We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay, feels like home.”
Review of Bischoff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bischoff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Waratah B&B and Inns
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, feels like home.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night during an impromptu getaway to Tasmania.

I have to say, overall we couldn't have been happier with our stay. The room was clean and comfortable, the accommodation was affordable, and Lou and Bev couldn't have been better hosts. They were so welcoming and pleasant from the moment we arrived to the time we left the next morning.

Food-wise, wow! Being vegan and in rural Tasmania, we didn't expect much, but we let Bev know about our dietary requirements and she cooked us up an amazing dinner. The wood fireplace just added to the atmosphere.

I've seen some degrading reviews about this place (on here) criticising the owners and honestly, I'd be reading them with a grain of salt. Can't imagine these wonderful people ever being rude to a guest.

I'd recommend this place to anyone looking for a good quality, yet affordable B&B in Tassie.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 9, although you have to use common facilities, it has an excellent view of the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katelin_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    22
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
13
36
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Wow what an amazing little oasis this place is.
The Bischoff Hotel is a great place to say.. The staff are friendly, Bevs food is great and So Tasty, and the accommodation is comfortable & affordable. We have stayed several times and will definitely be going back again in the future.... Thanks Bev & Lew

PS. We Highly Recommend The Chicken Biev off the Menu : ) Yummy

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely service, great meals, excellent area to visit. Could not rate this place highly enough if you're looking for a gorgeous place to spend some time.
Thanks again to the staff at the Bischoff hotel you guys are amazing and made our trip fantastic :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chianti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The people that have posted a bad review of the Bischoff Hotel in Waratah,Tasmania were either at the wrong hotel, in a different State of Australia or maybe overseas even. Me and my partner first visited and stayed at the Bischoff Hotel some years ago and we return for a night or two every year. We love Tasmania and holiday there every year. The Bischoff and the managers are so friendly and accommodating that we usually head there as soon as we disembark from the Spirit of Tasmania in Devonport (only a short drive away}. No matter what room we are given it is always clean and ready for our return after a day out. We have found the Bischoff and its staff to be professional in their presentation and the way they go the extra mile(s) to make our stay so enjoyable. As I stated we have stayed numerous times and we do not have a negative thing to say but recommend the Bischoff Hotel and its management to everyone visiting Tasmania.

Room Tip: just leave it to Bev or Lou, the mangers, to look after you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We decided to visit Waratah and found it was well worth the extra detour off the highway. After a lovely afternoon tea at the café we were recommended to stay at the historical pub next door. We made the mistake of booking in and paying without looking at the room. Well what an eye opener. When we arrived at the room it was freezing cold. No heating except a old radiator that looked like it came out of the ark. The linen, bedspreads, and towels were disgusting and looked like something out of an op shop. When we looked at the pillows under the pillow cases, they were black with mildew spores. They were revolting and made my husband and I feel sick. We then went to the owners and asked for our money back as there was no way we could possibly stay there and explained why. They refused to give us our money back and they were extremely rude and ordered out of the hotel. We couldn't get out of there quick enough. I cried all the way to Cradle mountain after such a terrible experience.

Room Tip: Just don't even bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therearefourofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waratah hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is a cheap place to stay, but you get what you pay for. The decor and furniture is dated but functional. The shared bathrooms were clean. There are very few places to eat - there is a pub downstairs, but if you don't want to eat there you have to drive a long way to find alternatives.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Nice little pub in an historic yet scenic mining town close to Cradle Mountain. We ended up in Waratah by accident while looking for a caravan park, not in, but close to the National Park. We saw the pub across a ravine from the little museum that we made our first stop so decided to walk there for lunch. We crossed a bridge at the head of the ravine where a small river leads to a waterfall that is visible from the hotel. We arrived after last food orders but the staff still managed to serve up a delicious lunch. Though we did not see the accommodation I would expect it to be typical of other character hotels in this part of the world. Don't expect the Hilton but do do expect old style country hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mhquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waratah
23.0 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
24.5 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
23.3 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Tullah Lakeside Lodge
23.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
23.1 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bischoff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bischoff Hotel

Property: Bischoff Hotel
Address: 20 Main St, Waratah, Tasmania 7321, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Waratah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waratah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bischoff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bischoff Hotel is a unique Heritage Building located in the Historic tin mining town of Waratah Tasmania. We offer a range of accomodation to suit a variety of needs. Feel yourself stepping back in time with the eclectic mix of styles and eras on display. From 100 year old pressed tin ceilings, antique features, retros 80's carpet, and a collection of weird and wonderful relics, tribute to the many stories and memories contained within the walls. Within the township the Hotel is perfectly situated to capture the stunning views of Waratah's wild and natural beauty, overlooking the iconic waterfall which runs centrally through the town. Old world charm providing a relaxed, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. We are at the Gateway to Cradle Mountain National Park and the heart of the Tarkine Wilderness. All guests are welcome to take advantage of our downstairs bar and dining areas. We invite you to experience this authentic and unique Tasmanian Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Bischoff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing