We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little pub”
Review of The Dundas Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dundas Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Kintbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've stayed a couple of times and both times the rooms were charming, clean, very well appointed and homely. I love the humour of having a gun safe in each of the hunting themed rooms.

Well recommended and now the place I will try and stay in each time I visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank gareth8mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Judging from what is suggested in other reviews and what we found out during our visit, this place has had difficulties living up to the promise of its excellent location and attractive building. From what we experienced, it seems to have turned a corner.
We stayed two nights for a large celebration and enjoyed one of the downstairs rooms which opens onto the canal overflow stream and were treated to visits by ducks, waterfowl and even a brief sighting of a heron.
Our room was a good size, the decor was in good shape and it was clean and tidy (though perhaps they might have emptied the covered ash tray on the patio). It even has a gun safe. There is a a good-sized en-suite. Proper tea-pot and cafetierre are provided with supplies of good quality teas and coffee. There is no fridge, but a bottle of milk can be supplied on request from the bar. I found this a thoughtful arrangement, though others have criticised staff for not supplying this on arrival. On a hot day, that made sense if they wished residents to enjoy fresh milk. We did want a cuppa straight away and asked at the bar and a bottle was provided straight away. No hassle.
We made use of the bar and of the restaurant on the first night and found the food to be good and to show some creativity and imagination. Staff were friendly, helpful and - for the most part - relaxed. I could see some staff development in operation, so I think others should be reassured that previous criticisms have been taken seriously and the owners are serious about providing quality.
Breakfasts were equally good - full English or salmon with excellently cooked scrambled eggs, all made fresh to order, accompanied by satisfying wedges of toast. The breakfast could be enhanced by improving the quality of fruit juices.
Our function ran from mid-afternoon until midnight. The weather was good, which meant we made the most of the delightful garden. They staff did an excellent job of serving a sit-down meal for 35 people efficiently and with warmth. I know that they not only accommodated the family's planned surprise plans, but took an active part in adding finesse to them. The food, I thought, was excellent - especially considering the scale of the operation, getting three alternative meals served simultaneously. The lamb we had was tender and juicy and full of flavour. When those of us who had stayed over spotted the chef the following morning as he visited the bar for a pint of cider (to marinade the evening's pork dish!), he was given a spontaneous ovation, which I think he enjoyed, but received with bashful good grace.
The young staff coped magnificently with a large group of the middle aged testing their drinking capacities over 8 hours and seemed to have some real pride in the place and their service, especially when the unexpected pizzas were served (sadly, the newly installed wood-fired pizza oven is not yet functional). These were crispy and full of flavour. They were accompanied by three varied and imaginative salads.
Over two days, we saw a range of what the pub has to offer. We would certainly return. I've not spent much time in this area, but the proximity of cycle routes and friends makes it a tempting place to return to.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor room overlooking a flowing part of the canal (from the lock above).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This pub/hotel is a lovely building in a great setting.
Unfortunately the service/facilities provided are not good enough for the prices charged.
Booked 2 rooms in June.
Encountered five members of staff during our stay.
Staff 1- shown to one room and given one key, even though on arrival we told him we had booked 2 rooms.
When shown to room, told we would need milk for tea tray, but no offer to get this for us.
When at bar, Staff 2 did not know what Pimms was or how to make it.
Staff 3 could not work the till.
Staff 4 used breakfast room as office,stomping about talking loudly on phone for 15 mins.
We did not need to hear her arranging laundry and wine orders.
When paying bill on departure staff 5's conversation was littered with swear words.
Did not have dinner at hotel so cannot comment on that, but breakfast food was good.
On one of the hottest nights of the year the heating came on in room. Shower poor,Bath slippery to shower in.
A frustrating place to stay, as with very little effort it could be so good.
Please lower your prices or improve your staff training.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teazle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here in June - Hotel is situated on the Kennet/Avon canal and has a very pretty garden. Our room - I believe was called a 'Cottage room' overlooked a side canal and we were treated to visits by ducks/moorhens and garden birds. However, our room was disappointing in that there was not any finishing touches - no fridge, no long life milk, no biscuits, no tissues, no telephone, and no bath mat. I found the bath very slippery and would have liked the protection of a safety mat We were given a small jug of milk from the bar but had to keep it just outside overnight to keep cool. No offers of newspapers. One evening there was no hot water so we were delayed in getting ready to go out for our evening meal.
The meal was very nice but expensive for what was on offer. The most staggering price was the cheeseboard - I was asked what cheese I would like and the man listed quite a good choice so I picked 3 - a blue, a brie and a cheddar. They were small pieces which I didn't mind but then the bill showed £2.95 for EACH piece of cheese and a charge for 'the cheeseboard' of, I believe, £4.50 making this over £13 for something that was listed at £4.50. The cooked breakfast was very nice but the cereal and fruit juice very limited.
Despite this overcharging of food we found the staff very friendly -in particular one of the young girls was extremely nice. Also the lady who cleaned our room was friendly and spoke to us about places to visit.
To sum up - a well situated quite pretty Hotel that needs more finishing touches and the menu to list quite clearly what you are paying for.

Room Tip: The cottage rooms are pretty with a small patio and the canal but be prepared for no fridge/phone et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Met with 2 friends for a meal.Went to order at 7.50,as sat outside and told to come back at 8 as the Chef was too busy.! They wouldn,t take our order and keep it to pass onto the chef until 8.We couldn't,t see any logic to their answer.Went back at 8 and ordered 3salads.took 45 minutes for the food to get to us and it was very average.-the chicken in the Caesar salad still had the skin on(not crispy). MThe sparkling water wasn,t chilled and along with coffee,1side dish and 1 taster to share plus a bottle of wine the bill came to £89.They included service which wasn,t optional.Was going to say something but decided against as won,t be going back.
It's the first time I,ve put a comment on trip advisor

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Rosy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Unfortunately arriving at the beautifully set Dundas Arms was the best part of the visit as it went rapidly downhill from there. Having chosen a seat in the pleasant but overgrown garden we were disappointed to be told that there was a 30 minute wait before we could at least place an order. We bought some drinks and returned to our table, safe in the knowledge that they would come an inform us when we could place an order. No-one ever came and when we enquired about an hour later they said there was still a half an hour wait. When a waitress finally came to our table, having been sat there or an hour and a quarter, she said that she could now take our order but had no idea literally no idea when the food would come. We promptly left.

This looks a fine pub with a delightful, if pricey, menu but really needs to sharpen up its act on actually delivering what people come for - food! Clearly their current kitchen staff aren't up to the job, and the waiting staff did little to accommodate or compensate.

Would only recommend a visit if you've got a few hours to kill!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

How can this only have 3.5 stars!! They claim to be a pub with rooms so I was unsure what to expect other than not much to be honest. How wrong was I? A group of us came for a day fly fishing (less than 5 minutes away) and stayed here the night prior. We started with drinks and dinner in the bar area which was great. I thought the menu was very well put together, the food very good, fresh and full of flavours and the decor of the bar itself was a bit upmarket and well maintained. My rooms was great, spacious, clear and the bed very comfortable and the bathroom was large with good shower. Breakfast in the morning was well needed and the english breakfast is made to order and very good. They made us all lunch to take away which was very good indeed. The best Scotch Eggs I have ever tasted. Now the staff that work here, all very helpful friendly and chatty i must say, from the staff in the evening to the girl that checked me in and the lady that looked after us during breakfast. This is a really good place and a popular among the locals.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchboy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kintbury
4.4 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
664 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crab & Boar
Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
750 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,908 reviews
17.6 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
2,004 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Yew Tree
The Yew Tree
#1 of 1 in Highclere
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dundas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dundas Arms

Address: 53 Station Road, Kintbury RG17 9UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Kintbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kintbury
Price Range: £79 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dundas Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dundas Arms is a country dining pub perched on a sliver of land sandwiched between the River Kennet and the Kennet and Avon canal. We offer 8 beautifully appointed en-suite rooms where home from home comfort with a modern twist is our philosophy. Each of our rooms features stunning Barnaby Gates wallpaper, lavish curtains, country house style furnitures, high quality linen, handmade Bramley toiletries, flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi. Many of the rooms also come with their own private terrace overlooking the canal. The pub is filled with nooks and crannies complete with an antique penny bar, large fireplaces and nicely decorated dining rooms.You will find traditional pub classic dishes sitting alongside finer dining a la carte dishes in the restaurant. Our Chef uses the best quality ingredients locally sourced. We are proud to have recently received a Dinner award and 4 Stars for our accommodation by the AA. We are also part of Pub group of the year 2016 by The Good Pub Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dundas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundas Arms Hotel Kintbury
The Dundas Arms Kintbury, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing