We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rover's Rest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blind Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Blind Bay B&B and Inns
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rover's Rest”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent a single night at Rover's Rest and found it to be quite clean and comfortable. It is a situated on a large treed lot, conveniently close to the Trans-Canada highway, but still quite private. The family has converted the entire main floor of a large log house into a very efficient and luxurious B&B operation complete with a dedicated kitchen, dining room, and lounge/common area. Our hosts were very helpful and accommodating. The hot-tub-under-the-stars was great too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARRBB, Owner at A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2016
Thank you spudcanuck for the eloquent description of our B&B. We enjoyed sharing information on our area and good places for dinner. The hot-tub-under-the-stars awaits your return . Thanks from Kimberly and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have to say that I agree with those travelers that have given this B & B a poor rating. We stayed for 3 nights at this place and will not ever come back. Kimberly was condescending and rude. The breakfasts were ok but not fantastic. The 'only' good thing we can say is that the bed was comfortable and that's it. You'll never see us again!!

Room Tip: Very very vert hot, no A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARRBB, Owner at A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2016
Sorry John that you felt your experience was not up to our normal standards. We appreciate the feedback . David and Kimberly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge District Municipality, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Kimberly was very inviting , she made us feel at home right away, the breakfasts were fantastic, every day was a different meal. The Rovers Rest is ideally located for hiking, the beach and cycling. At the end of the day we enjoyed the hot tub it was very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARRBB, Owner at A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2016
Thank you Peter for commenting on Kimberly and her ability to make you feel at home. We are glad you took advantage of the many outdoor activities and then enjoyed a good muscle soak in the hot tub after a busy day. See you soon David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We only stayed the one night but if we could have found the time we would have loved to stay longer. Kimberly was a wonderful host and the breakfast was excellent. The premises are secluded and peaceful. I would highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumelous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARRBB, Owner at A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2016
Thanks Jumelous for your comments. We look forward to your return visit to our secluded and peaceful property. Thanks for the recommendation. Cheers David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Kimberly met us as we rolled in and offered us a freshly baked cookie. From there it just got better. The room was large, clean, with a king size bed. We used the hot tub one evening and it was amazing sitting outside watching and listening to the wildlife. We managed to climb a few hikes which were very close by. Kimberly delivered us and picked us up. Excellent service. The local restaurant on the lake was only a minute away and served very good food. The local gas station/food store/liquor store had everything we needed. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the King Bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakdeinthang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARRBB, Owner at A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2016
Thank you Nakdeinthang for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to take you to the hikes and pick you up. Glad you enjoyed your experience here and we look forward to your return . The hot tub and wildlife will welcome you back. Kimberly and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We enjoyed our 1 night stay here so much that we booked 2 more nights on our way home. Loved the hot tub, the hummingbirds, the deck, the BBQ the very comfortable bed and all the little extras. Kimberly and Dave are lovely hosts and they provide fabulous full breakfasts. Just what we needed after 2 weeks visiting family. Wished we could have stayed longer! Thanks Kimberly and Dave. We'll be back. Highly recommend this lovely and relaxing B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revelstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I don't know how anyone could say a single negative thing about this B&B! The owners have totally outdone themselves and thought of every detail... From turn down service to custom catered breakfast (my food allergy was no problem... Kim was very accommodating) I love all the little trinkets, the hot tub, the deck, all amazing and worth every single penny! For the other review saying it was expensive they obviously didn't price out any other local accommodations. For what we received and the quality of service I'm confident you can't find anything better!! Highly recommended and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARRBB, Owner at A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Thankyou MelissaGilbert. We appreciate your kind words. We work diligently to ensure an excellent customer experience and we appreciate your recognition of our product. We are looking forward to serving you once again. David and Kimberly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blind Bay
12.3 mi away
Podollan Inn
Podollan Inn
#2 of 8 in Salmon Arm
837 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Salmon Arm Inn
14.6 mi away
Chase Country Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Overlander Motel
Overlander Motel
#4 of 4 in Chase
23 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shuswap Bed & Breakfast
Shuswap Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Blind Bay
19 reviews
5.0 mi away
Shuswap Lake Motel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2660 Balmoral Rd | Shuswap Lake, Blind Bay, British Columbia V0E 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Blind Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blind Bay
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would love to have you stay in our 4,350 sq. ft. romantic log home bed and breakfast situated on two acres of secluded alpine paradise. Come relax on the large deck or wander around the grounds; either way, you will be astounded by the spectacular views. Blind Bay looks out over Shuswap Lake. Shuswap Lake is one of the largest lakes in British Columbia’s Okanagan. Shuswap Lake has over 1,000 km of shoreline. We often see deer on the property, as well as the many birds and squirrels. A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast is located in the heart of British Columbia's Okanagan interior resort play land. We are located in Blind Bay, near Sorrento and Salmon Arm cities and it is halfway between Vancouver, BC and Calgary, Alberta. You can find us just 1.8 km (a tad more than a mile) off the Trans Canada Highway on Balmoral Road. A large circular driveway allows us to accommodate your vehicle and boat or snowmobile trailer easily— no unhooking if you like. Our handcrafted, romantic log home bed and breakfast has many features: our museum of antiques, 2 guest fireplaces, a jetted, heart-shaped tub, wrought-iron beds in all guest rooms, beverage center which includes a wide selection of Stash Tea, quiet areas, an ever-expanding book and video library, a large deck with a gorgeous view, and outdoor benches and tables. The eight person hot tub spa is located at the back of our home in a quiet area with a great view of the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing