We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience, perfect!”
Review of Harpers Ferry

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shoreham-by-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harpers Ferry
South Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience, perfect!”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I would just like to say what a fantastic time we had at this Guest House. It was beautifully clean, tidy and quirky. We stayed in Oregon, an enormous room with a large, clean, modern en suite, which was very quiet and calm. The host, Ric, was informative and helpful directing us to all local amenities and attractions, with loads of little 'insider tips'! The house itself is a sort of 'Walton-type' American theme with tasteful memorabilia and art. Breakfast was, thankfully, NOT a fry up but a perfect selection of good quality pastries, home made preserves, croissants, cheeses, salmon, toast and omlettes, to name but a few. The weather was glorious whilst we were there and one of the evenings we enjoyed wine on the front porch in the rocking chair with soft music in the background - perfect! We had never visited this area before and found it friendly, lively and a tad quirky!

Room Tip: Perfect all-rounder!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank babygpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Our family (two adults and two daughters aged 11) has just spent a night at Harpers Ferry. We slept in the Oregon room, a big and comfortable room with a large ensuite. Rick, the owner, put down a folding bed and a mattress for my daughters (the other folding bed was in use), This still left plenty of floorspace (the mattress reportedly wasn't comfortable, but it was adequate for one night). Breakfast was healthy and filling, we didn't find ourselves pining for a fry-up. The owners don't live on the premises which means guests have it to themselves - brilliant if you're there alone, otherwise you're dependent on how the other guests' behave. The house is a minute's walk from the beach and about 8 minutes from the town across the harbour footbridge. The immediate area is residential and the house has no sea views. There's room for one car on the drive, otherwise parking is on the road. We ate at a great seafood restaurant just round the corner. If you're looking for somewhere confortable and well located in Shoreham, this will fit the bill..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mabroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

A relaxing stay at a small bed and breakfast.The bed was like a cloud soft and comfy.We stayed in the pool room.
Large room and bathroom.
Great continental with eggs and bacon or salmon for breakfast.
Chilled out stay,very much enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helgabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Stayed at this B&B on Sunday night in October and luckily had the place to ourselves. It is a lovely house that the owner has designed and built in the style of an American beach house and filled it with American memorabilia. As a concept it is really unusual and as our American cousins say “awesome”...

There are three rooms as part of the B&B. Luckily we were the only people staying there otherwise it might have been a bit noisy as you have use of the “common parts” – sitting room and kitchen. We were charged £80 and felt this was slightly steep for what it was. As we had the run of the house as we were the sole residents £80 was a good deal but we would have been miffed if there had been others there, especially as we had to share a bathroom. One room has an en-suite shower room. Having said that, the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in anywhere.

Breakfast was a buffet style but the owner did say he could rustle us up an omelette if we wanted (which again for £80 at a B&B, we would have expected the Full Monty).

Owner was a lovely chap and let us check in early and have full run of the house which was great
Would we recommend it – yes; to those in a group looking to take the 3 rooms – then it would be ideal or stay on a Sunday or during the week when you have the place to yourselves. Not sure about a Friday or Saturday though.

It is just a short walk into town across the footbridge and there are a couple of restaurants and cafes within 50 yards so it is ideally located

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shardlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoreham-by-Sea
5.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 43 in Brighton
7,539 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 43 in Brighton
572 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
3.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Worthing
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers Ferry

Property: Harpers Ferry
Address: 8 The Meadway, Shoreham-by-Sea, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Shoreham-by-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shoreham-by-Sea
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Harpers Ferry Shoreham-By-Sea, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing