We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb! Exquisite cuisine, beautiful furnishings, and wonderful hosts”
Review of Le Froment

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonnefont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Froment
Ranked #3 of 4 Bonnefont B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We joined 2 couples for a 3-day weekend the end of August. John and Kathie greeted us as old friends and saw to our every question and need. The B&B is spotlessly clean, bright and airy, and first-class in every way. Our suite was dressed in crisp white and black with plenty of room for private time. The bathroom (en suite) was large and gleaming. Towels were fluffy and fresh-smelling. The dining room is large, comfortable and welcoming. The food is out of this world both in variety, preparation, and presentation. Their kitchen is state-of-the-art and again, spotlessly clean. We relaxed on the huge tiled patio and decking and strolled through the vegetable garden that produces much of the freshness set on the dinner table. We took long walks along country roads and enjoyed the clean, fresh country air. The graciousness and peace of Le Froment gave us a fabulous retreat from our busy lives.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views. French doors let you open to enjoy fragrant breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were touring by car with friends on a Pyrenees holiday and were blown away by the setting and high standards of the accommodation at Le Froment.The house sits in attractive well maintained grounds just outside the village.The rooms are stylish, comfortable and rather grand. The food was excellent, our hosts warm and welcoming, the cat flirtatious and the dogs full of character. We would have no hesitation in recommending Le Froment as a base for exploring the Pyrenees or for total chill-out. Our holiday involved a fair amount of walking, sightseeing and some mountaineering. We found Le Froment conveniently placed for all of these activities.

Room Tip: Frankly, as far as we could see all the rooms are excellent. We would have happlily occupied any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Bonnefont has the warm, sunny climate of the South of France and Northern Spain with the changeable, enjoyable respite of the Pyrenees. Indoors, Le Froment has very clean spacious rooms with newly fitted ensuites. The extensive outdoor space, beautifully landscaped gardens and pool area are delightful and tranquil. John and Kathy are the perfect hosts will make you feel completely at home and like long lost friends returned. I cant recommend their hospitality and home highly enough!

Room Tip: Lovely views from the bedrooms, good size pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieD025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

My husband and I were looking for a skiing holiday this year with a difference. We aren't as young as we used to be so we didn't want to go every day. We wanted to be close enough to the mountains so that we could drive to them relatively easily but we also wanted the peace and tranquility of the countryside - away from the hustle and bustle of children and après ski.

We were recommended Le Froment by friends who had stayed there last summer and wouldn't shut-up about it when they came home. We knew we had to experience it for ourselves, and being only an hour away from the slopes and nestled in the Hautes-Pyrénées countryside it seemed to be the perfect place for us. We were not disappointed.

On booking our trip, we spoke with the owners John & Kathy at length about what we were hoping to achieve from our trip. They couldn't have been more helpful. They recommended hiring a car from the airport so that we had the freedom to head off to the slopes whenever we felt like it, as well as giving us the opportunity to explore the local area on the days we weren't skiing. They offered us half-board accommodation, very reasonably priced, with unlimited local wines and beers - we couldn't have been happier!

On arriving at Le Froment, we were blown away by the views - absolutely magnificent. We drove down the tree-lined drive to their ample property and instantly felt at home. We were met by John & Kathy (and pets) and received a wonderful welcome.

Our room was lovely. Fresh, clean and tastefully decorated, in-keeping with the age of the property. It was a good size with two large windows which let in lots of natural light and offered breathtaking views of the French countryside. We were provided with fluffy white towels in the en-suite bath/shower room, water and glasses in the bedroom and a comfortable bed with crisp white linen. It was like a home-from-home.

We were invited for welcome drinks once we'd unpacked and settled into our room, it was 20 degrees when we arrived (in February!) so we enjoyed our drinks on the terrace, overlooking the magnificent grounds and the beautiful French hills. John and Kathy asked us what time we'd like dinner, which we really appreciated. When dinner was served, we moved indoors to the dining room which boasts a terrific table seating 12. There were a few other people staying that night, so it was lovely to all sit and socialise together. We had such a laugh and made friends we're keeping in touch with.

The food was absolutely beautiful - tasty, fresh, locally sourced and plentiful. Much needed after a day on the slopes. We sampled the local cheeses, pates and wine. The wine is included in the price which, for my husband and I, was a God send. I'm not saying we're alcoholics, but we like a few glasses of vino with dinner when we're on holiday ... who doesn't?

Kathy and John make for fantastic hosts - they ensured the wine and conversation were flowing. I haven't laughed so much in ages. Apparently, they bought the property a few years ago and it was in dire need of repair. Since then, they've added a 12 metre pool (sadly too cold to sample in February,) en-suites to all the bedrooms, built two large terraces out the front, a decking area by the pool and probably loads more we didn't ask about.

The location for us was perfect. We stayed for a week and made it to the slopes 3 out of the 7 days. There's lots to do in the local area and Lourdes is only a half hour drive away. The Tour de France apparently use the area, so it represents an excellent and challenging location for the keen cyclist/walker. On the days we weren't skiing we went for long walks in the countryside, stopping for lunch in some lovely French restaurants. We even went to Spain for the day as, like the slopes, it's only an hour away by car.

We had such a wonderful time at Le Froment that we've already booked to go back in the summer with a couple we met during our stay. We've been calling Le Froment a friend finder, you never know the interesting people you're going to meet there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Our French estate agent told us about "Le Froment" during a previous house-hunting trip, but it wasn't open for business then. The web-site was very useful before booking.

"Le Froment" is an imposing private residence set just outside and above the village, where it enjoys commanding views.

If you come here you'll discover a refurbished and updated interior offering more than just the normal home comforts.

The house itself sits at the end of a long tree-lined entrance avenue within its own extensive landscaped grounds, which themselves are surrounded by yet more beautiful countryside.

This was modern living in a truly peaceful rural setting where it's possible to see both an occasional tractor driving by in the distance and a local flock of sheep being driven down the distant road, yet be within 60 minutes of Pau airport, or 90 minutes of Toulouse airport in the other direction, using the A64.

As this B&B is recently opened, the choice of bedrooms offered were all spotlessly clean and freshly decorated. This impression was enhanced by each bedroom having en-suite facilities. Our centrally heated and carpeted room had a comfy bed, 2 windows and a view of the grounds.

Because we were on a hectic schedule we opted for the half board package - as we didn’t want to go searching for a meal after a long day on the road. Kathy's internationally inspired home-cooked meals were delicious. Our meals were varied and plentiful - like the conversation and John's wine !!

As it was February, we were kept cosy and warm by the wood-burning stoves - as the outside evening temperatures were chilly. We could easily imagine that, for warmer days, breakfast and dinner could be served on the terraces which gives an excellent view of the sunset over the village of Bonnefont.

We didn't have a swim, but could imagine that the views from the outdoor swimming pool would be equally stunning.

Our enthusiastic and attentive hosts, John & Kathy, were extremely welcoming and couldn’t have been more helpful - they gave us a great idea of the area.

We would certainly recommend "Le Froment" for whatever type of holiday you are planning because it’s an ideal base for discovering the many delights of both the Hautes-Pyrenees or the Gers.

We could see that this up-market B&B would be a great base for walking, cycling and skiing enthusiasts alike - and likely to become a firm favourite with future guests.

We felt that the package we took represented very good value for money, so we've already resolved to come back soon - confident that there's a warm welcome and elegant comfort awaiting our arrival.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Froment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Froment

Address: 2 route de Lahitte, 65220 Bonnefont, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Bonnefont
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bonnefont
Price Range: £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely holiday home is situated in the beautiful Hautes Pyrenees, an area of outstanding natural and varied beauty in the South West of France. 45 Mins from Lourdes. This holiday home offers an outdoor pool. Situated in a peaceful village with stunning views of the surrounding countryside. Ideal location for hiking and cycling. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing