We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portofino Resort Tangalle
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
178
139
77
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
139
77
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadsri lankarestaurant staffnice placegreat beachrelaxing holidayswimming poolhotel is locatedspacious roomunder constructionbeach barthank you very muchgood luckfront office staffclean beachbeach boysrice and curry
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Ranna 212 has a lot going for it. For starters, It's a really good size. It has about 50-60 rooms which means it has really good food and facilities while not being as crowded or impersonal as the larger resorts. The rooms are quite mimimalist but very comfortable with spacious bathrooms with separate shower and bath. The food is very good and reasonably priced. Their desserts, in particular, were excellent ( not always a strong point in Sri Lankan hotels we have found). ranna 212 is also on a beautiful and quiet stretch of beach. It's a little bit of a journey to Ranna itself from the resort but no shortage of willing tuk tuk drivers.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DublinDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of a Kuoni tour. We were told that this is a new hotel, which is only half built at the moment. On the downside, the hotel is down a long, bumpy road, but the compensation for this is that it is on a fantastic beach, which no-one else seems to use (maybe they can’t find it!). The rooms are big, with huge bathrooms, and are very minimalist and concrete – which is actually a lot nicer than it sounds. As the hotel is only half built the only dining option is the buffet dinner, which is expensive for what it was, which was pretty basic. We arrived late on barbeque night and got the impression the food had been cooked about 3 hours earlier and kept warm. The veggie choice wasn’t up to much, but that might be because of the barbeque? The service overall was a bit hit and miss. We were asked at check in to provide a passport to confirm identify (so far, so usual) and other people simply provided their passport number which seemed to work, so we were really surprised when a member of staff took our passport away and photocopied it – with no real reason offered and when we challenged this we were told that the hotel group needed it for internal information on clients, which seemed pretty dodgy to us. Staff at the hotel seemed nice, but all seemed a bit lacking in training. Overall this hotel is in a great spot, but I wouldn’t have wanted to stay any more than the one night we did stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishtripfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I can recomend this place for people who want to relax in european style, just sitting closed near to beautyfull, paradise beach or lovely pool. It's calm, stuff is very nice and friendly, but it's not place where you find out much about true Sri Lanka, here you can spend time just relaxing, but it is also nice that they have many wild animals inside the hotel, i loved that!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dominika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We drove a few kilometers off the main coastal highway on a bumpy jungle path until we saw the Ranna 212. A nice open entrance hall with a hip design of man-high vases greeted us. The welcome was smooth and efficient. Attention: no mobile phone reception in the rooms. You can get a signal at the reception!
In brief:
+ modern design beach hotel
+ kilometers of beautiful beach for lonely walks
+ nice garden and pool in the centre of the buildings
+ rooms spacious with big beds and extra space in a sitting area by the window and satellite TV for kids
+ bathroom with modern design features like a cemented bath tube (nice idea)
- bathroom is not ventilated, I saw a large mould area over the shower on the wall. I could not open the windows because mosquitoes enter immediately
- the bedroom curtain was ripped
- sand walk ways in the whole hotel, so you carry the sand into the room. I don't understand why they couldn't simply pave them and keep it much cleaner
- 2 official restaurants 'Senses' and 'Flame' of which only 1 was open

Overall it is ok to stay and enjoy it but for this elevated price of over 100 USD, my expectations were not met

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter_Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We booked this hotel for a week of relaxation after a busy tour and it was exactly what we wanted. Clean rooms, beautiful setting and beach (although, sadly, not suitable for swimming) and lovely food. The only downsides were very few English guests - mostly Russians - and, strangely, the staff could not get their heads around the concept of a vodka and coke. It always arrived in 2 glasses, even after explaining that it should be mixed together in one glass. This happened in some of the other hotels we stayed in too, so perhaps just a Sri Lankan thing. As with everywhere on the island, there are stray dogs and cats around. As an animal lover, I cannot help but worry how they will cope with the situation when there is, clearly, no neutering going on. I always tried to put my left-over food scraps in a serviette so that I could give them to the hungry little souls, although the staff certainly would not encourage it! The staff are actually really good and always smiling and helpful. The remoteness and smallish size of the hotel are the main selling points, as far as we were concerned. I had a spa treatment everyday - very good and very reasonably-priced. Our room was brilliant, plenty of storage, comfy beds, quiet aircon, balcony - just all we could ask for AND no noisey neighbours - bliss! We would definitely return, perhaps when the new airport offers flights from London, as it is a very long drive to Colombo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGrim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews