteps from the sea! The personnel is very professional, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are very large, modern, clean. There is a very large restaurant within the hotel, and the food is exquisite!!! It is very affordable, and, once you taste it, you'll be coming back for more. There is also a gorgeous pool. If you want to relax and enjoy your stay in Sicily, then don't stay at any other hotel other than Za' Maria!

1  Thank sydneygirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: il primo piano si affaccia in una grande veranda con una bellissima veduta di mare e monti
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorentinoricambiauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 108bernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salvatore i, Direttore at Hotel Za Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canneto di Caronia
2.4 mi away
Hotel la Playa Blanca
Hotel la Playa Blanca
#2 of 2 in Santo Stefano di Camastra
194 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tus'Hotel
Tus'Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tusa
189 reviews
79.4 mi away
Hotel La Battigia
Hotel La Battigia
#2 of 3 in Alcamo
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Hotel Riva del Sole
Hotel Riva del Sole
#17 of 37 in Cefalu
330 reviews
59.2 mi away
Mondello Palace Hotel
Mondello Palace Hotel
#53 of 98 in Palermo
292 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
#1 of 1 in Castel di Tusa
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Za Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Za Maria

Address: Via Nazionale 113, 98070 Canneto di Caronia, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Canneto di Caronia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canneto di Caronia
Price Range: £59 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Za Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Za Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing