We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Escape From The Rain”
Review of The Dundas Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dundas Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Kintbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The lovely people running Dundas Arms create such a homely, warm atmosphere. They are incredibly attentive and will do their utmost to ensure you have a great stay in their rooms, a wonderful meal in the dinning room and a relaxing cuppa by the great big fire in the library.

Room Tip: Fabulous rooms on the bottom floor, overlooking the river. Fantastic private patio spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

We arrived at about 7pm and asked of there were any rooms available, which there were. Our room was very nicely appointed and had a terrace next to the canal. The evening was thoroughly enjoyable, the food delicious and the staff were all excellent. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms by the canal as opposed to the rooms over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Second visit, group supper night out for the Slow Bread Co. of Chiswick. All very naughty people and they do drink. We had a great evening. Food good and well presented ample portions, fab chips. Prepared to do off menu stuff if you want to and that is a big plus for basic grub people like me. Superb beer, really cold lager (Amstel) another "me" winner there. Service excellent and the staff good fun, in fact without being intrusive they find the perfect level. Just do not ask for "robust" tea when ordering same for breakfast, you will get rooibos uuuuch!. The charming young lady changed it, no problem. Room good very clean and tidy, quite small for a fat basket like me, but OK for a night, would not want to live in it. Bar chappy happy to stay on five minutes to serve a not needed night cap to the tenants. Well done very refreshing balance for a great evening. One point I would say is not on target, the room is too expensive at £140.00 per night albeit brekky is included, think you need to tidy that one up.

Simon and Slow Bread team xxxxx

Room Tip: Have stayed in two of their rooms and the above comment goes for both but not a major issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simondunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Went here today with my girlfriend as a random driving trip to find a cosy pub for some nice food and a lovely location, and this could not of been more perfect! Giant hot scotch egg to start which was so moist and light! Followed by pan roasted chicken breast, chorizo dauphinois thyme jus and to finish a very light bread and butter pudding ! The whole meal was perfect as was the service she was lovely. As for the location ! Situated right on the canal with old school barges floating up and down which sported some great photos ! Will definatly be back especially in the summer because I bet it's wonderful to enjoy a cold cider in their pub garden on the river !! Recommend to all!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NandD236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The only thing we didn't like was the smell of fish (Kind of kipper smell as we entered for a quickish pint)
But it had character and a few novelties like the "penny bar"
Log fire and I would have given five stars if it hadn't been for the food smell which was not good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We held our son's christening lunch here and it was excellent. Nothing was too much and the Scotch eggs were to die for. Friendly efficient and hospitable. We were all made welcome. Most enjoyable. Would recommend to anyone wanting to organise a function.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Friendly, warm welcome, great food and beer!!

My wife and I took our parents here for New Year's Eve lunch. A lovely welcome and straight to a table of our choice in the bar.

Food ordered and a great service from Stacey who kindly asked my wife if her burger is ok to be cooked to medium. Thanks!

Then my parents asked if they could share a fish and chips and they weren't too hungry. That was no problem and it was served on 2 plates with a smile.

My wife and I struggled to decide as everything sounded delicious!

Eventually we settled for a main course and 2 starters.

The food was excellent, Stacey, Ellen, Ros, Maria, Tom and Dom were very friendly and made sure our visit was great!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kintbury
4.4 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
660 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crab & Boar
Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
744 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,888 reviews
17.6 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,992 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Yew Tree
The Yew Tree
#1 of 1 in Highclere
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dundas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dundas Arms

Address: 53 Station Road, Kintbury RG17 9UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Kintbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kintbury
Price Range: £79 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dundas Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dundas Arms is a country dining pub perched on a sliver of land sandwiched between the River Kennet and the Kennet and Avon canal. We offer 8 beautifully appointed en-suite rooms where home from home comfort with a modern twist is our philosophy. Each of our rooms features stunning Barnaby Gates wallpaper, lavish curtains, country house style furnitures, high quality linen, handmade Bramley toiletries, flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi. Many of the rooms also come with their own private terrace overlooking the canal. The pub is filled with nooks and crannies complete with an antique penny bar, large fireplaces and nicely decorated dining rooms.You will find traditional pub classic dishes sitting alongside finer dining a la carte dishes in the restaurant. Our Chef uses the best quality ingredients locally sourced. We are proud to have recently received a Dinner award and 4 Stars for our accommodation by the AA. We are also part of Pub group of the year 2016 by The Good Pub Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Dundas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundas Arms Hotel Kintbury
The Dundas Arms Kintbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing