We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service.”
Review of Sunset Cove Marina & Grill - CLOSED

Sunset Cove Marina & Grill
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a licensed waterfront restaurant and marina in beautiful Blind Bay, BC. Covered deck and open patio seating make the ambience unbeatable for waterfront dining in the Shuswap!
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible service.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went as soon as the restaurant opened to reserve a table (we reserved it with the OWNER!!) when we got there, no spot for us. We waited and finally got a spot not where we had asked for. Long story short - the food was pretty good but the service was terrible. Would not recommend due to service alone. Even the food in my opinion was over priced.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boats drift in, deck and inside dining, good food, LOUSY marina dock”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My mom and I took a deckside table and relished the covered deck, gorgeous view of the bay and marina. The ambiance was nice. The decor inside restaurant was lovely and inviting.
Long tiedback drapes reminded me of being on a sea-side veranda or cabana. Open and airy.

The fish and chip and accompanying coleslaw and Iced Tea was good. Had to ask for a refill of drinks. Service times were reasonable and as most outdoor tables had guests.

DOCK:
UNACCEPTABLE TRIPPING HAZARDS.
They need attention badly!I can't believe they are allowed to be used!
Lawsuits despite "Use at own risk" signs/

My mom wouldn't and didn't venture onto the marinas docks.Many "modge-podge" cover-ups with random, varied slabs of wood that were not fastened well or at all. Unstable areas ( I have good balance- Just completed a High Ropes Challenge) and had to watch it at times. Numerous users were quite nervous although they are boat owners/ users. The cover up/patch up jobs and screws/ nails sticking up out of the wood were/ are horrendous. Use caution!

The gift shop had random and interesting finds.
We had a great time only wish dock was safe and then my mom could have shared the closer views and awesome selection of boats.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LA-bc-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had our Friday night fish and chips. It was very good and reasonably priced. The waitress was a bit occupied with her friends but other than that it was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallyanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blind Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Service ! Fantastic Food !”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently hosted a community event on the patio at the Sunset Cove. It was fantastic - trayed appetizers were absolutely delicious and service was excellent. Well done to the all at the 'Cove'. We will be happy to be back soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen06242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chase, Canada
1 review
“Awesome Menu Selection!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Do you know how nice it is to find a restaurant on the Shuswap with excellent vegan/vegetarian and gluten free entree items? Their Portabello Stack is awesome, you can order it without the cheese if you are vegan, it is a generous portion and you leave feeling satisfied! Thank you Sunset Cove. It is so nice to enjoy a hearty meal for dinner with my family & friends that isn't just a salad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Makiah74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Cove Marina & Grill also viewed

Blind Bay, British Columbia
Blind Bay, British Columbia
 
Blind Bay, British Columbia
Blind Bay, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing