We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
5
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswell worth a visitsunrisefacilitiespotterylakemalawilodge
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile


We stayed here as a family group of 9 in August 2017. It’s in a wonderful location on the lake with beautiful views from the rooms, which were very comfortable, peaceful and especially loved the outside bath! The kids loved swimming in the lake and to watch a monkey swinging from tree to tree right outside your room was just amazing! The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and the food was excellent! We would definitely recommend a stay here it’s truly beautiful!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank clare232017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

I camped at the Nkhotakota Safari Lodge. The camp sites are right up at the edge of the beach. One can watch the lights of the fisherman by night and the sunrise without even leaving the tent. The grounds are well kept (the facilities are clean (and the bathrooms have soap and toilet paper)), and strolling along the beach is beautiful.
The service is really nice and helpful. The food is pretty good. It is a good time to sit and have fresh coffee or tea (or a gin and tonic) and enjoy the view.
I should mention that the road down to the Safari Lodge is not in the greatest shape, and not the most clearly marked.

It is a good place to stay the night and go to Nkhotakota Park the next day. They also take checks.
I recommend also picking up some of the great Dedze pottery on sale!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank PolishMeKnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilele, Owner at Nkhotakota Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We left Kande Beach after a very unpleasant experience there and came to this Lodge just to get exactly the opposite: Very nice, very clean rooms, nice and very yummy food, very friendly staff. (The decoration is also very nice: Enjoy the wall paintings and the handmade painted tiles and pottery.) => A crystal-clear recommendation!

One remark to the waiting times when you are in the restaurant: Yes, it takes long. So when you plan to have breakfast, order it the evening before. Also for lunch or dinner: Do you order early upfront and only meet in the restaurant later. It's really worthwile to do these extra steps for the very yummy food!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teuto-Yogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilele, Owner at Nkhotakota Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you Teuto-Yogi. We have noted your comment about the waiting times at our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

A great location and good value. The staff were friendly but uniformly clueless.
Apparently the owner/manager lives in Dedza.
The most amazing example was a 90 minute wait to serve breakfast to 6 people - the ONLY 6 people in the dining room!
Most of the drinks were barely chilled.
Plenty of staff, but no one appeared trained, bothered or spoke much English.
A waste, as the location is awesome and the potential huge.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank CKN-Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilele, Owner at Nkhotakota Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear CKN-Harrogate

Thank you for your review of Nkhotakota Safari Lodge.

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a 5-star experience during your stay at our lodge. On our end, we are a little bit confused about your comment "plenty of staff, but no one appeared trained, bothered or spoke much English". Please could you let me know the exact dates when you stayed with us as we are keen to get to the bottom of this?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Tilele Stevens (Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

After roughing it on bicycles, staying mostly in cheap guesthouses and resthouses we needed a bit of luxury and rest. It was one of the more expensive places we stayed, but worth every kwacha! We really relaxed there, with the marvelous view of the beach, and they organized a great walking safari in the Nkhotakota national park for us. We loved it so much that when we where in Dedza later in our trip we decided to stay at their 'sister' Dedza pottery lodge (and loved it there as well!)

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews