We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
5
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews well worth a visit sunrise pottery facilities lake lodge malawi
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We left Kande Beach after a very unpleasant experience there and came to this Lodge just to get exactly the opposite: Very nice, very clean rooms, nice and very yummy food, very friendly staff. (The decoration is also very nice: Enjoy the wall paintings and the handmade painted tiles and pottery.) => A crystal-clear recommendation!

One remark to the waiting times when you are in the restaurant: Yes, it takes long. So when you plan to have breakfast, order it the evening before. Also for lunch or dinner: Do you order early upfront and only meet in the restaurant later. It's really worthwile to do these extra steps for the very yummy food!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teuto-Yogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilele, Owner at Nkhotakota Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you Teuto-Yogi. We have noted your comment about the waiting times at our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

A great location and good value. The staff were friendly but uniformly clueless.
Apparently the owner/manager lives in Dedza.
The most amazing example was a 90 minute wait to serve breakfast to 6 people - the ONLY 6 people in the dining room!
Most of the drinks were barely chilled.
Plenty of staff, but no one appeared trained, bothered or spoke much English.
A waste, as the location is awesome and the potential huge.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CKN-Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilele, Owner at Nkhotakota Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear CKN-Harrogate

Thank you for your review of Nkhotakota Safari Lodge.

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a 5-star experience during your stay at our lodge. On our end, we are a little bit confused about your comment "plenty of staff, but no one appeared trained, bothered or spoke much English". Please could you let me know the exact dates when you stayed with us as we are keen to get to the bottom of this?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Tilele Stevens (Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

After roughing it on bicycles, staying mostly in cheap guesthouses and resthouses we needed a bit of luxury and rest. It was one of the more expensive places we stayed, but worth every kwacha! We really relaxed there, with the marvelous view of the beach, and they organized a great walking safari in the Nkhotakota national park for us. We loved it so much that when we where in Dedza later in our trip we decided to stay at their 'sister' Dedza pottery lodge (and loved it there as well!)

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I have stayed in Nkhotakota several times and keep coming back to Safari Lodge. The food is excellent, especially the Chambo filets! Love sitting by the lake in their open-air dining area and looking out at magnificent Lake Malawi.Bring a book as there is not much to do other than sit by the water, walk and relax. Nice and quiet and a good place to recharge.

Room tip: All rooms overlook the lake, can't go wrong.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank hicksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

This place is about 10km south of Nkhotakota and right on a glorious soft sandy beach.
It was built by the same people who created Dedza pottery and indeed there is still a working pottery just a short walk along the beach.
The rooms and all facilities are paved and decorated with beautiful tiles made in the pottery. I love the way that everything about the accommodation has been thought through so that it works and it's comfortable and stylish. Sleep at night is aided by the constant sound of waves breaking on the shore.
The staff are very helpful and the food is a short menu of tasty delights making best use of what is available locally; and very good value.
So this is a little oasis, a zone of calm and well worth a visit.
(TNM 3G works very well here and is relatively good value)

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richjard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews